Lost

A tiny hand and arm used to clutch me tightly, and then less so as the minutes passed by and by.  With my soft fur pressed against the little one’s flannel pajamas and fleece blanket, I could smell baby soap sometimes, and syrup, too, or the green of grass and the dusty rich gold and orange of fallen leaves…the rough and scrapey brown of tree bark on his little hands.  I could hear his soft breathing, his tiny lips moving around his thumb…or the tiny baby snort when he moved again and grabbed for me absently, blindly in his sleep….  And then the car stopped…and the door opened…and I tumbled out…and away…and away…

…and now I find the sun rising and setting with the sounds of passing machines of large and small, with hard winds and whistling bugs and the grit and grime of flying things…

…and I wonder where his soft hand is now…and his smells….and I wonder if he’ll ever come back…or if I’ll always be lost…

…on the road, somewhere…between here and there….

18 responses

  1. me

    speechless…

    January 4, 2012 at 7:44 am

    • Wow…thank you, Lori Kim. 🙂

      January 4, 2012 at 8:01 am

  2. Awesome!

    January 4, 2012 at 8:41 am

    • Thank you, Ana! 🙂

      January 4, 2012 at 4:41 pm

  3. jason

    Brilliant piece ….personification can be heartbreaking

    January 4, 2012 at 9:28 am

    • Thank you, Jason…and yes, sometimes it is heartbreaking. 😦

      January 4, 2012 at 10:44 am

  4. Beauty!. I have seen toys on the wayside being tossed about. I never thought of this way.

    January 4, 2012 at 7:11 pm

    • Thank you, Jayalakshmi…I couldn’t resist the photos, and the story sort of formed itself.

      January 4, 2012 at 7:30 pm

  5. My all-time favorite of your entries–to date–Scott, and that’s saying an awful lot.

    January 5, 2012 at 11:56 am

    • Wow…really?! Well, thank you, Kerry. 🙂

      January 5, 2012 at 6:25 pm

  6. elizabeth

    Brilliant and brilliantly creative!

    January 7, 2012 at 8:52 am

    • Why, thank you, Elizabeth! 🙂

      January 7, 2012 at 9:05 am

  7. Very poignant story, great images.

    January 10, 2012 at 12:54 pm

    • Thank you, Malcolm…for your visit and your comment. 🙂

      January 10, 2012 at 6:39 pm

  8. Aw! This made me feel sad. I hope the teddy finds his child. Or failing that, any child who will love him.

    January 12, 2012 at 5:20 am

    • Hello Fluffy Tufts – it is/was rather sad…and I did consider taking the tiger home with me for my little one or one of my grand-children, but then thought (hoped) that it might be recovered my its true owner…and how heartbreaking that would be if the owner actually made it back to the spot where it had been los,t only to find that it was gone. Thank you for visiting and for leaving your sweet comment. 🙂

      January 12, 2012 at 7:05 am

  9. I have to admit, I had a chuckle over this! Grrrreat!

    January 14, 2012 at 11:05 am

    • Thank you, Joigrl, I’m glad you liked it.

      January 14, 2012 at 8:44 pm

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

