What is today?

I noticed the date and thought of the things that it has represented, the things that it has been to me and others I have known or know.  I drove my several miles to work and then stood on the steps later and watched those people come and go as they will and do at the beginnings and ends of their shifts here, taking calls and sending help on its way and I thought about the beautiful morning and the green trees and the birds that come by and leave and their drops of scat and whatnot that mark their passing.  I thought about the dirt and desert crags that line the southern horizon from my perspective and wistfully recollected green and white and black monstrosities of splendor and cloud nests way up there and high on eastern horizons of different perspectives and then.  I thought about the date again, about it being a wedding anniversary of a loved one and how that matches now with other anniversaries that will be remembered from tomorrow onward when today has finished and fallen below earth’s distant rim, when it has been tossed like a torn calendar’s page into the waste-can of the past and will live again only in retrospect.

Yesterday morning, a frantic mother called 9-1-1 to tell us that her three week-old baby was cold and blue and the father was trying CPR as the Fire call-taker gave him instructions and the Fire dispatcher rolled the big red fire-truck and our police dispatcher rolled the patrol units to make sure things were only horrible in that the baby died and not horrible in that the baby was made to die.

This morning, I thought about how we used to be able to send call recordings to each other so we could share in the wonder and amazement or disgust or befuddlement or whatever at what our callers told us.  I remembered how we sent a call around the room that burned itself into our memories of what a newborn baby sounds like on a 9-1-1 call as the mom was sobbing in happiness and the dad was talking excitedly in amazement in the afterglow of having just delivered his baby in the back seat of his car…and it’s been too long since I’ve listened to that recording, too long since I’ve heard tender happiness on our phones here.

And this morning, again…I read the duty report from last night and learned that a “16 yr old male hung himself in his backyard after a verbal dispute with his mother over concert tickets.  The juvenile male was transported to the hospital and is not expected to survive.”  Yes, concert tickets. 

Entry number two said that a 46 year-old man crossed a certain street mid-block at around eleven-thirty last night and was struck by a Dodge Dakota.  The man was transported to a hospital where he “was pronounced.”  There were no signs of impairment of the driver of the Dakota.

Entry number three said that “A 32 year-old male subject climbed [Such and Such Mountain] and called Crime-Stop to report that he was going to kill himself.  Patrol and the Air Unit responded.  The Air Unit located the subject and observed him shoot himself in the head.  While waiting for Fire personnel, the Air Unit observed the subject flip over onto his stomach.  The rescue helicopter responded and transported police and fire personnel to the top of the mountain.  The subject was still breathing with a good pulse and respiration.”  The call recording said that he called police so we could find his body before it was discovered by hikers…on this very popular mid-city mountain trail.  I later overheard a conversation between another supervisor and the night-commander in which we learned that the guy was going to survive…the suicide hiker.  What will his life be like now?  Was it really that bad before?

And a dear friend’s father passed away yesterday or last night, at some time before the friend was supposed to be here at work.  The answer to that sometimes question – yes, they were close.  I’ve heard many stories from his gentle son…and if he is/was anything like that son, I know he was a good man. 

So, today is a day of anniversaries…things that will be remembered whether we want to remember them all or not.

6 responses

  1. Becky

    Yes, today is an anniversary of two people who truly did love each other. A father who was not perfect by any stretch of the imagination but one who did love his wife and children. I wish that you had experienced a deeper, sweeter relationship with that man…but I am sure if he is looking down on you from heaven, he is a very proud father. You are an amazing man, who loves his children and grand children so completely, Scott. You make me proud to call you brother and I know how proud Mom is as well. You too are a good man!

    xoxoxoxo

    June 13, 2010 at 12:48 pm

    • It appears that you are offering a couple of philosophical cans of worms here, Miss Becky, but I do thank you for your very sweet words and will reserve comment on those cans for other posts. Thank you so much for visiting and sharing your thoughts. I do appreciate them. 🙂

      June 13, 2010 at 1:59 pm

  2. jason

    It never ends does it? The calls just keep coming. Thank you for a fresh dose of perspective.

    June 13, 2010 at 12:51 pm

    • No, Jason…it never ends…. It’s amazing sometimes, truly. Thank you, Sir.

      June 13, 2010 at 1:54 pm

  3. byronhj

    It is helpful for me from time to time to hit the pause button on the incessant pondering machine between my ears, the one that concerns itself only with what is going on here, at the center of the universe. HOW am I doing and WHAT is happening to ME, and WHAT do I WANT, and WHAT do I THINK, and how do I FEEL The mountains are beautiful and the birds, messy as they are, are a marvel of engineering. Today people fell in love, fell out of love, and fell down for the last time. Some saw their first day, many saw their last, and some chose to stop looking, while others decided to have a look around for the first time. Perspective, thats what I could use a little more of on most days, and I thank you Sir for sharing some of yours, it encouraged me stop and gather some for myself.

    June 14, 2010 at 7:14 pm

    • It’s always so nice when you share your perspective here, Byron. Thank you, my friend.

      June 15, 2010 at 9:21 pm

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

