Trail-side Tree-house

A couple of weeks ago, I was out hiking the Desolation Trail in Millcreek Canyon, just east of Salt Lake City, Utah, USA.  I wasn’t too far up the trail, either in time or distance, when right after I turned for a switchback, I noticed a shiny, golden-beaded necklace type thing hanging from one of the smaller trees just off the trail.

I think the only thing that would have been more surprising is if the door had suddenly opened and someone stepped out to say “hello.”

42 responses

  1. How surprising to come across this on a mountain trail.
    Someone’s got a good sense of humour.
    Thanks for sharing Scott.

    June 6, 2012 at 6:45 am

    • It was quite a surprise and I certainly enjoyed their sense of humor…you’re most welcome, Victoria. 🙂

      June 6, 2012 at 6:48 am

  2. What a wonderful surprise! I love that someone did this to inspire others. A collector definitely resides in that tree. Probably a magpie.

    June 6, 2012 at 6:45 am

    • A wonderful surprise, indeed, Unsouthernbelle…and those things are either from a collector or are tokens of people’s passing…so neat. Thank you for visiting and for letting me know you were here. 🙂

      June 6, 2012 at 6:51 am

  3. That is a nice sight to come upon while out hiking. Did you see a bottle with a sign that said “DRINK ME”?

    It looks like the door required some work to fit in there. Just a suggestion, but it seems like this would be worth a visit at least once for each season.

    Finally, did you leave a token? If not, may I suggest multicolored marbles for your next visit there?

    June 6, 2012 at 7:28 am

    • No, Emilio, there were no little bottles of magic potion that would have aided in my access to the house…and it does look like it required a bit of work to get the door in there so nicely. I like your idea of visiting during the various seasons too. I’m sure it will be pretty with Fall leaves and snow around it. I didn’t have any tokens to leave, just some pieces of Jolly Rancher candy, and given the consideration of weather and bugs, didn’t think I should leave any…but I do like your idea of multicolored marbles. Maybe I can get out there again soon. The hike was cut a bit short, as I didn’t feel like slogging through the snow-banks further up the trail…shouldn’t have that problem now, though.

      June 6, 2012 at 8:15 am

  4. Wow!

    June 6, 2012 at 7:33 am

    • That’s what I thought, Genie. 🙂

      June 6, 2012 at 8:16 am

  5. Nut Balls

    How cool is that!?! 🙂

    June 6, 2012 at 8:12 am

  6. wow. this is interesting!

    June 6, 2012 at 8:14 am

    • Thank you, Lonely Travelog…and thank you for visiting and letting me know you were here. 🙂

      June 6, 2012 at 8:20 am

  7. The construction or purchase of that little purple door, its trip to the trees, its installation, all of that I intrigues me. The construction of magic.

    June 6, 2012 at 8:39 am

    • It is rather intriguing…and I like your comment, CJ…”The construction of magic.” Very much so…thank you.

      June 6, 2012 at 9:36 am

  8. That’s quite an imagination and definitely a WOW reaction!!! just love what they did…

    June 6, 2012 at 9:21 am

    • Yes, quite an imagination, Lazaro…thank you. 🙂

      June 6, 2012 at 9:37 am

  9. Excellent. I’d love to meet the person that did that. Wonderfully eccentric! Glad you posted Scott. 🙂

    June 6, 2012 at 9:34 am

    • I’m glad you like it, Chillbrook…and it would be interesting to meet the person or people who put it all together. And yes, wonderfully eccentric. 🙂

      June 6, 2012 at 9:38 am

  10. I’ve seen some mighty strange things in the woods, but this has to take the cake! It looks like something out of a Beatrix Potter book.

    June 6, 2012 at 1:05 pm

    • It does look like Beatrix Potter, Allen…very much so. Thank you. 🙂

      June 6, 2012 at 7:07 pm

  11. Looks more like a Hobbit dwelling than a rabbit hole. Another door for your collection! I think I like this one best.

    June 6, 2012 at 1:08 pm

    • I think you’re right, Gunta, it is more Hobbit-ish than Alice-ish…and I thought about the door collection, too. I’m glad you like it. 🙂

      June 6, 2012 at 7:08 pm

  12. What would have been amazing is if the door suddenly opened and someone came flying out from the slide that goes all the way to Moonfaces place at the top of the tree. It reminds me of the book the Folk of the Faraway Tree. How wonderful that someone went to all that trouble.

    June 6, 2012 at 2:46 pm

    • I’m not familiar with the book, Leanne, but that would have been amazing…and yes, it is truly wonderful that someone went through all that trouble to make a nice little tree house. 🙂

      June 6, 2012 at 7:09 pm

  13. What great whimsy! I wonder who was clever enough to create that. Well captured.

    June 6, 2012 at 5:48 pm

    • Great whimsy, indeed, Mike…and they were very clever…thank you. 🙂

      June 6, 2012 at 7:10 pm

  14. Interesting find. I sense that there is an interesting story there!

    June 6, 2012 at 11:04 pm

    • I’m sure there is an interesting story, Montucky…might have to make one up if I can’t find it. 🙂

      June 6, 2012 at 11:09 pm

  15. It’s a magical fairy/Hobbit house!

    June 7, 2012 at 3:24 am

  16. What a great idea to make something like that in the forest. Maybe it’s a place where some Borrowers live temporarily while they’re in between houses? 😉

    June 7, 2012 at 3:51 am

    • You might be right, Cardinal…thank you. 🙂

      June 7, 2012 at 6:44 am

  17. Reblogged this on The Legion of Door Whores and commented:

    It’s still a door…right? 🙂

    June 7, 2012 at 7:17 am

  18. Love the last shot, Scott. And how much fun! Maybe me and the kids will have to start making rock cabins on our hikes 🙂 I’m inspired!

    June 7, 2012 at 12:45 pm

    • It does look like fun, Erica…make sure you take some photos to share with the rest of us. 😉

      June 7, 2012 at 12:51 pm

  19. I absolutely love this. Now I’m inspired… 😀 My parents live deep in the woods in Maine, and there are lots of trails around. I’m thinking my little one and I can come up with something fun for our visit this summer. 😉

    June 7, 2012 at 7:21 pm

    • I thought it was pretty cool, too, Melanie…and that does sound like a bit of fun….I can’t wait to see the photos…. 🙂

      June 7, 2012 at 8:31 pm

  20. What a great find! I love this little munchkin door!

    June 7, 2012 at 8:19 pm

  21. Oh a Hobbit’s house… how wonderful 🙂

    June 8, 2012 at 1:25 am

    • Wonderful, indeed, Helen…thank you. 🙂

      June 8, 2012 at 6:42 am

  22. How absolutely delightful to have happened onto this little Hobbit House! 🙂 It sent me chuckling on with my morning!

    June 26, 2013 at 8:49 am

  23. And how delightful for me, George, that you stumbled into my archives and landed here. I’m very happy that you had a nice chuckle this morning. 🙂

    June 27, 2013 at 7:41 pm

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

