City Paint 12.1 – 2020 Mural…Perfect Vision

If you remember the next two photographs from the my earlier post “City Paint 3 – 2012…The End?” you might also remember that I had spoken with one of the clerks in the Korner Market who told me that the mural was going to be painted-over in the next few weeks…and it was supposed to be something even more grand in scale and content than the Maya calendar predicting the end of life as we know it.

It has taken a bit longer than the projected few weeks to get the new mural underway…but here it is….

I actually drove past this street scene on my way to meet the artist from the Five on Five western mural and almost did a quick U-turn to go back and see what was happening…but given the level of activity with the BBQ grill and tent and crowd of people milling about, I figured they would still be there when I was finished with the interview.  I had just checked the wall earlier in the week, too, and nothing had been done, so I would imagine that the work was started on Saturday, June 9.

From the conversation that I had with the store clerk back in March, I understood that only one artist would be doing the work, Kier Defstar…but as you can see in this photograph, there were two artists working on it.  If you click on Kier’s name, it will take you to a City Weekly interview from November 2010.  While it’s not current info, it does provide a great background on the artist.

On my way to work two days later, I stopped to see what progress had been made through the rest of the weekend.  I was surprised to see this man working at such an early hour on a Monday morning.  When I asked him if he was Kier, he said that he wasn’t, but that Kier had done the work on the woman’s head and some other pieces, but they had two or three other artists working on it, as well.  I asked the man for his name so I could give him credit for contribution to the mural, but he politely declined to give me even his first name.  He said that he hadn’t painted in 12 years, but Kier had asked him to help.  The man said he’s been published in different books and magazines, but he prefers to avoid the media nowadays.  I assured him that I was just a guy taking pictures and had nothing to do with the formal media and wouldn’t share his name if he didn’t want me to, but he still refused.  He said to give Kier the credit for the mural, as it was mostly his idea and he had painted the most significant part…the woman.

The man said that the theme for this mural is 2020…as in the year…and as in perfect vision.  The contents of the mural are supposed to be exploding or pouring from the woman’s head…signifying her ideas and dreams for the future…he said it is meant to be much more positive than the earlier mural, depicting hope instead of a final destruction.

I took these last three photos yesterday morning, Tuesday, Jun 19.  Quite a bit of progress has been made in a week and a half….

There seemed to be no vantage point available in taking a picture of this entire image without the street-lamp being included….

As with the Five on Five western mural, I will be visiting this 2020 mural every few days and posting updates of its progress until it is completed…so stay tuned.  Also, if you’re interested, you can view all of the posts in the City Paint series by scrolling down to the bottom of this post and clicking on the Category button for Street Art – Graffiti.

And, as always, thank you for visiting.  🙂

41 responses

  1. The last one is my favorite!! Great captures!

    June 20, 2012 at 9:17 am

    • Thank you, Lazaro. 🙂

      June 20, 2012 at 7:43 pm

  2. I like the old mural better . . . in part because it was devoid of those strange letter-like symbols that always look out of place to me.

    Humans advanced to the use of the written word, and so many artists insist on making their works illegible . . . I don’t even bother figuring it out any more.

    The woman with the vision . . . she’s still wearing feathers. I guess 2020 will be one of those odd fashion years.

    A better mural might have been 2025 . . . http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=izQB2-Kmiic

    June 20, 2012 at 9:23 am

    • I agree that the graffiti-like lettering seems out of place, Emilio…doesn’t seem to fit, given the quality of art and the precedent that has been set by the previous mural.

      I think the woman might be a representation of the mixed-blood of our species’ “races,” as there are more and more mixed relationships and children…maybe she is a picture of what humanity will look like in those years to come…and yes, that’s only eight years down the road, but symbolically-speaking, maybe that’s where we’re headed.

      Your suggestion of a mural for 2025 (or 2525 as the video suggests) would be very interesting if it were to follow the thousand-year increments and end in 9595 as the song does…excellent idea…and almost frightening to imagine….

      June 20, 2012 at 7:43 pm

      • Interestingly, I remember when the song came out, and all that seemed fantastical . . . now I wonder if all of it will come to pass even before 2525 . . . IF, as the song reminds us, we survive.

        June 20, 2012 at 7:45 pm

        • Rather disturbing to contemplate….

          June 20, 2012 at 7:49 pm

  3. Fabulous. Thanks for posting Scott. 🙂

    June 20, 2012 at 9:39 am

    • My pleasure, Chillbrook. 🙂

      June 20, 2012 at 6:58 pm

  4. OMG! Such amazing stuff. I love it and to think of it coming out of stodgy ole Utah! 😉 Maybe there is hope for 2020 yet.

