What now?

“That trespass call has been holding for four minutes already.  You need to broadcast it even if you don’t have any available units.”
       Available units casting on your broad ass…blah, blah, blah….
       “I know…I was getting ready to do that.  I was just making sure the status-list reflected five-fifteen-bravo’s accurate location.”
       “That’s fine, but you need to broadcast the call…didn’t Andrea tell you that you had to do that within five minutes of receiving all priority-two calls?”
       No shit!  Didn’t Andrea tell you….
       “Of course she told me that.  I’m in my ninth week of training. That’s something we covered in the first two days…and if you’d notice, I’ve been doing other things in the four minutes since I received that call.”
       “I know you were…but you need to broadcast the call, too.”
       “Right.”
       Why’d she have to go on vacation now, when we’re so close to the end?  And who the hell does Rachel think she is telling me all this crap?
       He pushed the pedal with his gray and blue striped Adidas and said, “Any unit for a four-eighteen-tom at one-thousand-one-north-sixteenth-street?”
       “Five-twenty-three-david.”
       “Five-twenty-three-david, ten-four.  Our complainant, Tom, inside the Circle K, says there’s a white-male in a blue-denim shirt and blue jeans carrying a black back-pack who’s been bothering the customers by asking them for money and he’d like him removed from the property…the subject is about five ten, a hundred sixty pounds and has short black hair and is acting very three-ninety…at thirteen-fourteen hours, is there a unit for back-up?”
       “Five-twenty-two-adam.”
       “Five-twenty-two-adam, ten-four.”
       Are you happy now?  Not only did I broadcast it, but I also got someone to go out on it….
       “That was fine…but you didn’t give the frequency call-sign after you said the time.”
       Why don’t you just sit there on the other side of the console and mind your own goddamned business?  I don’t have to say the call-sign every time I say the time, you friggin’ bitch….
       “I have the understanding that we need to say the call-sign when we’re close to the hour…either right before or right after the hour.”
       “Well…technically, that’s right….but I like to say it whenever I say the time…it sounds more professional that way.”
       R i i i i g h t…like you’d know professional if it walked up to you and pulled the hair out of that mole on your chin…and while you’re at it, why don’t you put away the Soap Opera Digest you’re looking at, Dimwit…you know you’re not supposed to be reading anything while you’re training someone….
       “Okay.”
       The older, heavy-set woman pushed herself back from the console and reached into her blue Wal-Mart bag and got out a package of Planters honey-roasted peanuts and started to eat them.
       “Did you notify the supervisor that you have four priority-three calls that have been holding for more than an hour?”
       Duh?
       “Yes, as a matter of fact, I did.”
       “And did you annotate the calls stating that you notified the radio-supervisor that they were holding for so long?”
       Yes I did…and if you’d lick the salt off your fingers and click on your little mouse to look at the call, you’d see that I already did that….
       “Yes, I did.”
       “Do you remember how long Andrea said she was going to be gone?”
       Yeah…too friggin’ long if I’m gonna have to sit with your ass every day….

10 responses

  1. Renae

    Well done. I could feel your frustration with your trainer…what I find most interesting is that the things you got dinged for are the things that you 250 me for during your monitoring sessions.

    October 29, 2009 at 9:15 pm

    • seekraz

      Thank you, Miss Renae…I tried to make it real. And I’m just letting you know that I’m paying attention to you. 🙂 Thank you for visiting the blog, Renae. It’s nice to see you here. And thank you for leaving a comment, too. 🙂

      October 30, 2009 at 6:14 am

  2. Kelly

    Oh man, I can’t even tell you the memories that brought back. Lol. The laziness and stupidity of the people that are training the saviors of Phoenix, and they can’t even follow the rules. It’s wonderful, the people you work with. 😀

    October 29, 2009 at 9:58 pm

    • seekraz

      I’m glad it brought back some memories for you. I only had one substitute trainer during my Radio cross-training and she was nothing like the one I depicted in the story. She was wonderful and attentive…. “The saviors of Phoenix;” I like that. Thank you for visiting the blog and leaving a comment for me. 🙂

      October 30, 2009 at 6:16 am

  3. I’m not touching this one with a 10 foot pole. Nicely written though my friend.

    October 30, 2009 at 2:57 am

    • seekraz

      Thank you for the comments, Jason. The story isn’t about anybody in particular. My substitute trainer was wonderful, so this story is a fabrication from things I might have seen with other people or created myself. Thanks again. 🙂

      October 30, 2009 at 6:24 am

  4. Well in that case, I would have to say that you captured the essence of radio training very, very well. And being that I trained Miss Renae up there, I’m hoping she won’t come back with TOOOO much of a personal association to this.

    October 30, 2009 at 9:22 am

    • seekraz

      Well thank you. I was trying to give an accurate picture of it. Renae hasn’t said anything about her time with you, so it’s probably not there…. 🙂

      October 30, 2009 at 10:31 am

  5. Nathan

    Well then……..eat your god damn peanuts you dirty little bitch……..
    So very well described. I’ve never been trained for something like that obviously, but I know the feeling. Those who think they knooooowww sooooo much, and think you’re a complete idiot. I’m glad to know it was fabricated, because whoever Andrea might have been probably wouldn’t like to read this one 🙂

    October 30, 2009 at 10:10 am

    • seekraz

      9-1-1 training wasn’t too intense, but Radio training was…so many people talking to you and so many things to remember to do all at the same time, etc…. Yes, it was kind of fun to write it. And completely fabricated. My trainer and substitute were both wonderful….

      October 30, 2009 at 10:45 am

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

