White Pine Lake in September

I don’t remember the sensation or feeling of having been there before, when I was actually there and lakeside, but when I look back at these pictures, I can’t help feeling that I’ve seen this place somewhere in my past.  Upon further reflection, though, what comes to mind are images that I remember seeing in my mind’s eye when I read E. Annie Proulx’s, “The Shipping News.”  The rocky shorelines of White Pine Lake remind me of what I imagined the coastline of Newfoundland to look like.  Anyway…it was a cloudy day and the dark blue-green and steel of the water seem to offer a beautiful complement to the steel and white and gray of the cloudy mountain sky…and vice versa…or something like that.

4 responses

  1. God’s own dwellings. I can see the ripples in the water and the sound of silence.

    December 17, 2011 at 10:18 pm

    • I was amazed to find this kind of water up in the mountains, Pattu…and yes, so beautiful, and it was incredibly quiet. I heard someone across the lake from me as I was on the far side, but never actually saw them. Nice words…thank you.

      December 18, 2011 at 9:07 am

  2. These are great pictures, Scott!

    September 27, 2012 at 4:13 pm

    • Thank you, Emily…how nice to have you visiting. 🙂

      September 28, 2012 at 6:35 am

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

