City Paint 4 – Tucked-Away Alley-Way

A few months ago, I shared this photograph in my post “In the Heart of the City.”

What I didn’t know at the time, was that there is an alley-way at the bottom of this large sacred-heart mural that leads to a street-artists’ den.  Imagine my surprise…

I have presented the photos in the order in which you would encounter the art-work as you entered the alley.  The work is on the right-hand wall and continues for almost an entire 360 degrees as you pass into and back out of the alley.  Hopefully that makes sense.  I think you’ll be able to follow the works, as many of the photos will contain pieces or edges of the neighboring images.  This is a longer post, but there were many images to capture and share.  I hope you enjoy them.

This is Dakota.  He said it was ok for me to take photos of the alley-way and explained that this is not a formal gallery, but just a collection of work from some local graffiti/street-art artists.

34 responses

  1. That full sized mural covering the entire side of the multi-story building must have taken quite a bit of time to complete … what a work of art! I also like the red and white lady on the left side of that black door, and the bear, although the background he sits on doesn’t really fit. These works definitely give the city a character all of its own.

    April 5, 2012 at 7:03 am

    • It is an incredible work of art, Marcy…the Sacred Heart mural. I’m sure it did take a bit of time to complete. And I agree, these works of art certainly do give the city a bit of unique character….

      April 5, 2012 at 7:11 pm

  2. This was well worth the wait of it loading lol! You are showing an artistic “underbelly” of Salt Lake.

    April 5, 2012 at 7:10 am

    • I’m glad it was worth the wait, Bonnie. 🙂 And yes…it is a bit of an “underbelly” for our Salt Lake.

      April 5, 2012 at 7:13 pm

  3. Hey Scott, Some pretty amazing artwork. Having only ever used a can of spray paint on a rusty bike exhaust, it amazes me the detail these artists manage to achieve with what I found to be a very unpredictable and wayward paint delivery system. 🙂

    April 5, 2012 at 7:42 am

    • It is rather crazy what they can do with spray paint, Chillbrook…kind of wonderful crazy! 🙂

      April 5, 2012 at 7:14 pm

  4. I like how the first image looks like a photo collage, and it’s interesting that the art is all so chaotic but the alley way is so clean and organized. Great pictures.

    April 5, 2012 at 8:13 am

    • I was amazed at the cleanliness of the alley, too, Elisa…it almost seems expected that it wouldn’t be. Thank you. 🙂

      April 5, 2012 at 7:15 pm

  5. Great post Scott! I like how it ends with a roar! =)

    April 5, 2012 at 8:16 am

    • Thank you, Karen…and yes, I guess it did end with a roar, didn’t it? 🙂

      April 5, 2012 at 7:16 pm

  6. That’s a lot of ink . . . pretty good stuff too.

    April 5, 2012 at 8:23 am

    • I agree, Disperser…thank you for visiting.

      April 5, 2012 at 7:17 pm

  7. explosive and vibrant!

    April 5, 2012 at 8:45 am

    • Very much so, Dreams and Zeros…thank you. 🙂

      April 5, 2012 at 7:17 pm

  8. Amazing! What a trip. I’d love to check that out if I am ever there. Urban art says so much about a city, it’s people and the times we live in. Thanks for sharing and opening a window into Salt Lake City circa; now.

    April 5, 2012 at 9:48 am

    • Amazing, indeed, Strawberry…and a trip, too! The mural/alley-way is in the central-city area and not hard to find if you ever get out here…one can see the Sacred Heart painting from several blocks away. You’re welcome for the sharing, too…our urban art. 🙂

      April 5, 2012 at 7:27 pm

  9. What a superb collection of art. Thanks for airing this.

    April 5, 2012 at 1:26 pm

    • I agree, Andy…it’s incredible. And you’re welcome. 🙂

      April 5, 2012 at 7:28 pm

  10. Great photos of the Street Art, especially that first high mural on the brick wall. Thanks for sharing these images – reminds me of Melbourne’s Street art. But I have to say, your streets are a lot cleaner than ours.

    Looks like there are several different artists contributing to the ‘gallery’.

    April 5, 2012 at 7:39 pm

    • Thank you, Victoria…it was amazing how clean things were there in the alley. I love that Sacred Heart mural, too…not Catholic or anything, but I think it’s stunningly beautiful.

      And yes, the young man in the photo said that several artists contributed to the art…you can see different styles.

      April 5, 2012 at 7:46 pm

  11. Fabulous images Scott! Truly wonderful street art! Thanks for sharing

    April 6, 2012 at 1:13 pm

    • Thank you, Madhu…and you’re very welcome. 🙂

      April 6, 2012 at 10:09 pm

  12. I used to do quite a lot of drawing and painting and I’ll never understand how someone can do that with a can of spray paint. It’s amazing.

    April 6, 2012 at 1:42 pm

    • It is incredible, Allen…I’ll just admire it, though. 🙂

      April 6, 2012 at 10:13 pm

  13. George Weaver

    The Sacred Heart mural is amazing. I always wonder who the street artists are…where they come from and what fuels their dedication to their art. There are some creative and talented people hanging around in that alleyway. I enjoyed all of these. Not the image one normally has of Salt Lake City. You show us a different perspective here.

    April 6, 2012 at 5:30 pm

    • I agree, George…just amazing. And yes, who must they be, the ones who created all of this…and what is driving them inside to express themselves in such a way? I’m glad you enjoyed them…enjoyed another side of Salt Lake.

      April 6, 2012 at 10:17 pm

  14. Wow~, So lovely painting!

    April 6, 2012 at 9:12 pm

    • I thought so, too, Ordered Chaos…thank you. 🙂

      April 6, 2012 at 10:05 pm

  15. Do I ever love these–holy. That shot of the alley with the sneakers hanging from the phone wires is so complex and cool. And I can’t stop looking at the gorilla one and that amazing door. All of them are rivetting. Allow me to provide a link to another blogger who reviews documentaries. His site is called “Days of Docs” (wordpress). He has done a review of a recent documentary about graffitti called, ‘Bomb It’: http://www.daysofdocs.com/2012/03/30/doc-of-the-day-bomb-it/. Great photographs. Thank you for doing this.

    April 7, 2012 at 6:13 am

    • Thank you for your nice words, Lance. It was fun to photograph the alley…had a new and strange feeling while there. I have wandered different alley-ways over the years and for various reasons, but this was an original experience. Thank you, too, for the link to Days of Docs. I will check it out right now…. Thank you again…and you are most welcome for the display. 🙂

      April 7, 2012 at 12:51 pm

  16. What a fantastic alley. I bet you were surprised to find it. Thanks for letting the rest of us share this long piece of art. My favourite is probably the the gorilla. As a photograph I really like the one with the guy who seems a little lost and an area with the least graffiti. Great work.

    April 7, 2012 at 4:55 pm

    • Fantastic indeed…and I was very surprised to find it. I hadn’t really noticed it before, but the guy does look a little lost, doesn’t he? How strange…. Thank you for your nice words, Otto…and you’re welcome for sharing the piece. 🙂

      April 7, 2012 at 8:08 pm

  17. I understand there is a lot to experience also in cities (especially some cities), even wildlife. Great photos and photostory!

    April 11, 2012 at 3:17 pm

    • Thank you, Bente…yes, there is a lot to experience in the cities…even some wildlife. Thank you for your nice words.

      April 11, 2012 at 7:45 pm

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

