Antelope Island – Part II

There were too many photos from our field-trip to Antelope Island to share in one posting.  I hope you’ll enjoy the second batch, as well.

Years ago, I had the opportunity to drive the bridge that spans Lake Ponchartrain in Louisiana…and I’ll have to admit that it was rather un-nerving…nothing but water on both sides for 24 miles.  Traveling the causeway that leads to Antelope Island out in the Great Salt Lake was very different.  I don’t know if it was that there was literal dirt and earth beneath the roadway, or what…but the seven miles out to the island seemed no different than driving on a regular road out in the city or across the country…it was just a road.

I thought the layer of haze would negatively impact the result of the photos when I was out on the island, but when looking at them later, I find that I actually like the way it causes the mountains to almost appear to be rising up out of the lake.

My younger daughter looking out at the lake.  I believe those are the visitors’ center buildings in the distance.

I love the sweeping earth tones, but am excited to see the island in the full green of spring and summer.

There were several horse trailers parked down by the bay on the west side of the island.  These were the only riders we saw out on the trails.

I love the fence rails and the golden hills….  It’s almost hard to believe that all of this is on an island.

There’s something about this view…kind of stunning…beautiful.

14 responses

  1. One day, one of those horse trailers will be mine, I hope. This looks like a fantastic place to explore from the back of a horse and those winter colors are lovely. I’m sure in the spring and summer the shots will paint a totally different photo. Wonderful post. Thanks for sharing.

    March 4, 2012 at 7:44 am

    • Well I hope the same thing for you, Marcy…it seems to be a rather important dream. I will look forward to sharing in it when you post some pictures for us…help us live vicariously through your experience. Thank you for your nice words…and you are very welcome. 🙂

      March 4, 2012 at 5:28 pm

  2. Wow – what an amazing place! I had to do a double take with the first image as it was hard to make sense of a mountain range apparently sitting in the lake! My very favourite image, though, is the one with the fence, golden land and mountains – I love the soft buff and russet colours.

    March 4, 2012 at 7:50 am

    • It really was amazing, Meanderer…so pretty out there…mountains with the lake…all of it. And I was rather taken with the fence photo, too. Thank you. 🙂

      March 4, 2012 at 5:26 pm

  3. I like the dreamy hazy feel to that first shot and the curve of the road. Nice work

    March 4, 2012 at 8:26 am

    • I was very happy with how the haze turned-out on the pictures…certainly not what I was expecting. Thank you, Andy.

      March 4, 2012 at 5:24 pm

  4. It must have been an amazing outing. Your daughter appears as though she was swept away by its beauty!

    March 4, 2012 at 8:38 am

    • It really was amazing, Bonnie. And my daughter does seem rather transfixed with it all. She was very pleasant company for the whole event…. Thank you. 🙂

      March 4, 2012 at 5:23 pm

  5. Such a dramatic landscape well captured. 🙂

    March 4, 2012 at 1:19 pm

    • The whole experience on the island was rather a surprise…so much more than I expected. Thank you, Chillbrook.

      March 4, 2012 at 5:18 pm

  6. What a great place, that island! I enjoyed seeing your photos of it.

    March 5, 2012 at 9:07 pm

    • Thank you, Montucky…it was a great little trip out there. 🙂

      March 5, 2012 at 10:21 pm

  7. Hello Scott, that’s a terrific collection of images you have there. I had no idea the terrain around Salt Lake City looked like that, and the sheer scale of it all is mind boggling. Great post!

    March 6, 2012 at 2:10 pm

    • Thank you, Finn…I had no idea the island would be like that either, before making the trip. And it is quite an island! 🙂

      March 6, 2012 at 6:51 pm

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

