Do You Love What You Do?

In the age-old conversation about work and life, are you one of those lucky or fortunate ones who stumbled upon or pursued and captured the job that drives your passions, or is driven by your passions?  Did you have that childhood dream become a reality, and now, in your adulthood, you wake each day and can’t wait to get to your job because you just absolutely love it…because it so fulfills you, rewards you, or gives you the satisfaction at the end of the day in knowing that you participated in something that was so much bigger than yourself, or that you touched at least one life in a way that will be felt positively by that one life for their life’s duration?  Or did you wake in the night and rise to embrace your creative dream and not stop until you were famished and your strength gone as you beheld the object of your creation and were able to say “Yes, I did that, I made that, I created that…and the world, or my own corner of it anyway, is all the better because I did so”?  Is that you?  Is that me?  Or are we in the middle of a muddle where we just get up everyday and go to our jobs, walk the walk, go through the motions and maybe even have moments where we actually care about what we’re doing, maybe only to be rewarded every other Friday with a few more bones, or many more bones in our checking account?  Or worse, are you in a job or place that you can’t stand, but you’re too numbed by your personally dissociated indifference to do anything about it?  Is your job killing your sense of who you are or want to be?  Have you resigned yourself to the daily grind and live only for the paydays that finance your weekends and postponed or neglected dreams?  How do you live then?  How do you do that?  How do you surrender yourself so completely to someone else’s bidding?  For the money only?  Are we whores, then, when we resign ourselves to such a life, sacrificing our bodies, health, our minds, dreams, or our very souls, for that paycheck?  What would we trade or willingly sacrifice, to have a job that we love, so that it is no longer work, but actively living and flourishing in ourselves and our dreams as we participate in that “making a living?”  What would we sacrifice so that we don’t have to surrender…and what do we become if we don’t?

6 responses

  1. Christina Cronk

    wonderful questions! Even though my job is not what I wanted to do when I was younger, I have found that even in sales I can be genuine toward others, help them and connect with them, and I love that. I also have found comfort in some of the service repetition, and feel that what I could easily dismiss as “boring” or “just a paycheck” is actually something I take pride in, knowing that what I do matters 🙂

    July 25, 2010 at 9:27 am

    • Thank you, Christina…I think it might be too easy to forget to take pride in what we do…it just happens. When we remember to do so, however, I believe it causes us to do a better job doing whatever it is. Thank you for visiting…and sharing! 🙂

      July 25, 2010 at 9:35 am

  2. Millie

    How beautifully you have captured the essence of what the”perfect” job is and what effect it can have on one’s life.

    July 25, 2010 at 9:36 am

    • Thank you, Miss Millie. It would be like living a dream…maybe someday! 🙂

      July 25, 2010 at 9:44 am

  3. Jason

    For me it’s difficult, because I have found all that you describe here in my job…even more so since my promotion. I love what I do, love most of whom I work with and generally feel like I no longer actually work for a living. My problem is that I have found this in a place I can’t stand living in. This, unfortunately, places me in front of a very hard place with a large rock poised ever so firmly behind me.

    July 25, 2010 at 10:01 am

    • Yes, indeed, Jason…between a rock and a hard place. So on your days off, you head to Prescott, Sedona, the Grand Canyon…anywhere out of the valley. And it’s nice that you love what you do, that it moves you, that it touches a passion inside. Good for you, my friend! 🙂

      July 25, 2010 at 7:55 pm

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