    June 20, 2012 at 2:53 pm

    • Yes, it is amazing for “stodgy ole Utah,” Gunta…but, we’re not all Saints here!

      June 20, 2012 at 6:56 pm

      • The article (interview) you linked to pretty much indicated that things have changed some since I vacated the state. Seems like there may be some hope for a touch of enlightenment yet.

        June 20, 2012 at 7:32 pm

        • I’m sure you have much to compare it to, Gunta…while I’m still a relative newby here and taking measure against what I know from where I was before…. But yes, I would agree that there is hope…and “hope is a good thing…maybe the best of things.” (Thank you, Andy Dufresne.) 🙂

          June 20, 2012 at 7:36 pm

  5. The detail and the artwork are AMAZING!

    June 20, 2012 at 4:55 pm

    • Yes, they are, Fergiemoto…maybe you’d like to see it in person the next time you’re in Salt Lake…or if you already are (?)…it’s even more impressive face to face! The Korner Market is at 350 S. State Street.

      June 20, 2012 at 6:52 pm

  6. Amazing piece of art.
    (Interestingly enough, I have a photo of a man’s head painted on a wall in Melbourne that is the same decorative style – I wonder if it is the same artist, as we often get overseas artists visiting and doing wall murals in our city streets).

    June 20, 2012 at 5:58 pm

    • It is amazing, Victoria…and while I do know that the artist, Kier, does travel out of the country, I’m not sure if he’s made it to your side of the world.

      June 20, 2012 at 6:49 pm

  7. Wow. Just amazing. It’s great that you’ve tried to engage the artists as well as admire the work.

    June 20, 2012 at 6:11 pm

    • Wow, indeed, Lois…and the work needs to have their stamp on it somewhere. I’m glad to at least know their names, or the main person’s name, anyway.

      June 20, 2012 at 6:48 pm

  8. I really enjoy looking through your blog, so I nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award

    June 20, 2012 at 10:42 pm

    • Thank you, Feather…I’m glad you’ve enjoyed looking through my blog…thank you for your consideration and thoughtfulness with the shout-out on the Versatile Blogger Award, I do appreciate it. Congratulations to you, too, for your recent award. 🙂

      June 21, 2012 at 6:48 am

  9. Nice pics you put there

    June 21, 2012 at 5:03 am

  10. I love seeing these be created and the interview with the artist was interesting. What I can’t understand is why they seem to go to so much trouble making their text illegible. Are they just speaking to each other and don’t care what the rest of us think?

    June 21, 2012 at 7:58 am

    • I have no clue, Allen…maybe they’re wondering why we can’t see the letters and words, as they seem so obvious to them. i’ll try to remember to ask one of them if I happen to have the opportunity…. 🙂

      June 21, 2012 at 8:09 am

      • Or maybe I’m just getting old and don’t see things the way I once did.

        June 21, 2012 at 8:23 am

        • I think that would include most everyone else, too, as it seems that the rest of us are missing it, too. 🙂

          June 21, 2012 at 8:29 am

  11. Nut Balls

    That is some seriously crazy art work! Very very cool! 🙂

    June 21, 2012 at 8:52 am

    • Yes, it is, Nathan…glad you enjoyed it. 🙂

      June 21, 2012 at 8:57 am

  12. What an extraordinary mural. The figure to the far right that one can see develop through this set is stunning.

    June 21, 2012 at 1:49 pm

    • It is extraordinary, Andy…and the blue woman is truly stunning…wonderful to behold “live,” too.

      June 21, 2012 at 8:27 pm

  13. Wow!

    I hope the guy on the ladder doesn’t get vertigo 😉

    June 21, 2012 at 1:53 pm

    • He is rather high up there, isn’t he, Finn? He seemed to be rather serious about what he was doing, so I would guess that he was fine. 🙂

      June 21, 2012 at 8:28 pm

  14. I love it, that is free air, is the “ordered chaos” 😀

    June 21, 2012 at 6:25 pm

    • I think you’re right…it is “ordered chaos.” How cool is that?! 🙂

      June 21, 2012 at 8:18 pm

  15. I love the little flying saucer beaming up the cow, hehe~ 😛

    June 22, 2012 at 4:14 pm

    • That is kind of cute, Eve…and it’s actually from the previous mural that is slowly being covered with the new one. 🙂

      June 22, 2012 at 4:25 pm

  16. Amazing art. Thanks for sharing.

    June 23, 2012 at 9:39 pm

    • You’re welcome, Ruth…I’m glad you enjoyed it. 🙂

      June 23, 2012 at 10:26 pm

  17. Beautiful photos of graffiti…

    June 25, 2012 at 4:17 pm

    • Thank you, NYParrot…and thank you for visiting, as well, and letting me know you were here. 🙂

      June 25, 2012 at 4:38 pm

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

