The Ice Tube Revisited

Just over two weeks ago, I found an ice tube in the stream in Little Cottonwood Canyon.  Maybe it should be called a “chute” instead of a tube…because it performs the function of a chute…with water passing through it from one level down to another.  At any rate, one tube was complete and it appeared as if another tube was forming to the left of the completed one.  I took a few photos of the tube/chute to preserve it and hoped to return to take more pictures to see how it might have changed over time.  Please press the highlighted number for December 17, 2011 on the calendar to the right to see the earlier post.  For some reason, I am unable to create a link in the text at this time.

I thought I remembered the tube on the right as being smaller and less opened at the bottom…or maybe it changed a bit over the weeks.  As you will see in the last photos of this series, there is an icy lace or filigree on the right tube that wasn’t there in the earlier photos.

I had to go to the other side of the stream and come in from the right to get these last photos.  The two previous shots and the ones from the earlier post were taken from the left side of the stream as you’re looking at the water-fall.

16 responses

  1. very nice shots, love the two colors of ice 🙂
    Well done!
    xandi

    December 27, 2011 at 7:21 am

    • Thank you, Xandi. 🙂

      December 27, 2011 at 8:12 am

  2. It’s great that you got to play with your ice tube or chute. Winters here in Austin are almost always too mild for creeks or rivers to have formations like the one you’ve shown here, though we occasionally get a storm that coats things in a thin veneer of ice.

    Steve Schwartzman
    http://portraitsofwildflowers.wordpress.com

    December 27, 2011 at 9:11 am

    • Yes, Steve, I think it’s great that I got to play with my ice tube or chute, too. I understand about mild winters in Austin…I’ve been here in Utah for the past year, but had lived in Phoenix for the past 20+ years where we were lucky to get frost once in a while. Thank you for visiting again.

      December 27, 2011 at 9:44 pm

  3. Glad you went back to check on the progression of the chute, Scott. Fascinating phenomenon.

    December 27, 2011 at 11:01 am

    • I was rather taken with it, too, Kerry, and very pleased that I returned…and yes, fascinating indeed!

      December 27, 2011 at 9:46 pm

  4. How amazing. The ice looks like the lacy edge to a petticoat.

    December 28, 2011 at 3:30 pm

    • Another increible little piece of nature, Meanderer…. I was thinking of filigree and lace…pretty and ornate.

      December 28, 2011 at 6:21 pm

  5. I love these!!!

    December 28, 2011 at 6:50 pm

    • Why, thank you, Antiquarian!

      December 29, 2011 at 7:05 am

  6. joel

    Thanks for sharing your great photos. On BCC there are two ice falls with green, redish and blue colors. Is this artifical coloring or from natural elements in the rocks? Thanks, Joel

    December 30, 2011 at 12:37 am

    • Hello Joel – thank you for visiting my blog and for your nice words. I’m not familiar with the falls on BCC and am not well-informed on matters of geology, so I don’t know that I can provide much of an answer to your question, but I do know that there are minerals in the rocks that might effect their appearance, especially in certain light. Scott

      December 30, 2011 at 7:24 am

  7. Pingback: Photography: Icy Lace @ Scott’s Place | SwittersB & Fly Fishing

    • Thank you for the mention, SwittersB.

      December 17, 2013 at 6:54 am

  8. I never saw or heard of such a thing. Nature does some interesting stuff. You knew of them and went looking? Well, I’m a flat lander – Illinois. Thanks.

    December 17, 2013 at 4:50 pm

    • I just happened to find it out there, Virginia…out exploring along the stream….but then I went back a couple of times to see how it had grown. I’ve been past there several times since then (during the winter) and have yet to see it like this again….maybe later in the winter…. 🙂

      December 17, 2013 at 8:34 pm

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

