Enrichment – Second

38 responses

  1. Robert G. LongprΓ©

    Great! Scott πŸ™‚ I always wanted to say that πŸ™‚ You do realise that both images are “pure” and real and authentic. We cannot show something that isn’t there. It makes me think of how colour and even boundaries appear different to different people and different life forms suggesting that what we see is almost a surface illusion of something that exists beneath all the layers of perception and sense and that the whole and authentic object is really not a separate object in itself. Thanks for this space to speak even if the speaking is more babble than anything else. πŸ™‚

    May 7, 2012 at 7:55 am

    • Before I began editing/manipulating the photos, Robert, I wondered if it was proper to make them so different. I wondered if I wasn’t cheating, in that I couldn’t find a way or didn’t have the ability to capture what I imagined that I saw when looking upon an object or collective scenery…but then after finding that I was able to “create” these images that were so beautiful (in my mind), I decided that I have done nothing less than providing another perception of reality, demonstrating the way I see things, or would like to see them, much like a painter creates and shares her/his rendering of what was seen. Thank you for your validation, for your philosophical/spiritual insight. And you are most welcome, Robert…feel free to come here and babble anytime. πŸ™‚

      May 7, 2012 at 1:25 pm

  2. MOST OF TIME, The second could be better i think now πŸ™‚

    May 7, 2012 at 8:02 am

    • I’m glad you like it, Ordered Chaos, thank you. πŸ™‚

      May 7, 2012 at 1:25 pm

  3. Nice treatment. Suits the setting very well . . . adding a unicorn would have been a nice touch.

    May 7, 2012 at 8:56 am

    • Thank you, Emilio…and I think you’re right…a unicorn would have fit perfectly. πŸ™‚

      May 7, 2012 at 1:27 pm

  4. Quite different in character and mood. This one’s much more springlike and fresh.

    May 7, 2012 at 8:58 am

    • There was more green in this one, Gary…easier to make it brighter than the previous one that had more wood and shadow in it. Thank you. πŸ™‚

      May 7, 2012 at 1:28 pm

  5. Is this the same bridge? It doesn’t looked arched like the other one-is it a trick of the eye or are there two bridges?

    May 7, 2012 at 9:02 am

    • Yes, this is the same bridge, Allen…just taken from a different angle, downstream a bit and with only the right side of the bridge in the frame.

      May 7, 2012 at 1:30 pm

      • Amazing what a change of perspective can do!

        May 7, 2012 at 6:16 pm

        • It is, Allen…a simple move of 20-30 feet up or down the stream-bank can change a lot. πŸ™‚

          May 7, 2012 at 10:10 pm

  6. You’ve done another really nice job on the processing here Scott. I really like this image.

    May 7, 2012 at 9:22 am

    • Thank you, Chillbrook…I’m glad you like it. πŸ™‚

      May 7, 2012 at 1:31 pm

  7. Beautiful editing

    May 7, 2012 at 9:27 am

    • Thank you, Mary Lou. πŸ™‚

      May 7, 2012 at 1:31 pm

  8. Hey Scott, love these…wondering if this is 2 different days – or one is saturated more with photo editing? Regardless, they are both stunning. I think I love the top one best!! πŸ™‚ Sending good thoughts your way today! RL

    May 7, 2012 at 9:33 am

    • Hello Robyn – thank you for your nice words…the second photo is simply an editing/manipulation of the first one. And the photos are from the same shoot as the earlier “Enrichment” post…just a different angle, or point of view. Thank you for your good thoughts, too…those are always welcome. πŸ™‚

      May 7, 2012 at 1:38 pm

  9. I liked what you did. The result almost looks like a watercolor and it adds an certain “sereneness” to the image.

    May 7, 2012 at 10:01 am

    • Thank you, Nancy…I’m glad you like it…was trying to find the words for the effect that the editing brought out, and I think you named it, a certain sereneness…very nice, thank you. πŸ™‚

      May 7, 2012 at 1:39 pm

  10. Love the second one! What a big difference between the two.

    May 7, 2012 at 12:20 pm

    • Thank you, Yvonne. πŸ™‚

      May 7, 2012 at 1:39 pm

  11. I think I prefer the the un-enriched one πŸ™‚

    May 7, 2012 at 12:49 pm

    • Thank you, Madhu…my wife agrees with you…said the effect was pretty, but she prefers the more natural image. πŸ™‚

      May 7, 2012 at 1:41 pm

  12. It is always lots of fun to experiment with images, working out what you can do and how to do it. I’ve been doing it a lot, and have found some things that I love doing, and sometimes I know it goes over the top, but sometimes you have to do that, just because, because you want to. I like the treatment of the bridge, I think you have done that really well, I’m not so keen on the bright green grass, but hey that could just be me. I think it works much better in the second image, than in the first. πŸ™‚

    May 7, 2012 at 3:59 pm

    • Yes, it is fun to experiment with the images, Leanne…and sometimes you/we do have to do something just because we want to…for us.

      Thank you for the nice words about the pictures. The green was brighter in the second shot because it was enhanced, like the rest of it…whatever green there is in the first photo was there as I took it. While the second one looks more artificial, I rather like how “pretty” it is…almost looks like a painting. Anyway…thank you again for your nice words and for sharing your thoughts here. I look forward to your visits. πŸ™‚

      May 7, 2012 at 10:08 pm

  13. Hi, Scott. I enjoyed the opportunity to compare the two images. It’s a beautifully composed shot.

    May 7, 2012 at 7:40 pm

    • Hello, Melanie – as much as I altered the original image, I felt that I should include the original for comparison. I’m glad you enjoyed it…thank you. πŸ™‚

      May 7, 2012 at 10:12 pm

  14. Great images, the colors are just amazing. The 2nd one reminds me of ” Fall”…

    May 7, 2012 at 9:27 pm

    • Thank you, Lazaro…the second one does have a bit of the Fall hues, doesn’t it?

      May 7, 2012 at 10:14 pm

  15. Whenever I read your blog it is interesting and varied. If anyone deserves the Versatile Blogger Award it is you! So I have nominated you in my blog! Don’t stop! http://marionretires.wordpress.com/

    May 8, 2012 at 3:13 am

    • Thank you, so much, Marion…how very kind of you! Such nice words. πŸ™‚

      May 8, 2012 at 9:44 pm

  16. The enriched version is perfect for Autumn! Great photos.

    May 8, 2012 at 7:23 pm

    • Thank you, Fergiemoto. πŸ™‚

      May 8, 2012 at 9:42 pm

  17. Brilliant work on the editing, Scott! Both are excellent photos, but I really enjoy the second one – I think for the reason Lazaro previously mentioned, the fall tones are beautiful!

    May 10, 2012 at 12:38 am

    • Thank you, Robert…very nice words. πŸ™‚

      I rather enjoy the way they turned-out, too…very happy. It hadn’t occurred to me when processing the second one that I was actually changing the seasons on the photo…from spring to fall, but you (and Lazaro) are correct, it does look very fall-like. Thank you again for your feedback; I do appreciate it. πŸ™‚

      May 10, 2012 at 8:06 am

  18. Hi Scott, hopefully it won’t be too long before the silly aversion that far too many people have to image manipulation is laid to rest. Creativity is a vital and renewing aspect of photography. What better way to show photography’s evolution than to show with honesty the before and after images. Great stuff, regards, John.

    May 15, 2012 at 6:34 am

    • Hello again, John…I was one of those with the silly aversion to photo manipulation…but came to the realization that it is art, just like a painter’s interpretation of a scene, person, etc. Thank you for your validation…and your nice words about the photos. πŸ™‚

      May 15, 2012 at 10:09 am

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

