Spring Snow

I’m not proud to say that I don’t know the names of these bushes and trees…they’re planted around the building at my work-place…the ones with the yellow flowers look like holly leaves…and the blossoms look like they’re from some type of apple or cherry tree, but the trees have had no fruit in the time that I’ve known them…so I don’t know what they are…maybe someone else does?Β  At any rate…one day it was in the mid-70’s, and the next day it was in the 40’s and snowed…something like that.Β  And this is what it looked like –

30 responses

  1. Lovely images Scott. I can’t help you with identification but as you say, I’m sure someone will know. πŸ™‚

    April 8, 2012 at 7:34 am

    • Thank you, Chillbrook…I thought they were pretty…and yes, I’m sure someone will know…lots of plant-brainy friends here on the blog. πŸ™‚

      April 8, 2012 at 8:00 pm

  2. The yellow flowers are Mahonia – not sure which particular variety (maybe Mahonia lomariifolia)? They withstand frost anyway, so the snow won’t hurt them at all.

    I’ve seen the white flower also, but can’t remember the name.

    April 8, 2012 at 7:47 am

    • Thank you, Victoria…Mahonia. I’ve never heard of it, but I do think it’s a pretty bush/flower. πŸ™‚

      April 8, 2012 at 8:01 pm

  3. Robert G. LongprΓ©

    These are images of Easter that glorify, that do speak of promise, hope and love. Thanks, Scott. πŸ™‚
    Happy Easter.

    April 8, 2012 at 8:08 am

    • Thank you, dear Robert…I see their promise and hope and love. Thank you for visiting with me today…and happy Easter to you, too. πŸ™‚

      April 8, 2012 at 8:02 pm

  4. Stunning photos!! You do not need to know the names to appreciate the inherent beauty here πŸ™‚

    April 8, 2012 at 9:00 am

    • Thank you, Robyn…and you are so right-on…they are beautiful even without names. πŸ™‚

      April 8, 2012 at 8:04 pm

  5. Sorry, I don’t know much about trees either πŸ˜‰ but I like your pictures

    April 8, 2012 at 10:05 am

    • Thank you, Yvonne…I’m glad you like them. πŸ™‚

      April 8, 2012 at 8:05 pm

  6. Looks cold. A photogenic bunch of images. The first one is of a shrub called Mahonia, I’m pretty sure. We had one of them in our front garden. Don’t know about the others.

    April 8, 2012 at 10:36 am

    • It wasn’t too bad, Andy. And thank you for the name of the Mahonia…now I’ll try to remember it for future reference. πŸ™‚

      April 8, 2012 at 8:06 pm

  7. Beautiful images. They make me think about the resilience of flowers during Spring.

    April 8, 2012 at 1:32 pm

    • Thank you, Meanderer…and they are resilient, aren’t they…surviving the pounding rain storms and the occasional snow-fall. πŸ™‚

      April 8, 2012 at 8:07 pm

      • Yes – Spring brings with it such a variety of weather! I wonder whether the third image is an Alder.

        April 9, 2012 at 2:48 am

        • Such a variety…and it does rather look like an Alder tree when I googled it…thank you, Meanderer. πŸ™‚

          April 9, 2012 at 6:43 am

  8. I am on quest to find out what it is!

    April 8, 2012 at 4:20 pm

    • Thank you, Bonnie…I’ll look forward to the results of your detective work. πŸ™‚

      April 8, 2012 at 8:12 pm

  9. The yellow / green flowers on the sort of holly look a lot like those on a Norway Maple tree. The white flowers do look like a fruit tree blossom. Maybe flowering cherry or crabapple? The red berries also look like small crabapples.

    April 8, 2012 at 5:31 pm

    • Thank you, Allen…I’ve got two other votes for Mahonia on the yellow flowered shrub, but nothing more on the white flowers and red berried plant. The white flowers are on a tree and do certainly resemble fruit tree blossoms…the red berries are also on a shrub, so I’m not sure about the crabapple idea. I’ll try to remember to ask one of the landscapers this week…. Thank you, again. πŸ™‚

      April 8, 2012 at 8:16 pm

  10. Awesome pics! Really beautiful!

    April 9, 2012 at 8:21 am

    • Thank you, Madhu. πŸ™‚

      April 9, 2012 at 8:32 am

  11. Nice photos! Most of these plants are too exotic for me to know, but I know nr. 3 very well, these trees are everywere around here, it is a birch tree (Betula) and the brown flowers submits pollen that can be a big problem for people with this allergy. But this tree produces some of the best firewood of them all..

    April 9, 2012 at 6:06 pm

    • Thank you, Bente…I had no idea. I’ve seen the pollen/dust from those flowers before…and I’m sure they can cause some problems…but good firewood! That’s wonderful. πŸ™‚

      April 9, 2012 at 8:30 pm

  12. Those flowers look so tasty and frozen and sweet, I could almost eat some. πŸ˜‰

    April 9, 2012 at 11:29 pm

    • I suppose there is something delicious-looking about them, Nancy…hadn’t seen them that way, though. Thank you for the alternative perspective. πŸ™‚

      April 10, 2012 at 6:31 am

      • You are welcome. That is what I do. πŸ˜‰

        April 10, 2012 at 9:55 am

        • Yes, it is, Nancy…and don’t stop. πŸ™‚

          April 10, 2012 at 7:24 pm

  13. These are great, thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

    April 12, 2012 at 8:49 am

    • Thank you, Rasha…and you’re welcome, too. πŸ™‚

      April 12, 2012 at 9:46 am

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

