A Christmas Letter to a Friend…or Two….

As I sit here in this enchanted place that filled my dreams in my yesterdays and look around at what has become the reality of my everyday, at the white covered mountains and winter-bare trees, I reflect upon the things that I wrote in this season of the past year and marvel at what has changed and what has remained the same.  I am thinking, too, of the friends that I spoke to in “Yes, I Spoke of You,” those noble and precious people who peopled my past and still live in my memories as I live in this new and present place.

When I read those writings from this time last year, I reflect on the workplace happenings of the holidays in “Postscript to a 9-1-1 Christmas.”  It’s crazy, now, how my Christmas and this season are so different than they were last year.  Instead of participating with my friends and co-workers in that Christmas morning banquet as we and they answered the call, I am sitting at home with part of my family, part only, as those friends are away from theirs for a bit, taking care of their citizen callers and officers for a shift of so many hours and then.  They are writing more workplace holiday memories into the stories of their lives as I sit on the outside and remember what used to be.

There won’t be any or many Christmas cards sent from our house to yours this year.  Life is still busy and crazy and boxes remain unpacked in their various places throughout the house as we’re trying to reassemble our uprooted lives and find places for those pictures and things that bring comfort to our hearts and souls when that need is real and upon us.  Not many cards sent, but friendly faces and friendships remembered in this faraway place, those intangible tokens of an enjoyed and lived life.

So I wish you all happiness and peace in this holiday season, and I thank you again, as I have thanked you before, for creating those new worlds within me that are our paths walked together, the stories we’ve shared and lived in our workaday lives, and the experiences that have bound us together as friends.  I thank you all.

4 responses

  1. Becky & Mom

    Mom says…”I enjoyed your snow pictures…your house is beautiful and I am glad that you are happy in your new environment. Give everybody hugs from me! Make a big snowman and throw some snowballs in your back yard! Hope Hayden gets a sled soon so he can sled down that hill! Wish you a Merry Christmas and Blessed New Year! Love, Mom, Gunner, Cody and Abby.”

    Another beautiful blog, Scott! You always take my breath away…truly think that you should be published! Love you all so much! Becky

    December 24, 2010 at 8:47 pm

    • Well thank you, Mom. I’m glad you enjoyed the pictures…and yes, we are happy. I will certainly give everyone hugs from you and we’ll be sure to make a snowman with the next snow. I’m sure the sled will come soon enough for Hayden. Hope you have a wonderful holiday, too, thank you.

      And thank you, Becky, for your very kind words. We love you, too. Happy Christmas! 🙂

      December 24, 2010 at 9:05 pm

  2. byronhj

    Merry Christmas my friend,
    You are missed! I am glad that we do not have to miss your wonderful writing!
    Stay warm in your winter wonderland up there, and may this season bring you all the good things of life, peace, happiness and continued friendship.

    Thank you for sharing!

    December 24, 2010 at 9:32 pm

    • Merry Christmas to you, too, dear Byron. It’s nice to know when you’re missed, thank you.

      We will indeed stay warm in our winter wonderland…. And thank you for the well-wishes…I hope your holiday brings you the same…peace and happiness, continued friendship…and all the good things in life.

      Take care, Sir Byron….

      December 25, 2010 at 8:49 am

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

