Crystal Craziness

I left the trail and was preparing to cross the Little Cottonwood Canyon stream-bed where it lies beyond the Temple Quarry nature-trail and was surprised at the crystal nursery that I found in front of me.  The stream is empty at this time of year, as the remaining water coming down from the canyon is mostly diverted and captured for use by the local cities.  When I was finished taking photos at this location, it was almost hard to make myself step between the rocks and proceed on my way, knowing that I would be crushing some of this natural wonder with each move of my foot.  Hopefully I will be forgiven for my destruction, as I will be preserving these crystal images forever…or as long as they exist in the ether of the world-wide-web….

16 responses

  1. Amazing detail!

    December 13, 2011 at 9:35 am

    • Thank you! I thought it was incredible, too. 🙂

      December 13, 2011 at 9:46 am

  2. t.i.n.a.

    This is AMAZING! How beautiful – and what a great discovery. 🙂

    December 13, 2011 at 1:28 pm

    • I agree, Tina, so amazing and beautiful…and indeed, a great discovery! Thank you. 🙂

      December 13, 2011 at 6:32 pm

  3. Nut Balls

    THAT IS SO INSANELY CRAZY!!! How cool 🙂 A…Nice camera B…Your pictures will likely last longer on the web than the geologic time it took to carve the grand canyon 🙂

    December 13, 2011 at 5:57 pm

    • Yes it is, Nut Balls…insanely crazy! And I’m sure the pictures will likely last longer than the time it took to carve the Canyon…unless we destroy ourselves first.

      December 13, 2011 at 6:41 pm

  4. Fascinating discovery. Of the crystal shots, I think I like the third one from the top the best; it has a great semi-abstract quality.

    The sixth and seventh shots look like some kind of hoar frost.

    Anyway, it’s a macro photographer’s delight.

    December 13, 2011 at 8:11 pm

    • I found it fascinating, too, Kerry. The first several photos were in the stream bed, the ones you suggest as being some kind of hoar frost were taken in another location upstream, and literally an inch or two above the water…and the last ones were from about a mile up the canyon, on the side of a large tree branch. Needless to say, I was rather pleased at how well the shots turned-out. Still amazed at what the camera can do up close.

      December 13, 2011 at 8:22 pm

  5. Stunning! …especially if you consider or imagine the creation process of these “crystals”. Thanks!

    December 14, 2011 at 3:28 am

    • It is stunning, Nikos, how the mix of humidity, wind current, temperature, and the physical/molecular properties of the water all combine in their crazy and wonderful way to create such a marvel! 🙂

      December 14, 2011 at 7:15 am

  6. Hey, thanks for the like – I just had to say, these are beautiful images. Glad you managed to capture them for all of us 🙂

    December 14, 2011 at 8:21 am

    • You are most welcome for the “like,” Helen. Thank you for your kind words. 🙂

      December 14, 2011 at 8:45 am

  7. In some of these pictures the ice has the same texture as the inside of a geode. It also reminds me of the exterior of a tropical jackfruit. You’re lucky you got to play in the ice.

    Steve Schwartzman
    http://portraitsofwildflowers.wordpress.com

    December 20, 2011 at 9:06 am

    • Hello Steve – I don’t know what a tropical jackfruit looks like, but I get the part about the crystals looking like the inside of a geode…and I agree, I am indeed lucky that I get to play in the ice!! Thank you. 🙂

      December 20, 2011 at 6:30 pm

      • Here’s what a jackfruit looks like:

        December 20, 2011 at 7:02 pm

        • Wow! Yes, the crystals do rather look like a jackfruit!! Thank you for the link. 🙂

          December 20, 2011 at 7:34 pm

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

