The Versatile Blogger Award

I have had this blog with WordPress and another site for over two years now.  During this time, I have seen blogger-award badges or symbols posted on various writers’ and photographers’ blog pages and wondered what it would take for someone to receive such an award.  Well, this past week I discovered how it happens.  Kerry Leibowitz from Lightscapes Nature Photography Blog presented me with the Versatile Blogger award.

My first reaction was one of being stunned…I couldn’t believe it.  My second reaction was that of quiet wonder.  How could it be?  I looked at the other sites that Kerry nominated and was touched that he would name me among them as possibly deserving such an award.  After looking at the other sites, I went back to Kerry’s blog and scrolled through his posts and marveled again and again at the beauty of his photography…and wondered again how or why he would choose me and my blog for such an award.  I could continue on for another couple of paragraphs at my amazement of Kerry’s selecting me, but I’ll turn that off for now and simply say “Thank you,” to Kerry for his thoughtfulness and consideration.  Again, I am touched…and honored.  Thank you, Kerry.

Within the WordPress community, there are “rules” or stipulations that accompany accepting this and other awards.  For the Versatile Blogger Award, the recipient must:

1.  Thank the award giver and link back to them in your post,

2.  Share seven things about yourself,

3.  Pass this award along to 15 recently discovered blogs you enjoy reading, and

4.  Contact your chosen bloggers to notify them of the award.

For #1 listed above, I have already thanked Kerry and provided a link back to his beautiful blog.

For #2, the following are seven things that you may or may not already know about me from having read my blog:

*  I have been married to my high-school sweetheart for over 30 years,

*  My wife and I have six children and five grandchildren,

*  My favorite authors are Cormac McCarthy and John Steinbeck,

*  It only took me 14 years to complete my B.S. in Sociology from Arizona State University…between raising the six children and the rest of life that happened in between semesters and years,

*  Before moving to Salt Lake City and becoming an avid hiker in the nearby Wasatch Mountains, I lived in the desert that is Phoenix, Arizona and was an avid racquetball player,

*  I used to be a police 9-1-1 operator and dispatcher,

*  I find venereal disease to be fascinating.  🙂

For #3, I nominate the following blogs for the Versatile Blog Award:

Mike’s Look at Life – a brilliant and down-to-earth perspective on real life, the part that’s not always pretty, but real, the part that informs our existence as humans and the trials and joys that complete our lives…with some beautiful photos to boot.

Travels with The Blonde Coyote – science writer and photographer Mary Caperton Morton provides insight on many of the world’s natural marvels and treats the reader to compelling photographs of the incredible locations that her free-lance writing career and personal travels take her.

Farm House Stories – Cait shares stories and photos about living in a farm-house in Ontario…captivating photos with thought-provoking quotations.

The Lantern Room – Meanderer invites us to follow her almost spiritual journey into nature as she captures images that still the heart and encourage us to be “in the moment” and aware of our surroundings.

Shietree – this is Helen McClory’s photographic blog of her Scottish homeland with her almost poetic descriptions of where she traveled to take the photos…with occasional references to her in-progress novel’s characters’ emotional states or thoughts if they might view the landscapes with us…so beautiful.

Sarah Horrigan Photography – stunning and moving photography from Sarah’s family and life in England.

Season’s Light – Dovesgold’s poetry has an alluring rhythm and word choice that reminds me of olde-tyme chants from another age, kind of raw and mysterious…and beautiful…with photos of flowers and nature that calm the spirit.

Street Inspired – street-level photography by a travel-junkie university student who loves graffiti and street art.

I know that’s not 15 blogs, but I would have a couple more to list if they hadn’t also just received the award from Kerry – James Brandon O’Shea and the Poetic Aperture Blog…incredibly beautiful words and photographs in both.

Thank you again, Kerry.

14 responses

  1. Congratulations. You have introduced us to new blogs to read!

    January 3, 2012 at 7:23 pm

    • Thank you, Pattu! And they are beautiful blogs…I know you will enjoy them!

      January 3, 2012 at 7:52 pm

  2. Many congratulations on your well-deserved Award Scott. I have enjoyed reading your ‘seven things’ list. I am impressed that you continued with your studies and attained your B.S. in Sociology – that is a fantastic achievement. I know how hard it is to study at that level as a ‘mature student’ as I began the journey two years ago but have put things on hold for a while.

    Thank you so much for nominating my blog for the Award. I am really touched by the nomination and your very kind words.

    January 4, 2012 at 2:21 am

    • Thank you, Meanderer…for your very kind words. I am happy to know you enjoyed reading my “seven things” list. 🙂 And yes, it was quite an achievement to finally finish that level of the school work…especially at the later age.

      You are most welcome for the nomination, too. I love your photos and blog overall. It’s always such a nice place to visit and stay in touch with nature between my weekend jaunts out into the canyons.

      Good luck with resuming your studies after you take them off of hold…and I shall be watching and reading, still. Take care, Meanderer….

      January 4, 2012 at 7:14 am

  3. LOL, you. I also like Cormac and would have given you a run for your money in racquetball once upon a time.
    Thanks, Scott.

    January 4, 2012 at 12:17 pm

    • Cormac is a wonderful writer…so full of passion and with a great vocabulary. Would have been fun to have met earlier with the racquetball…once upon a time, Mike! And you’re most welcome…very deserving.

      January 4, 2012 at 4:43 pm

  4. I’m truly honoured that you would include me in this list of wonderful sites, thank you Scott. I’ve been enjoying following your explorations in nature and seeing the world through your lens. I can relate to spending years working on a degree, too. It takes a lot of perseverence to get through it in the midst of work and family responsibilities. Congratulations on winning this well deserved award, and thanks again for your kind words.

    January 4, 2012 at 6:21 pm

    • You are very welcome, Cait…and very deserving. I do love your work…. Thank you, too, for your kind words and sentiments on my blog and school and the award. I will continue to look forward to your posts and the sharing of your beautiful farm-house pictures and life. Thank you. 🙂

      January 4, 2012 at 7:36 pm

  5. Scott, your reaction and gracious acknowledgment simply cemented what I was 100% certain of already (if I may pat myself on the back :))–you and your blog were a perfect selection for the award. Congrats again.

    January 5, 2012 at 11:54 am

    • You are very kind, Kerry…thank you again, and again. 🙂

      January 5, 2012 at 6:24 pm

  6. Thank you so much for nominating me for an award, but I have been thinking about it for a few days and have decided not to accept. I hope you’ll understand! I am glad to have discovered your blog and hope others will find you through your own nomination.

    January 6, 2012 at 5:18 am

    • You are very welcome, Helen, and I do understand your decision. Thank you for letting me know. 🙂

      January 6, 2012 at 6:42 pm

  7. How wonderful and definitely deserved! Congratulations, Scott, many times over.

    July 7, 2012 at 4:04 pm

    • You’re very kind, Naomi…thank you. 🙂

      July 8, 2012 at 4:33 pm

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

