Mountains and Clouds

25 responses

  1. I used to paint scenes like this that existed only in my imagination but were still beautiful. It’s nice to occasionally see the real thing, which is always much more beautiful than anything I ever imagined.

    June 18, 2012 at 6:52 am

    • I think it’s incredible that you could imagine them so, Allen…what a beautiful gift to have. It takes quite a hike to get to this view, but the trailhead is just down the road a bit…feel so fortunate to be so close. I’m glad you enjoyed the shot…. πŸ™‚

      June 18, 2012 at 6:57 am

      • Not really incredible. I think it was possibly pictures I had seen in the past coming to mind when I picked up a brush and stared at a blank canvas. I can also remember wishing that our “old, worn down mountains” looked more like the tall, sharp peaks I saw in westerns.

        June 18, 2012 at 9:34 am

  2. Wow! Beautiful!

    June 18, 2012 at 8:52 am

    • Thank you, Yvonne. πŸ™‚

      June 18, 2012 at 9:12 am

  3. Oh beautiful ..these magestic structures…intimidating at times but mostly soothing

    June 18, 2012 at 9:14 am

    • I agree with you, Soma…they do have an intimidating aspect to them at times…awe-inspiring…but yes, mostly soothing. Sometimes I think I could stay out there forever. πŸ™‚

      June 18, 2012 at 9:19 am

  4. A very beautiful picture Scott. I like your choice of black and white. It makes the scene all the more dramatic if that were possible.

    June 18, 2012 at 9:36 am

    • Thank you, Chillbrook…I have a screen-saver on the computer that plays through all of my photos and sometimes shows them in black and white…thought it was incredible. I’m glad you enjoyed it. πŸ™‚

      June 18, 2012 at 12:29 pm

  5. Gorgeous.

    June 18, 2012 at 10:55 am

    • Thank you, Thoughts on Theatre. πŸ™‚

      June 18, 2012 at 12:26 pm

  6. Utterly breathtaking. Definitely a good choice for B&W (and it’s not often I say that!) πŸ˜‰

    June 18, 2012 at 12:36 pm

    • Thank you, Gunta…I was very happy with the way it turned out…and such nice words. πŸ™‚

      June 18, 2012 at 10:43 pm

  7. Great shot – very Ansel Adams.

    June 18, 2012 at 1:26 pm

    • That’s quite a compliment, Adrian…thank you. πŸ™‚

      June 18, 2012 at 10:43 pm

  8. Hi Scott. Excellent. Love the soft clouds…. you were very fortunate with these fluffy ones, contrasted against the crisp detail of those majestic mountains. The lighting on the middle peak and the darker foreground really helps to animate……..perfect. I agree with Adrian ……. watch out Ansel, here comes Scott…..

    June 18, 2012 at 2:17 pm

    • Hello again, Sir John…I wasn’t focusing on the photographic details back then, so I would agree that I was rather fortunate with the beautiful clouds. Thank you for painting the technical picture for what we have here…I do appreciate it, my friend…and your very kind words.

      June 18, 2012 at 10:48 pm

  9. That is a gorgeous shot. Reminds me of an old image.

    June 18, 2012 at 2:27 pm

    • Thank you, Leanne…I suppose there is something a bit timeless about it…could be yesterday or decades ago.

      June 18, 2012 at 10:49 pm

  10. I concur, an Ansel Adams photo remake, thank you for posting!

    June 18, 2012 at 3:40 pm

    • Thank you, Miss Bonnie…and you’re very welcome. πŸ™‚

      June 18, 2012 at 10:50 pm

  11. I really enjoy seeing your photos of (and on) those mountains. I’ve seen them only from a distance and have wondered what they were like up close.

    June 18, 2012 at 10:32 pm

    • I’m glad you liked them, Montucky…this shot was from Mineral Fork Canyon, which branches off of Big Cottonwood Canyon…on the way to Solitude and the back way to Park City, if you’ve ever been up that way. They are incredible and inspiring…I think I had to pull over every five minutes or so the first time I drove up through Big Cottonwood…could not hardly believe what I was seeing all around me…and it still thrills my heart every time I go up there. Thank you. πŸ™‚

      June 18, 2012 at 10:54 pm

  12. Beautiful! I never get tired of these mountains.

    June 20, 2012 at 4:47 pm

    • I never get tired of them either, Fergiemoto…so beautiful.

      June 20, 2012 at 6:54 pm

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

