City Paint 6.3 – Another progress report on “Becoming”

I can’t imagine that there’s much more work to be done in completing this mural…but then again, I’m not the artist, so I can’t fairly judge what else he/she/they might have planned.  You can click on these earlier posts’ titles to see the progress that’s been made since the beginning of the work…City Paint 6.1 – Becoming, and City Paint 6.2 – Progress Report on “Becoming,” or you can scroll to the bottom of the page and select the “Street Art – Graffiti” category to view the complete City Paint series.

22 responses

  1. I’ve been wowed by the process but now I wonder what the meaning of this mural is supposed to be? What is the message?

    May 11, 2012 at 7:49 am

    • I have been wowed by the process, as well, Allen…and can only imagine what the meaning or message might be. It is on the wall behind a gun store…and this, Utah, is part of the “far-west,” so maybe it’s a depiction of the early need for weapons out here. We could certainly get philosophical and sociological on the whole thing and mention genocide, Manifest Destiny, oppression, thievery…etc, etc…and we wouldn’t be wrong.

      May 11, 2012 at 7:59 am

      • True enough, and other people have produced artworks about people killing people-Picasso’s “Guernica” is a good example. But, since my family landed on the shores of Massachusetts in 1638 and surely must have played a big part in killing off the natives, depictions such as this always bring me a sense of shame and regret and make me wish I could go back and change things. Unfortunately, we all know what a watse of time that is.

        May 11, 2012 at 9:17 am

        • I do understand the sense of shame and regret for what our forebears have done, Allen…but you didn’t do those things…and no, we can’t go back in time and fix what was wrong. We can just purpose in our hearts to make our lives different…and the lives of our children, too, who are going to effect the world with what they learned by watching us. Thank you for your comment, my friend. :)

          May 11, 2012 at 4:57 pm

  2. This really is a fabulous mural.. thanks for following up on it Scott.

    May 11, 2012 at 8:22 am

    • I agree, Chillbrook…and you’re most welcome. It’s been a pleasure. :)

      May 11, 2012 at 8:38 am

  3. Nut Balls

    That is so incredible :)

    May 11, 2012 at 8:49 am

    • Most incredible, Nate…thank you. :)

      May 11, 2012 at 8:53 am

  4. What an interesting mural and interesting story-art! There are many murals on buildings in Phoenix now too. Have you seen any of them? I wonder if perhaps there is a trend starting.

    May 11, 2012 at 10:26 pm

    • Thank you, Montucky…it’s been fun watching the mural develop over the last several weeks. And I had visited another blog that had scores of street-art murals in Phoenix…but don’t recall ever seeing anything aside from graffiti during the twenty years that I lived there. My last ten years living there, however, entailed a job that didn’t get me out of the office and I didn’t often travel down into Phoenix-proper other than for work. I still have family down there…so I might have to go exploring the next time I’m down there for a visit. It would be interesting if there were such a trend moving from city to city. Imagine the beautiful art we’d see, reflecting each area’s local flavor and talent.

      May 12, 2012 at 7:05 am

  5. Great energy and colour!

    May 12, 2012 at 2:17 am

    • Thank you, Dreams and Zeros. :)

      May 12, 2012 at 7:06 am

  6. Panel 2 showing the bows and arrows against the guns seems to sum up the brutal unfairness of the plight of the natives. They were always on a hiding to nothing. Great art, I’m really pleased you’re giving it a wider audience.

    May 13, 2012 at 2:48 am

    • Yes, a bit of incongruity there, Finn…different worlds coming together and we know who’s going to lose. I’m glad you’re enjoying the art. :)

      May 13, 2012 at 7:40 pm

  7. I love the swirly lines, it looks so fluid. It also looks like it is done with chalk, the colours really look like chalk.

    May 14, 2012 at 2:13 am

    • I had to examine those lines carefully, Leanne; I thought the same thing…but it’s definitely paint, and not chalk.

      May 14, 2012 at 6:50 am

  8. Thank you for exposing us to a unique part of the world we probably would never have the opportunity to see. And I am sure the artist would thank you too!

    May 14, 2012 at 6:26 am

    • You are most welcome, Bonnie…it has been a true pleasure watching the progress and then sharing it with everyone. I would love to thank the artist(S), too, but haven’t met them yet. I’m glad you have enjoyed the series. :)

      May 14, 2012 at 6:54 am

  9. Stunning work and well captured. Thanks for bringing this onto your blog for a wider audience.

    May 14, 2012 at 2:03 pm

    • I’m glad you’ve enjoyed it, Andy…and it’s been a treat sharing it. :)

      May 14, 2012 at 6:56 pm

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,233 other followers