On Granite

A couple of weeks ago, I finally managed to find the upper falls in Bells Canyon, just south and east of Salt Lake City, Utah, USA.  My last ventures up into this particular part of the canyon had been in December and February, and there was still three and more feet of snow on the ground.  Accumulation of that amount makes it hard to find and follow the trails that are so evident at other times of the year.  The scene in this photograph is from an area above those upper falls…as I continued to explore, looking for the trail that leads to the upper reservoir.  As this was all new territory for me, it was all I could do sometimes to keep my eyes on the trail so that I would be going forward…I could have stood there for tens of minutes or more at each new vista and would have never made it anywhere on the hike…such a beautiful place….

35 responses

  1. Great photo Scott. I especially like the little tree growing on top of the giant stone.

    June 29, 2012 at 7:46 am

  2. Wow Scott…must have been an amazing hike… this is a fantastic shot!! 🙂 RL

    June 29, 2012 at 8:07 am

    • It was truly amazing, Robyn…and thank you. 🙂

      June 29, 2012 at 9:14 pm

      • most welcome Scott!! Can see how it would be ~ so glad you had the experience 🙂

        June 29, 2012 at 9:16 pm

        • Me too…thank you. 🙂

          June 29, 2012 at 9:21 pm

  3. Incredible america

    June 29, 2012 at 8:20 am

    • Yes, it is, CJ…. 🙂

      June 29, 2012 at 9:14 pm

  4. I have to wonder how long that tree has been growing on the cliff edge. I’d guess many years, judging by its size. I’d love to be there if and when it ever falls. What a beautiful spot!

    June 29, 2012 at 8:21 am

    • It does seem to have been there for years already, Allen…and I would guess that it wouldn’t be able to remain there for a whole lot longer, given the nature of its foundation…but who knows. And yes, it is so beautiful. 🙂

      June 29, 2012 at 9:16 pm

  5. It certainly is Scott, a very beautiful place. Thank you for posting these lovely pictures so those of us too far away, can appreciate it too. 🙂

    June 29, 2012 at 9:21 am

    • You are most welcome, Chillbrook…one might say it’s the return of a favor granted by some/one of my UK-dwelling friends. 🙂 It is a pleasure to share….

      June 29, 2012 at 9:18 pm

  6. WOW! What a spectacular place and photograph.

    June 29, 2012 at 11:23 am

    • Thank you, Melanie. 🙂

      June 29, 2012 at 9:18 pm

  7. Ahhh… the best of both worlds; yours and mine. If only you could turn the thermostat down a tad. 😉

    June 29, 2012 at 1:53 pm

    • What a wonderful mix that would be, Gunta…and yes…it’s a bit toasty still, although it was much cooler up where this was taken.

      June 29, 2012 at 9:19 pm

  8. rudy cardenas

    thank you for sharing all of these great pics with the rest of the world!!

    June 29, 2012 at 6:55 pm

    • You are most welcome, Rudy…what a treasure to have you visiting here, old friend…. 🙂

      June 29, 2012 at 9:12 pm

  9. What a beautiful place for a hike. I can only imagine how inspiring the scene might be for a photographer.

    June 30, 2012 at 5:56 am

    • Makes my heart want to explode with joy at being there, Victoria, so I can imagine that it would cause quite a stir for a real photographer. 🙂

      June 30, 2012 at 7:08 am

  10. Scot, who lives in those places? Only the Gods and the blessed people 🙂
    This is so a fascinating capture of a scenic space.
    Thanks for giving us visual treat.

    June 30, 2012 at 6:38 am

    • It’s just down the road and up into the mountains a bit…and yes, we/I do feel so fortunate to live nearby.

      I’m glad you enjoy the pictures, Pattu…and you are very welcome for the treat. 🙂

      June 30, 2012 at 7:10 am

  11. I’m having a “wish I was there” moment. Gorgeous.

    June 30, 2012 at 10:11 am

    • Thank you, Karen…wonderful place. 🙂

      June 30, 2012 at 2:21 pm

  12. You sure moved to a gorgeous place … if a person has to move! I can’t believe these rocks and soft foliage nestled against them. The tones, shades, textures, everything. This is a photographer’s dreamscape … everywhere you look! I like your new theme too.
    Sleek and urban-looking!

    July 1, 2012 at 7:21 am

    • I can’t help but agree with you, George…I did move to a gorgeous place…and it is a photographer’s dreamscape, such natural beauty at every turn. I’m glad you like the theme, too…it’s actually the original one I had and the lighter presentation was an option of it. 🙂

      July 1, 2012 at 7:07 pm

  13. sometimes it’s better not to go that far, and just to enjoy every minute as much as you can. There was a time, when I used to travel with some water colors, and a book in my backpack. If I found a place that was beautiful, I’d look for a perch, and paint a water color. And if I found a place that was very beautiful, I’d find myself a good seat, and start reading in my book… sometimes till dusk. I wanted to enjoy the sounds and the smells, and call it my home for a while…

    July 2, 2012 at 9:01 am

    • I like your thinking on this one, Shimon, enjoying every moment…absorbing the sounds and smells and calling it home for a while…and that is what I’m doing when I’m going and going out there. I’m stopping to catch my breath, to take photographs of flowers and vistas, of bugs in the forest soil, ice crystals growing on rocks and branches, the dinner messes of squirrels, the hair-balls and footprints of mountain lions, and the dung piles of deer and moose…absorbing it all in my rush of moments in the quietness of my life out there. And yes, I do sit for dozens of minutes and sometimes longer, tucked away against a tree-trunk or mass of granite…and soak-up more and more, watching and listening, smelling…absorbing it all into my core. I have a fear, Shimon, that this is temporary, somehow…that this new life of mine up here in the mountains will be taken from me by the commitments of life and family…and I want to experience all of it…maybe I’m being greedy, but I have missed it for decades and don’t want to miss it any more…my heart breaks at the thought of it….

      July 2, 2012 at 8:50 pm

  14. Spectacular view!

    July 4, 2012 at 9:09 am

    • Thank you, Madhu. 🙂

      July 4, 2012 at 3:47 pm

  15. Beautiful!!
    I hope you haven’t been affected by any of the fires. There are too many going on!

    July 4, 2012 at 1:45 pm

    • Thank you, Fergiemoto…and no, not yet…the closest fire so far is the Quail Fire, south of us near Box Elder Canyon…a little bit north of American Fork Canyon…huge billowing clouds of smoke coming over the mountains…quite scary. I hope you’ve been safe from them, as well. 🙂

      July 4, 2012 at 3:51 pm

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

