Crazy Sunrise

I was a block from the house and had to stop at a stop-sign…and when I turned to my right to look into the cul-de-sac to make sure there was no traffic coming, I saw this crazy sunrise blazing up from behind the mountains…so I went through the intersection and quickly turned around and sped back to the house and flew into and through the garage and to my desk and grabbed my camera and rushed out the back door and hoped hoped hoped that it would all still be there…and this is what remained…

…and yes, yes, yes…there is a lesson here…and it was just cemented for me…

…it is time to start taking the camera with me everywhere…even for the drive to and from work everyday….

30 responses

  1. Although I try always to take my camera, I was just travelling to the store one morning this week, early. One particular road I use affords the most spectacular views of the bay. The combination of rising sun, ocean, mist and the daymark lit by that soft glow was stunning and of course, I didn’t have my camera, I was going to the store. I’ve been down this road several times since in the hope of a repeat of that magical combination and no luck so far.. 😦

    February 2, 2012 at 7:38 am

    • Yes, Chillbrook…it seems that it happens that way…it was a moment, just one…and how long must we wait for another? I made sure to take my camera to work with me this morning…and the sky is gray and overcast and snow/rain is falling…the most appealing thing that happened was large drops rolling down the windshield at a stoplight. Thank you for visiting again…and I hope you have your camera when that next magical moment appears. 🙂

      February 2, 2012 at 8:04 am

  2. great colors Seekraz, nice!!!
    Peace
    xandi

    February 2, 2012 at 7:41 am

    • Thank you, Xandi. 🙂

      February 2, 2012 at 8:01 am

  3. But what you got was so beautiful, I can hardly believe you missed out on more.

    February 2, 2012 at 8:29 am

    • Thank you, Helen…and it is beautiful, indeed…but there was so much more!! 🙂

      February 2, 2012 at 8:37 am

  4. I understand! Had my camera this past week when I drove past the field of snow geese magic! You captured a beautiful sunrise.

    February 2, 2012 at 8:44 am

    • Yes, Bonnie – I saw your geese photos and thought of your good fortune in having your camera with you…and thank you. 🙂

      February 2, 2012 at 8:53 am

  5. Looks so much like a sunset.

    February 2, 2012 at 9:25 am

    • There is something rather “sunset” about it, Fergiemoto…part of the craziness, I think. 🙂

      February 2, 2012 at 9:33 am

  6. Spellbinding!! How exotic that the rising sun’s light looks like the radiance of a great smokey torch in the sky against the clouds and blue sky. 🙂

    February 2, 2012 at 11:45 am

    • Spellbinding and exotic, indeed, Steven…and what a beautiful description you provided…thank you. 🙂

      February 2, 2012 at 1:46 pm

  7. Great shot Scott. These days I am never awake for the sunrise, unless there is an emergency of some sort.

    February 2, 2012 at 2:03 pm

    • Thank you, Mike…if those are the only circumstances under which you’ll see the sun rise, I hope you never see another! Some day I’ll be a retired gentleman like yourself…and will probably miss a few more than I do today. 🙂

      February 2, 2012 at 6:40 pm

  8. How pretty and what a vivid shade of pink! I do try these days to take my camera wherever I go as I’ve missed so many opportunities but I do find that I see a lot of potential images when driving and nowhere to stop!

    February 2, 2012 at 2:21 pm

    • Thank you, Meanderer…it seems to be the concensus that we should always have our cameras with us. It does become rough, though, when there’s really no safe place to pull-over or stop to get that beautiful shot.

      February 2, 2012 at 6:38 pm

  9. victoriaaphotography

    Spectacular colour (and yes, I always take my camera everywhere, except on the bus when I go grocery shopping).

    The rare times I haven’t taken it, I’ve missed out on a potentially interesting photo.

    February 2, 2012 at 3:04 pm

    • Thank you, Victoria…changing my morning routine to get the camera set with my other “take to work” things. 🙂

      February 2, 2012 at 6:36 pm

  10. Yes! Camera everywhere! Beautiful, striking colors.

    February 2, 2012 at 5:49 pm

    • Lesson learned…and thank you, Mel. 🙂

      February 2, 2012 at 6:34 pm

  11. I wish I could rush back into the house like that without my family thinking I’m nutso! I probably would have done the same thing though. Striking colors and beauty just can’t be passed up! Nice shots.

    February 2, 2012 at 8:53 pm

    • Thank you, Naomi…I was afraid the clouds would have completely dissipated by the time I got to my camera…even with running the risk of being late for work…I think it paid off! 🙂

      February 2, 2012 at 9:03 pm

  12. Wow, what color! Your timing turned out to be very good.

    February 2, 2012 at 11:44 pm

    • Thank you, Montucky…I was very pleased that there was something photo-worthy remaining when I got to my camera!

      February 3, 2012 at 6:54 am

  13. There’s almost no predicting when you’ll get a sunrise or sunset like this (though if it’s completely clear or socked in overcast it’s essentially a guarantee that you won’t). This is where the idea of a camera phone or a tiny point-and-shoot that is literally on your person at all times is attractive to many (though I don’t rely on this sort of thing myself–I do see the value in it, however).

    The sky looks as though it was virtually on fire, Scott. I’ve seen this sort of thing before–though not very often, I must concede. In theory, one would be out in a complementary spot every single morning and evening for sunrise and sunset (f/8 and be there, as the saying goes); in practice, it just doesn’t work that way. At least you caught something memorable!

    February 4, 2012 at 9:08 am

    • No, Kerry, there’s no predicting a sunrise or sunset like this one, and after reading your piece on “luck” and preparation for a day in the field with a camera, I think it would probably be wisest to simply be prepared. I have missed several opportunities to capture a beautiful shot because I didn’t have my camera. I take it with me now, to work and out on my walks, and hope that I can accurately capture what my mind’s eye sees when the situations arise. As most of my “normal” photography takes place during my hikes, I always have the camera with me on those intentional ventures out into nature. There’s never any scouting or preparation that you’ve mentioned in your article, as hiking is the main intent, but the camera is there to record what I find.

      The sky certainly did look like it was on fire, Kerry, and if you can believe it, what I captured was already greatly diminished from what was there only minutes before…and yes, what I got was memorable. Thank you. 🙂

      February 4, 2012 at 12:19 pm

  14. Definitely worth rushing back for the camera!! Some of the best pictures are the ones where you are least expecting to see something, and inevitably there’s a “where’s the camera” moment!!

    February 5, 2012 at 7:54 am

    • I thought so, too, Dreams and Zeros…thank you. 🙂

      February 5, 2012 at 11:03 am

  15. What a crazy beautiful sunrise 🙂 I’ve missed so many moments on my drive to work and keep vowing to leave a little early so that I would have time to pull over and take a photo…but that has yet to happen! It’s amazing the colours you’ve captured.

    February 8, 2012 at 9:09 pm

    • Yes, Cait…kind of crazy beautiful…thank you. I think it might be worth the risk of being a couple minutes late to capture something like this. 🙂

      February 9, 2012 at 7:44 am

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

