I Found a Frozen Waterfall

I heard somewhere that adventure seekers often participate in the winter sport of ice-climbing in Little Cottonwood Canyon, just east of Salt Lake City.  I knew that there was at least one set of falls in the canyon, Lisa Falls, but had never seen it in the winter, so I couldn’t imagine what it might look like.  Today, as I was hiking through Little Cottonwood Canyon, I happened upon an odd trail that led off into the woods, away from the main trail that continued for almost three miles and terminated at the ruins at the far end.  Since I had started my hike late in the day, I figured I would follow the trail and explore a little more of the canyon that I hadn’t seen, instead of continuing on toward the ruins at the end of the trail.  The well-worn trail led to the base of a frozen waterfall…and I could still hear the water from the moving and living stream beneath the ice.  I will have to return to this spot after Spring returns so that I can see the wonderful waterfall in action.

This was the first glimpse I had of the falls –

After a few more minutes of climbing, I reached the base of the falls, a sheet of ice covering a huge rock…and strangely, I could see the water still “flowing” under the ice at the far left edge –

I had to move around a bit on the side of the mountain in order to find a better, or more complete view of the falls.  It appears that there are essentially three segments –

When I was standing at the base of the falls, I noticed a backpack sitting against one of the trees.  I hadn’t seen or heard anyone on the trail above me when I was hiking up toward the falls, so I imagined that there must have been someone above me.  His red coat made it easier to spot him with my camera –

I had to move to still another location, more to the left of the falls, in order to get a better picture of the upper section of the falls –

And then with the fantastic zoom lens on my new camera, I was able to see the greater detail of the upper section of the falls…quite amazing, actually –

It wasn’t until I returned home and looked more closely at the pictures on the computer that I saw the second climber at the top of the falls –

8 responses

  1. anorwen

    Fantastic photos!

    December 11, 2011 at 7:06 pm

    • Thank you, Jane! It was a beautiful hike…I couldn’t resist taking them. Thank you for visiting. 🙂

      December 11, 2011 at 7:21 pm

  2. Nut Balls

    THAT IS SO CRAZY! I imagine that must be a lot of fun to climb that thing 🙂

    December 12, 2011 at 4:19 pm

    • Yes, Nut Balls…there was something rather alluring about it…scary, too, but definitely something drawing me upward. 🙂

      December 12, 2011 at 9:19 pm

  3. t.i.n.a.

    Again, very beautiful! Love these frozen water images, but this actually reminds me of the time when there was that horrible ice storm in NE Canada – and all those photos came out of the trees covered and the beautiful formations made. Good shots – and kudos to you for braving the cold. These days I’ve been dreaming about moving back to the Philippines! 😀

    December 13, 2011 at 1:33 pm

    • Thank you again for your nice words, Tina…and I love the frozen water images, too…they are so alluring, and crazy beautiful. I’ve heard of your crazy ice-storms in Canada and in the NE of the USA, too. I’m sure it was awesome to see them in person. And yes, I do rather enjoy the cold…and I’ll take it over your Philippines’ warmth. 🙂

      December 13, 2011 at 6:35 pm

  4. awesome photos Scott and you did the cold and probably froze your hands off but your pictures don’t show it. you might take a trip sometime up to the catskills on the NY side and check out those mountains and see if you like those areas up there the same way. Be good and enjoy life…

    November 25, 2017 at 8:24 pm

    • Thank you, Kat…and I’m sure I would love the Catskills up in New York, as well. I’ve seen photos of the area and it looks like my kind of spot. Wishing you the best….

      December 3, 2017 at 12:34 pm

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

