Dappled

29 responses

  1. Looks like a perfect place for an ambush . . .

    June 25, 2012 at 8:37 am

    • It sure does, Emilio…hoping something like that doesn’t happen while I’m out hiking…with all the peace and serenity out there, I sometimes forget that it’s really a big, bad world. πŸ™‚

      June 25, 2012 at 8:58 am

      • One way to ensure it does not happen to you, is for you to be the ambusher . . .

        June 25, 2012 at 10:35 am

        • This is true…but then that changes the whole context of being out there…am not much of a hunter and I hear that there are pretty serious consequences for taking-out unsuspecting hikers/nature-lovers…unless I’m ambushing all of the above with my camera…. πŸ™‚

          June 25, 2012 at 11:30 am

          • Some people find that creepy as well . . . Certainly I don’t like to have my picture taken.

            Seriously, when we are out hiking I am not happy encountering other people . . . in part because that was the idea of hiking to begin with; to get away from them.

            Then again, when we hike I carry a big can of bear spray, along with . . . uh . . . other protection.

            June 25, 2012 at 11:38 am

          • I’m with you on wanting to be out there alone…and I do go out there to enjoy the solitude. I haven’t bought the bear spray yet…and don’t have any of that other kind of “protection”…so I’m hoping my camera will help scare them off…seems like any time I have a really nice wildlife photo lined-up, the animal turns away….

            June 25, 2012 at 8:33 pm

  2. Beautiful light captured here, Scott.

    June 25, 2012 at 9:13 am

    • Thank you, Dreams and Zeros.

      June 25, 2012 at 9:31 am

  3. Wow! Just beautiful!

    June 25, 2012 at 9:35 am

    • Thank you, Madhu. πŸ™‚

      June 25, 2012 at 9:52 am

  4. So green, Ithought it was bamboo at first glance. Nice photo Scott. πŸ™‚

    June 25, 2012 at 9:47 am

    • Thank you, Chillbrook…lots of Aspen in there, but it does have that bamboo appearance.

      June 25, 2012 at 9:53 am

  5. That’s exactly where I wish I could be today. Or someplace much like it, because I feel far more at home there than I do here.

    June 25, 2012 at 12:11 pm

    • My sentiments today, too, Allen…nothing at my desk caught my attention like memories or images from hiking yesterday…tall pines and aspens and shoulder-high brush and wind in the tree-tops…nothing like it.

      June 25, 2012 at 8:36 pm

  6. Well captured given the range of light and shadow.

    June 25, 2012 at 1:25 pm

    • Thank you, Adrian…seems to have turned-out well.

      June 25, 2012 at 8:37 pm

  7. Lovely. You’ve certainly captured that feeling of sunlight filtering through the leaves.

    June 25, 2012 at 2:21 pm

    • Thank you, Gunta…I was hoping it would turn-out the way I saw it out there in the woods.

      June 25, 2012 at 8:38 pm

  8. Wow…….. I can hear the wind whispering in the trees, and birds calling; the snap of twigs underfoot……….. and if I was there, the sound of heavy breathing … LOL

    June 25, 2012 at 4:06 pm

    • And the strong odor of animal musk, too, John? It’s sounding scarier with each word! πŸ™‚

      June 25, 2012 at 4:13 pm

      • . . . you never hear them coming . . . until their canines puncture your jugular.

        Dang sparkling vampires!

        June 25, 2012 at 4:15 pm

        • Yeah, they blend in with the dappled light in the trees…. πŸ™‚

          June 25, 2012 at 8:34 pm

  9. David Patterson

    Jeez… who’d want to go hiking again after reading all these comments πŸ™‚

    Nice trail, and that dappled light is indeed beautiful.

    June 25, 2012 at 6:57 pm

    • I suppose it does make it sound a bit daunting, David…. And it is a beautiful trail with the middle-morning light coming through…my favorite time to be out there.

      June 25, 2012 at 8:41 pm

  10. Lovely woodland scene captured – makes me feel cool and refreshed.

    June 27, 2012 at 4:04 am

    • And that’s how it feels out there, Victoria…after a moment’s pause in the hike, that is. πŸ™‚

      Thank you.

      June 27, 2012 at 6:51 am

  11. Does anybody manage the tree growth? It looks as if lots of little trees are in there. Such straight, tall, pencil-like tree growth. Really interesting.

    July 1, 2012 at 7:35 am

    • I don’t know that anybody manages the tree growth here, George…I’ve only been here for two years and I’ve never seen the National Forest guys doing anything out there other than maintaining the trails and clearing the dead-falls out of the stream when they have damaged a bridge. I’m sure they do more, but I’ve not actually witnessed anything else.

      July 1, 2012 at 7:11 pm

  12. 2pwhodgcaswindpols1971

    Reblogged this on rayqbrinsonl.

    September 18, 2012 at 9:54 pm

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

