Image

Antelope Island’s White Rock Bay

White Rock Bay, Antelope Island Utah

22 responses

  1. wow!!!

    February 17, 2014 at 7:38 am

  2. Such an overwhelming sense of space and solitude Scott. I think that is something that had such an impact when I visited America. The space you guys have. The fact that you can still find places where you’re not going to keep bumping into other people. Sometimes you just want to get away, I can find that solitude for brief periods only and only by getting up at the most ungodly hours. It is to be cherished and you capture it so well.

    February 17, 2014 at 8:36 am

    • Thank you for your kind words, Adrian…and I understand very well, in my core, about that need and desire to be out there alone. Solitude in such a place is rich, near beyond description, as you would know from venturing out so early to capture your own images. And yes, that sense of space is incredible, indeed. For all the years that I lived in the desert, I was surrounded by the hordes of the large metropolitan area and only very, very rarely went hiking or exploring as I have done here…given work life and the damnable heat……so I do cherish this space and solitude, and those wonderful mountains, in the deepest part of my being…..

      February 20, 2014 at 6:12 pm

  3. That looks very nice. The colors complement each other well, as does the shoreline swooping past the viewer.

    If that’s ice, you should definitely skip some rocks; it makes a neat sound, and the rocks really go a long way.

    February 17, 2014 at 8:53 am

    • There was a bit of ice out there, Emilio…and it went a bit beyond that line of snow toward the right. Things were getting right frigid on that side of the island when we were out there, but we did try “skipping” some slabs of ice that we found along a different shore…and they didn’t go very far. ;)

      February 20, 2014 at 8:00 pm

  4. What a great place to explore!

    February 17, 2014 at 4:32 pm

    • A truly wonderful place, Allen.

      February 20, 2014 at 8:01 pm

  5. What a beautiful and very striking scene this is!

    February 17, 2014 at 7:43 pm

    • I took close to 300 photos out there, Susan…there were SO many striking scenes. :)

      February 20, 2014 at 8:02 pm

  6. This is superb…what I wouldn’t give to go hiking there. A superb photo of it also.

    February 18, 2014 at 2:28 am

    • Thank you, James…and while there are some trails out there for hiking, I’ve not made it out there yet with that purpose in mind. My excursions so far have been essentially sight-seeing events with family. I’ll bring back a couple of images when I do make it out there for hiking, though. ;)

      February 20, 2014 at 8:04 pm

  7. The words that pop into my mind are: bleak, desolate, stark and vast….. but it’s still a lovely picture. ;)

    February 18, 2014 at 3:13 am

    • I would agree that it is all of those things out there, Gunta…and I’d put lovely on it, too….my kinda place. Thank you. :)

      February 20, 2014 at 8:06 pm

  8. It looks like the arctic with no signs of humanity and is an impressive vista. It reminds me of those photos of the moon where you have no idea how far away things are…..those snow covered hills, are they small and close or far away and huge? You are fortunate to have such wilderness areas so close to home……and long may it stay that way.

    February 18, 2014 at 5:55 am

    • Those snow covered hills are rather far away from where we were…and rather large, too. The tallest point is Frary Peak and is just under 6,600 ft in elevation…which is right around 2,400 feet higher than the current level of the lake…so yes, it’s up there. :)

      As I mentioned to Adrian/Chillbrook above, I do cherish having this environment, this wilderness so close to home, John…and as far as this bit of land remaining as it is, I would imagine that it will likely be in this condition for quite some time. Antelope Island is a State Park and is protected from development and exploitation as such….but yes, long may it stay that way.

      February 20, 2014 at 8:16 pm

  9. A terrific sweep of shoreline. The sense of wilderness is immense. I entirely agree with all that Chillbrook wrote earlier too.

    February 18, 2014 at 1:14 pm

    • I’ve not visited the island during the spring or summer when it is likely frequented by more visitors, so it has been quite nice having a scarcity of other people when I’ve been out there in the fall and the middle of winter. So far, it’s been a fantastic place to go and enjoy the quiet….

      February 20, 2014 at 8:22 pm

  10. I love it – the tones, the composition. It has a very classical feel, to me.

    February 23, 2014 at 11:52 am

    • I’m glad you do, Lynn….I kinda like it, too. :)

      February 26, 2014 at 7:34 pm

  11. Glorious, Scott. Outstanding.

    February 26, 2014 at 6:19 pm

    • Again…it’s my good fortune to have it so close, Karen. It would be hard to get lost out there, but it’s so very easy to lose oneself in such a place.

      February 26, 2014 at 7:35 pm

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,075 other followers