I found you here…

I found you here the other day, in a windswept cemetery next to a highway where trucks and cars and all manner of other wheeled things go rushing past in their hurry of doing this and that.

…and saw you lying there with a stone for a crown and wild flowers and grasses for a burial gown…and I wondered so at how you came to be there.

…when I was a passerby on that same long highway, going to get my little one, to join her with the one who traveled with me.  We stopped to see you on a cloudy day with drops of rain both here and there.

…as I walked among your family members, as I trod the grass and smelled the wet desert air swirl about my reddening cheeks and numbing fingers, as I wondered about my days and yours in the steel-flavored wind.

…and saw you there and noticed that you shared your birthday with my little one, although yours was 110 years before his.  You only lived for 13 months and were gone, and gone away, and brought here, to where I would find you.

…and you were special in my heart, even though I never knew you.  The wind froze tears on my cheeks as I thought of your mother holding you that last time, as I thought of my little one…and I wondered so…

…and I found you there.

8 responses

  1. Absolutely stunning! I think this is my favourite shot of yours. 🙂

    January 30, 2012 at 7:31 am

    • Wow…thank you, Eve. 🙂

      January 30, 2012 at 7:16 pm

  2. Nicely done Scott.

    January 30, 2012 at 3:57 pm

    • Thank you, Mike.

      January 30, 2012 at 7:14 pm

  3. I too find it sad when I come upon the grave marker of a baby or young child. I think of the parents finding their child dead, or even holding it as it died. My cousin held her nearly one year old child as he passed away from a rare form of cancer. My uncle wrote a letter and described the death–it was enough to tear your heart out. When I visit cemetaries, and read the markers, I think of the people and who they were, who they touched during their life.

    January 30, 2012 at 6:50 pm

    • I cannot imagine the anguish. Thank you, Joigrl.

      January 30, 2012 at 7:13 pm

  4. This is a thoughtful, heartfelt, and well-written post.

    Although my blog deals almost entirely with nature, I touched on the subject of your post last year in the second part of one of mine:

    http://portraitsofwildflowers.wordpress.com/2011/07/04/a-one-day-departure/

    February 4, 2012 at 11:33 am

    • Thank you, Steve, for your nice words about the post, and thank you for sharing your complementary post…certainly a nice addition.

      February 4, 2012 at 12:24 pm

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

