leftovers from utah…in black and white

I had driven past these ruins (?) at least two dozen times over the last several years…and finally made the stop on my next to last trip before moving out of the state.  The third and fourth images are from a second set of buildings just a little further down the road….

South of Panguitch homestead ruins

There were a couple of out-buildings, corrals, and a stable further up the hill and toward the left of these first two images.

South of Panguitch homestead ruins 2

These two building didn’t appear to be as old as the ones in first two photos…there were more “modern” pieces of junk and rubber-wheeled trailer parts on the property.

Other ruins south of Panguitch

There was even a cement-stooled outhouse with a plastic seat about 20-30 yards uphill from the buildings.  I hope there was also a cement septic tank to prevent the contents from leaching downhill toward the houses…if that’s what they were.

different view of homestead ruins south of Panguitch

And lastly, here’s a color rendition of the first photo in the set.  It was a pretty, mid-May afternoon in middle Utah, about six miles (or 15?) south of Panguitch, just off of Highway 89….

Homestead ruins south of Panguitch Utah

16 responses

  1. Spectacularly effective in black and white.

    July 27, 2014 at 4:07 pm

  2. I’d love to explore that for a day or two!

    July 27, 2014 at 4:08 pm

    • There are some low-ish hills that rise toward the back of the property…I’d like to have gone exploring back there, as well. :)

      August 5, 2014 at 7:32 am

  3. What it must be like to be color-blind. :o

    July 27, 2014 at 6:23 pm

    • I can only begin to imagine, Gunta.

      August 5, 2014 at 7:32 am

  4. Haha, I’m laughing at Gunta’s comment because i know how fond she is of b&w photography! But anyway..how intriguing these little houses are, I love exploring places like this.

    July 27, 2014 at 8:39 pm

  5. Great Photos, I especially love the first one, resonates with my fascination of where nature and human made objects co-exist…thanks Scott!

    July 28, 2014 at 6:32 am

    • Thank you….and you’re welcome, too. :)

      August 5, 2014 at 7:33 am

  6. Rich monos with lovely detail. Those grasses seem huge in comparison to what I’ve experienced…..must be difficult to walk through. Really love your close viewpoints. They give drama and scale….tasty.

    July 29, 2014 at 2:44 am

    • Hello John….most of what you see around the buildings is actually Sage….not grass. I think most of them were dead…or abandoned of life, like the buildings. And yes, they were very difficult to walk through…and left more than a few blood-drawing scratches on my lower legs from pushing through them to get near the buildings. But it was fun anyway…nice to have been there. Thank you for your words, my friend….

      August 5, 2014 at 7:36 am

  7. These are just delicious photos – I love them in black and white – the wood texture against the creamy sky is effective, and you always have a good eye for composition. Good thing you stopped and got those photos, right?

    August 6, 2014 at 9:49 am

    • Yes, indeed, Lynn…I only wish I had stopped sooner….wish I could have spent at least a couple of hours wandering around, as it was, the kids had to be patient with my half hour escapade…as I felt rushed and KNOW that I missed several other good shots because of it. Anyway, it was nice to finally make it there and capture what I did of the place. Thank you for the kind words…I’m glad you enjoyed the pix. :)

      August 8, 2014 at 7:39 am

      • I know the feeling of not being able to spend the time you know you need because you’re not alone. And who wants to be alone all the time? So we have our loved ones and a bit of compromising…

        August 9, 2014 at 10:05 pm

        • Maybe not “all” of the time….. ;)

          And yes, you’re absolutely correct…we do have our loved ones…and they are often the reasons we compromise….sigh…. :)

          August 12, 2014 at 9:09 pm

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,200 other followers