Springtime on Little Cottonwood Canyon Stream

The trail alongside the stream that runs much of the length of Little Cottonwood Canyon has become a favorite hiking destination of mine since I moved to the Salt Lake City area almost two years ago.  While there are things about the trail that I find to be less than wonderful (being able to hear the vehicle traffic that also goes up into the canyon, being a wide enough trail that allows for mountain-bikers to come flying around a corner with but a second’s notice, and being close enough to that same roadway and the nearby city so that idiots with cans of spray-paint can come out into the beautiful wild and tag the cement water-courses and picnic pavilion), there are more than enough awe-inspiring views and soul-fulfilling experiences to be had, that those detractors quickly fade into the background and become non-issues.  It is literally a 15 minute drive from my house to the trail-head that leads to this natural wonder…and I simply cannot get there often enough.

40 responses

  1. victoriaaphotography

    Great photos, Scott
    How lucky you are to live so close to such a beautiful landscape (& photography subjects).

    May 15, 2012 at 7:12 am

    • Thank you, Victoria…and I am lucky indeed. 🙂

      May 15, 2012 at 10:10 am

  2. Nut Balls

    Such wonderment at our doorstep. How incredible it is to live here 🙂

    May 15, 2012 at 7:58 am

    • It is incredible, Nathan…and so wonderful. Thank you. 🙂

      May 15, 2012 at 10:10 am

  3. How very beautiful, thank you for sharing!

    May 15, 2012 at 8:02 am

    • Thank you, Tin Man…and you are so welcome. 🙂

      May 15, 2012 at 10:11 am

  4. Gorgeous photos

    May 15, 2012 at 8:04 am

    • Thank you, Mary Lou. 🙂

      May 15, 2012 at 10:11 am

  5. There is nothing like the sound of a rocky stream.

    May 15, 2012 at 8:52 am

    • I agree, CJ…I could sit there for hours. 🙂

      May 15, 2012 at 10:11 am

  6. This looks like a great place to decompress from the daily stresses and recharge the soul. Beautiful photos!

    May 15, 2012 at 9:18 am

    • It’s always hard to leave, Lori…hard to even continue the hike sometimes. Thank you. 🙂

      May 15, 2012 at 10:12 am

  7. Lovely pictures Scott. Your photos make me want to visit Little Cottonwood Canyon one day. 🙂

    May 15, 2012 at 9:39 am

    • Thank you, Chillbrook…let me know when your flight gets in. 🙂

      May 15, 2012 at 10:12 am

      • Lovely reminder of how tranquil those mountain trails and streams can be, especially this time of year when the streams swell from snow melt. Hope you’re getting lots of chances to get out there and soak up all that serenity.

        May 15, 2012 at 1:39 pm

        • I’ve missed a couple weekends recently, Gunta, with moving my wife’s office and our happy mother’s day yesterday, but every other chance I’ve had to be there on my weekends has been taken advantage of…with its serenity and essence of being removed from the trials and “everyday-ness” of life. Thank you, friend. 🙂

          May 15, 2012 at 8:36 pm

  8. Great location, great photographs.

    May 15, 2012 at 11:50 am

    • Thank you, Adrian. 🙂

      May 15, 2012 at 8:31 pm

  9. What a beautiful spot. I have a similar stream that I visit often. It’s smaller and much calmer and many species of wildflowers grow along its banks.

    May 15, 2012 at 12:22 pm

    • I’m glad you like it, Allen…sounds like your stream is beautiful, too…with all the wildflowers. I can imagine it so. 🙂

      May 15, 2012 at 8:33 pm

  10. It is great that you managed to find the beauty, I think many people don’t. I love that last image, the bridge at the end really makes the image for me.

    May 15, 2012 at 5:00 pm

    • I cherish my time out there, Leanne…absolutely love being out on the forested trails in the mountains and canyons…and while I don’t want everyone out there when I’m there, I think more people should get out and enjoy it too. I’m glad you liked the photos…thank you. 🙂

      May 15, 2012 at 8:40 pm

  11. You may have shared this info in the past but may I ask where did you move from? Were your vistas as magnificent or did you still find beauty in simple pleasures? I surmise no matter where you are planted you discover the beauty and uniqueness in/of life!

    May 15, 2012 at 5:37 pm

    • I moved from the metropolitan desert that is Phoenix, Arizona, Bonnie…and I’m almost sad to say that the vistas were not so magnificent. Yes, the desert is beautiful in its times…but none of it compares to what I find here in my mountains and canyons. We were miles and hours from such similar scenery…so we made an oasis of our yard and home. We had a nice culdesac lot with a huge backyard…lagoon type play-pool with a rock waterfall, surrounded by white, red, purple, pink, and fire-orange bougainvillea, fan palms, queen palms, a date palm, and Mexican primrose flowers spilling from the planters next to the pool and under the cottonwood tree…. And it wasn’t until my last spring there that I found golden poppies growing alongside the canal bank where I used to ride my bike…capturing those images was the beginning of my love for photographing the natural beauty around me…and five months later I was here in Salt Lake City. My years in Arizona were more occupied with the drama of humanity stacked upon itself in our desert land. This move to the mountains brought me back to the woods and hills and mountains of my life as a child in Germany and my early adulthood living in the shadow of the Rocky Mountains just north of Colorado Springs…. So kind of yes, and kind of no, Bonnie…but I’m glad you enjoy the beauty that I have found and am sharing in this part of my life. 🙂

      May 15, 2012 at 8:53 pm

  12. love it!

    May 15, 2012 at 6:03 pm

    • Me, too, Marviilous…thank you. 🙂

      May 15, 2012 at 8:55 pm

  13. Looks like heaven! The first shot is outrageous Scott!

    May 15, 2012 at 6:36 pm

    • Oh…I so agree with you, Robyn…it is my heaven…. Thank you for your nice words. 🙂

      May 15, 2012 at 8:56 pm

      • most welcome – does look divine there:)

        May 15, 2012 at 10:18 pm

        • It sure does, Robyn. 🙂

          May 16, 2012 at 6:37 am

  14. That sure is a beautiful setting!

    May 15, 2012 at 11:11 pm

    • I so agree, Montucky…thank you. 🙂

      May 16, 2012 at 6:37 am

  15. I would make a “pitstop” every time i would be coming back home from work, just for re-fueling!

    May 16, 2012 at 1:07 am

    • I would love to do that, too, NIkos…but I would end-up spending way too much time out there…family would start to wonder if I still love them. 🙂

      May 16, 2012 at 6:39 am

  16. Gorgeous place, I can feel just how icy that water is!

    May 16, 2012 at 7:05 am

    • Thank you, Karen…and it is quite chilly. 🙂

      May 16, 2012 at 8:07 am

  17. This certainly looks soul fulfilling!

    May 16, 2012 at 9:11 am

    • Indeed, Madhu…SO soul-fulfilling!! Thank you. 🙂

      May 16, 2012 at 7:30 pm

  18. Well Scott, you’ve done it again! Absolutely amazingly and captivating pictures! The sunset alone is absolutely astounding. So what am I doing in Arizona in 100+ degree weather when I could be there enjoying the beauty of spring?

    May 16, 2012 at 6:41 pm

    • Thank you, steven…and how nice to see you here again. I’ve missed you. 🙂

      I have wondered the same about why you’re still down there in your desert oven when you could be up here…surrounded by all of this beauty. Maybe you’ll get here yet.

      May 16, 2012 at 7:38 pm

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

