Missing

40 responses

  1. Reblogged this on The Legion of Door Whores and commented:

    Here’s another one for Mike and the Legion…good thoughts for you all…enjoy. πŸ™‚

    May 10, 2012 at 7:18 am

  2. Are you missing? Or is it the door? πŸ™‚

    May 10, 2012 at 7:25 am

    • It’s the door that’s missing…I’m right here. πŸ™‚

      May 10, 2012 at 8:04 am

  3. Nut Balls

    That is a really cool picture! A doorway into the side of the mountain πŸ™‚

    May 10, 2012 at 8:33 am

    • Just like that, Nate…thank you. πŸ™‚

      May 10, 2012 at 8:38 am

  4. A dark fortress–now that’s a tale.

    May 10, 2012 at 8:39 am

    • Yes, it is, CJ…I should have thought of that before posting the picture. Thank you. πŸ™‚

      May 10, 2012 at 8:34 pm

  5. Very cool shot. Can tell a story for sure:)

    May 10, 2012 at 8:48 am

    • Thank you, Robyn…I’m sure there’s at least one story here. πŸ™‚

      May 10, 2012 at 8:35 pm

  6. Smashing Photo Scott. Is it the entrance to an old mine or some kind of shelter?

    May 10, 2012 at 9:10 am

    • Thank you, Chillbrook…and I really don’t know what it is. With the door missing, I was able to look inside and found that there was nothing here but leaves and forest clutter…no other doors, nothing on the floor, no light fixtures or plumbing…so I would guess that it’s an old storage locker that may have been used for tools or something when the quarry-men were working the rocks from up in the canyon to take into town for the temple. There used to be a small-gauge rail track leading up the canyon to help move the stone…maybe it’s related to that….

      May 10, 2012 at 8:39 pm

  7. David Patterson

    Very moody… like the vignette effect on this one, and how dark the doorway is.

    May 10, 2012 at 9:22 am

    • Thank you, David…a bit of mystery in there, too, I think…with the doorway welcoming and daunting at the same time.

      May 10, 2012 at 8:44 pm

  8. I would live there later this year….. before Dec 21.

    May 10, 2012 at 9:51 am

    • But not after December 21, Mike…a place of refuge maybe? πŸ™‚

      May 10, 2012 at 8:45 pm

      • Don’t know about the after Scott. I’m one of the people who are a little freaked out about the whole Mayan thing.

        May 10, 2012 at 9:03 pm

        • Ok, Mike…in the off chance that it doesn’t happen, where should I come looking for you on the 22nd then? πŸ™‚

          May 10, 2012 at 9:11 pm

          • No, I’m not saying it IS going to happen, just that I’m freaked out by the possibility. And that doesn’t necessarily mean a life ending event, but perhaps a life altering event.
            On Dec 22nd I will be exhaling and you may find me in my home celebrating my wife’s recent retirement πŸ™‚

            May 10, 2012 at 9:19 pm

          • I believe I understand what you’re saying, Mike…just freaked-out, not actually thinking it IS going to happen…. I will look forward to hearing how your wife’s retirement celebration went…. πŸ™‚

            May 10, 2012 at 9:48 pm

  9. Haunting! I love it!

    May 10, 2012 at 10:28 am

    • Thank you, Questioning Soul…haunting indeed! I’m glad you like it. πŸ™‚

      May 10, 2012 at 8:46 pm

  10. If that was anywhere near a cemetery, it’s real strange that the door is gone. Oddly enough, I recently found something similar but smaller with a locked door in the middle of nowhere.

    May 10, 2012 at 12:33 pm

    • It’s not too close to any cemeteries that I’m aware of, Allen…just a stream, an old quarry, and a water catchment. How strange that you found something similar recently…I was thinking this might be an old storage vault for quarrying tools, maybe for farming implements in your situation? Don’t know….

      May 10, 2012 at 8:50 pm

      • I thought the one I found might be a root cellar, but since it isn’t near any houses, I really don’t know. It is strange though-especially since it’s locked. You can see it on a blog post I did in January called “I wonder.” That was one of the things I wondered about!

