Salt Lake City Squirrel

Hmm…I’m not aware of any legends or folk-lore from the early pioneers that involve crops being saved by squirrels or anything like that…no Miracle of the Squirrels…but I was lacking a particularly creative title for these photos, so I borrowed the earlier one from the sea-gulls…I don’t think they’ll mind…and I hope you won’t either.

I rounded a corner in Liberty Park on my lunch-time walk yesterday and heard this guy scolding someone, or otherwise chatting up a storm.  As I stood there and snapped a dozen or so photos, it became clear that it was scolding…and it was directed at me.  You can tell through the photos that the squirrel’s curiosity was piqued…and then his patience began to wane…resulting in the last photo where he was looking downright threateningly at me…insisting in his squirrel fashion that I desist with the photo-taking and continue onward with my walk….  “You only have so much time for your walk, right?  So get on with it…!”

Winter doesn’t seem to have been too harsh for this little guy….

“Aren’t you done yet?  You said ‘just one more’ before you took the last one?”

“Ok, that was fun…now go away!”

16 responses

  1. Your little friend looks like he posing for his portrait. Or maybe he is waiting for a peanut?
    Those are some great shots!.

    March 3, 2012 at 7:55 am

    • He does look like he’s expecting something, doesn’t he? Thank you, Marcy. 🙂

      March 3, 2012 at 8:05 am

  2. Cute photos, thank you for sharing.

    March 3, 2012 at 9:08 am

    • Thank you, Melody…for visiting and for your nice comment. And you’re welcome, too. 🙂

      March 3, 2012 at 9:22 am

  3. Nice shots.. great expressions!

    March 3, 2012 at 10:30 am

    • Thank you, Chillbrook. 🙂

      March 3, 2012 at 12:58 pm

  4. Cute face!

    March 3, 2012 at 2:23 pm

    • Yes it is, Lilly…thank you. 🙂

      March 3, 2012 at 3:44 pm

  5. Great capture of this little critter. He looks so cute.

    (The closest I ever get to little critters, apart from the zoo, were possums on my side fence and they have been strangely absent since the big old house next door was renovated).

    March 3, 2012 at 4:24 pm

    • Thank you, Victoria…I thought he was rather cute, also. Did you manage to get any good pictures of the possum before they left?

      March 4, 2012 at 6:56 am

  6. You were fortunate that he let you share his world! In their opinion, squirrels own the world: they just let the rest of us live here.

    March 3, 2012 at 9:47 pm

    • I thought I was lucky, as well, Montucky. I think it might have been that we were in a park where he was around more people. My luck with photos and squirrels out in the woods hasn’t been as good. Thank you. 🙂

      March 4, 2012 at 6:58 am

  7. Cute photos of the little guy.

    March 5, 2012 at 4:11 pm

    • Thank you, Fergiemoto. 🙂

      March 5, 2012 at 10:21 pm

  8. Fiona.q

    so so so cute!!!

    March 10, 2012 at 4:43 pm

    • Thank you, Fiona. 🙂

      March 10, 2012 at 4:47 pm

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

