The boys

Hmm…this might be one of my first “serious” attempts at photography…from twenty-some years ago.  The boys and I went for a short walk out into the forest that was near our house and tried to get some decent pictures to frame for the approaching Mother’s Day celebration.  We got some nice individual shots of each of the boys and then this group photo.  I have caught more than a little bit of harrassment over the years for the serious looks…Mom said they should have been smiling.  I wanted something more natural…serious even.  I suppose it would have been more “natural” to have them playing and smiling and knocking each other off the rock….  Anyway, I was pleased with the result…thought it was actually a bit of an accomplishment to get the boys, from three to six years of age, to sit still long enough to capture them in a less animated moment.

22 responses

  1. I wonder if you could get these sames boys to pose again in the same spot if possible? Have a before and after type shot. Mothers day is coming up soon 🙂

    March 7, 2012 at 7:02 am

    • We are separated geographically now, but that’s a great idea, Luc. Thank you. 🙂

      March 7, 2012 at 7:13 am

  2. You have 3 handsome young sons. I imagine now that they are all grown up, they’re out wooing the ladies with their charms. Wonderful photo. The boy in the back looks like he might have a scheme of some sort hatching. LOL. 🙂

    March 7, 2012 at 7:11 am

    • Thank you, Marcy…and yes, they are all grown-up now…married and with children of their own. And you are correct, the one in the back, my oldest, definitely had a scheme cooking! Thank you for the nice comment. 🙂

      March 7, 2012 at 8:15 am

      • I have 3 sons too, 1 married with children, 1 heading down the isle this summer, and 1 that is gun shy. They grew up so fast, I don’t where the time went. I’m sure you know the feeling. 😉

        March 7, 2012 at 8:23 am

        • Good for you and your three boys…and what a time you must have had with them, too. Gun-shy is ok, in this aspect, I think…no need to rush into something like marriage.

          Oh, I do know, Marcy…these three are the oldest…and we have three more…two still at home. And the time does fly…incredibly so. 🙂

          March 7, 2012 at 8:31 am

  3. Moment Matters

    It really is an accomplishment. Goodluck having that kind of photo with my brother. But then the result is just awesome =))

    March 7, 2012 at 7:17 am

    • Thank you, Momemtmatters…for visiting and for the nice comment. 🙂

      March 7, 2012 at 8:16 am

  4. Cute kids. Three boys must have been a handful! I have a boy and girl and they kept me pretty busy.

    March 7, 2012 at 7:32 am

    • Thank you, New Hampshire…they were a bit of a handful at times. 🙂

      March 7, 2012 at 8:22 am

  5. As with any good portrait, I’m guessing you’ve caught each of your boy’s characters pretty much spot on. I’m certainly seeing different characteristics in each of them anyway. Great picture Scott.

    March 7, 2012 at 8:07 am

    • Yes, Chillbrook, I can see their personalities/characteristics in the photo…. While they’re not as dreamy or pensive as they might seem in the photo, it’s a good representation. Thank you. 🙂

      March 7, 2012 at 8:24 am

  6. I like the serious pose. Their pensive mood allows a closer look at each of them. Good job, daddy.

    March 7, 2012 at 12:18 pm

    • Thank you, Mike…I appreciate your validation of the opinion that I have maintained since taking the photo, and marvelling at it, some 23 or 24 years ago. Nice words, my friend. 🙂

      March 7, 2012 at 12:27 pm

  7. I think the serious expression looks great, especially the one at the back. I think some of these candid type of shots are more revealing and interesting than the ‘fake smile’ images.

    March 8, 2012 at 7:33 pm

    • I do prefer the more serious expressions, in most circumstances, for some reason. And that might be it, what you said, they’re more revealing, more genuine than the forced smile photos. Thank you, Victoria. 🙂

      March 8, 2012 at 10:13 pm

  8. There’s a sense of the past beautifully captured here. It’s nice to see them with their own individual “look” rather than the “forced smile” syndrome!!

    March 10, 2012 at 7:13 am

    • Thank you very much, Dreams and Zeros!

      March 10, 2012 at 7:18 am

  9. I never saw this one. I like the serious faces. I love the expression of the oldest in the back. The towheaded beauties in front almost look like twins. What a fine crop of boys you got yourself here! 😉 I know they love this portrait of all three of them together.

    December 31, 2013 at 3:10 pm

    • Thank you very much, George…this is indeed a fine crop of boys. They range from 29-32 yrs now and have grown into wonderful men. 🙂

      January 1, 2014 at 10:39 am

      • How could they be otherwise with a dad like theirs! 🙂

        January 1, 2014 at 5:09 pm

        • Precious George…. 🙂

          January 1, 2014 at 5:42 pm

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