        May 11, 2012 at 3:33 am

        • That’s kind of crazy, Allen. I shall go back into your posts and check it out…. πŸ™‚

          May 11, 2012 at 7:07 am

  11. I wonder who lived in there!

    May 10, 2012 at 1:35 pm

    • I don’t know who might have lived there, Finn…it’s only about two meters square, or slightly larger…would have been cozy! πŸ™‚

      May 10, 2012 at 8:53 pm

  12. So–what is the story? Did you just come across this on a random hike, or do you know something about its history? Are you planning a follow-up? Am I asking too many questions? If so, sorry. It’s a really intruguing photo, and I’m just wondering what else you might know about its background. OK, two more questions: Are you going back? What’s inside?

    May 10, 2012 at 8:41 pm

    • Well, Gary…I have been up and down the trail probably a dozen times since I’ve been here and only this once got off of the main trail at this point, took a little jaunt down another pathway that led to something like a staging area for work…and there it was. The room was empty, nothing inside but leaves and forest clutter. I mentioned to someone else that I could imagine it belonging, or having been used by the quarry-men when they were processing the boulders from the canyon to be used to make the temple downtown. I have read that there was a small gauge rail system going up and down the canyon, and have even found pieces of the rail in the stream and alongside various parts of the trail…so maybe it was related to that work, as well. And about researching this particular find, no, I haven’t done it. What I have researched, though, is the old church (?) ruins at the end of the trail about 2.5 miles further up the canyon. I did write a little bit of a story on that one…check my archives for December 14, 2011. Beautiful ruins. During my search for info about these ruins, I found old “Church” documents that addressed the rail system, but nothing specifically about the ruins. I may have to go investigating again…. Thank you for your questions. And yes, I’ll be going back. πŸ™‚

      May 10, 2012 at 9:08 pm

      • Thank you for such a detialed answer! I remember your post about the old church relic, fondly, and am looking forward to the results of your return to this cryptic place.

        May 11, 2012 at 10:13 pm

        • You’re very welcome, Gary. I’m glad you enjoyed the post about the ruins in Little Cottonwood Canyon. Your questions piqued my further interest and I spent another hour or so on-line afterward researching the area again. The mysterious vault (?) with its missing door is located near the edge of a section of private property called “The Wasatch Resort,” which is essentially a few dozen cabins and private residences located about a mile or so up the canyon. From all indications, this used to be the “town” of Wasatch back in the late 1890s to early 1900s and was a junction between the narrow-gauge railway that went up into the canyon and the regular rail line that went down into Sandy and other parts of the Salt Lake Valley. It was initally used for hauling ore from the mines up in Alta and later became used to transport more human cargo as the place became a favored picnicking and winter-sport location. It would close during the winter months of deeper snow and the reopenings in the spring were usually heralded in the local papers. I still didn’t locate anything further on the old ruins further up in the canyon…but it was fun looking back in time. πŸ™‚

          May 12, 2012 at 7:01 am

          • How very interesting, and a nice bit of research, too. Now I’m really looking forward to seeing more of these places, now that their secrets and history are starting to come out. Thanks for some great work!

            May 12, 2012 at 10:55 pm

          • It is rather interesting, Gary…and I hope to find more info to share. You’re welcome. πŸ™‚

            May 13, 2012 at 7:38 pm

  13. One missing toy, I find it
    πŸ™‚

    May 10, 2012 at 10:43 pm

    • That’s right, Ordered Chaos! πŸ™‚

      May 11, 2012 at 7:06 am

  14. Love it! I have a thing for black and white photos and just love this one. But I don’t want to go through the door, seems a little bit creepy to me πŸ˜‰

    May 11, 2012 at 11:57 am

    • Thank you, Yvonne…it really wasn’t that scary, looking inside…didn’t go anywhere, not even down. πŸ™‚

      May 11, 2012 at 4:58 pm

  15. A place of mystery. wonderful processing!

    May 16, 2012 at 7:08 am

    • Thank you, Karen. πŸ™‚

      May 16, 2012 at 8:08 am

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

