Rusted

23 responses

  1. Nut Balls

    It would be so neat to see what is inside there. How very cool πŸ™‚

    May 30, 2012 at 8:21 am

    • It’s right next to the water catchment facility on Little Cottonwood Stream…a likely remnant of mining days in the forgotten town of Wasatch…. Thank you, Nate.

      May 30, 2012 at 8:30 am

  2. Nice pictures Scott. Great to get the same view in different seasons. πŸ™‚

    May 30, 2012 at 9:41 am

    • Thank you, Chillbrook…the photos might be from two months apart, if that. πŸ™‚

      May 30, 2012 at 10:29 am

  3. Quite a gap at the top of that door. I hope whatever is in there can stand getting wet-and maybe chewed on by a rodent or two. The stone wall looks like granite, which we have a lot of here in the granite state.

    May 30, 2012 at 10:57 am

    • Yes, it is quite a gap up there, Allen…I believe this might be left-over from when they ran the rail-line through this little “town” back in the very early 1900s…. It’s located in Little Cottonwood Canyon, an area between granite mountains, whose boulders were mined to build the Mormon temple in downtown SLC, as well other buildings of the time.

      May 30, 2012 at 11:16 am

      • That’s interesting. I’m not sure why, but I didn’t think you’d have granite in Utah. (Maybe I subconsciously think we have it all here in NH!)

        May 30, 2012 at 5:31 pm

  4. Totally love the new header!!! Looks like it’s been finished. Good job of getting it all stitched together. I’m awe-struck.

    May 30, 2012 at 1:23 pm

    • I don’t know how I missed this a week ago…. The headers appear at random…were you referring to the western mural? It is rather amazing all together, isn’t it? And about the stitching…it was from the panorama setting on the camera…it did it by itself…mostly, I suppose. I’m glad you’re awe-struck. πŸ™‚ Thank you, Gunta.

      June 5, 2012 at 6:38 pm

      • Yes, the header happened to come up with the western mural when I clicked on this post. Good job of stitching. I have yet to try out something like that. It seems a wee bit daunting…. then again, given the right motivation (like your mural), who knows?

        June 5, 2012 at 7:14 pm

        • I didn’t actually do any stitching…it’s a panorama setting on my camera…just take a picture, slightly turn until a couple of buttons line-up on the screen, press the button again…and slightly turn again to match them up again and press the button again. I guess it’s cheating, but it’s a feature on my little point-and-shoot camera. πŸ™‚

          June 5, 2012 at 7:31 pm

          • No, I don’t consider it cheating. I think my p&s had the same feature, but I never managed to check it out or figure out how to use it, so there’s a bit more involved than you’re willing to admit to. Bottom line: I’m glad you did and glad we got to see it! So there!

            June 5, 2012 at 7:49 pm

          • Hmm…ok, Gunta. I’m glad you like it, whatever minimal magic it took to get it there. πŸ™‚

            June 5, 2012 at 8:03 pm

  5. Great photos Scott, you should post them on the LDW

    May 30, 2012 at 2:54 pm

    • Thank you, Adrian…will be getting there with them…was in a bit of a rush when I posted them. πŸ™‚

      May 30, 2012 at 4:11 pm

  6. What a great door, where does it go? It seems to go underground?
    I saw the post above and have to ask, what is LDW?

    May 30, 2012 at 4:47 pm

  7. Nice to see this in the two seasons.

    May 30, 2012 at 7:27 pm

    • It is remarkable the changes that can occur in six weeks, Lois…I had replied to another comment earlier about the photographs being made a couple of months apart, but it was actually less than that…the first one was from April 15 and the second one was from May 28…talk about “spring.” πŸ™‚

      May 30, 2012 at 8:28 pm

  8. Reblogged this on The Legion of Door Whores and commented:

    A difference of only six weeks…Spring has sprung!

    May 30, 2012 at 10:32 pm

  9. It looks a little more inviting but I don’t think I’d like to meet up with the cobwebs and creepy crawlies that are SURE to linger behind this door.

    June 1, 2012 at 10:16 am

    • I’m sure it would be a lot of fun, Lynne. πŸ™‚

      June 1, 2012 at 10:36 am

      • hmmmm, not so much if you don’t like cobwebs in the face and all manner of creepy and slithery ‘things’ … but you go for it seekraz! πŸ™‚ I’ll admire it from the outside.

        June 1, 2012 at 10:40 am

        • Ok, Lynne. πŸ™‚

          June 1, 2012 at 11:25 am

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

