A Gull for Gunta….

I still think it’s odd to have Sea Gulls flying about…in the middle of the mountain-west…but I guess they enjoy living in proximity to The Great Salt Lake….  They also seem to enjoy hanging-out at the pond in Liberty Park.  My friend Gunta has an affinity for Sea Gulls and frequently shares photographs of them in her blog “Movin’ On.”  If you haven’t yet walked the sandy beaches of Gunta’s Oregon coastline, I heartily recommend a visit…beautiful sea-scapes, sea-lions, seals, and many other Pacific Northwest wonders…including Sea Gulls….

I don’t know how this particular specimen compares, or is related to the gulls that Gunta finds out on her pacific coast, but I think he’s kind of cute…I wonder if she’ll recognize him….

22 responses

  1. He is cute Scott and a fine picture!

    July 12, 2012 at 9:21 am

    • Thank you, Chillbrook. 🙂

      July 12, 2012 at 9:26 am

  2. Expressive profile Scott – very nice shot 🙂

    July 12, 2012 at 10:00 am

  3. I have never seen a Gull so close! 🙂 So white and cute.

    July 12, 2012 at 10:14 am

    • It is an unique experience, for sure. 🙂

      Thank you, Pattu.

      July 12, 2012 at 10:18 am

  4. Very nice…I think Gunta would approve. 🙂

    July 12, 2012 at 10:45 am

    • Thank you, Nancy. 🙂

      July 12, 2012 at 11:52 am

    • That she did! 😉

      July 12, 2012 at 3:51 pm

  5. We have Gulls flying around Birmingham UK, some 100 miles from the sea! No idea why. Perhaps they are lost?

    July 12, 2012 at 1:44 pm

    • I don’t know, Adrian…I’ve heard or read somewhere that sea birds will go inland when they’re looking for something else that their diet needs….don’t know for sure though….

      July 12, 2012 at 1:55 pm

  6. Wow! Thank you for the great close up shot (and all for little ole me)! I’m flattered to say the least. He looks like he could be related to my guys, but hard to tell without the color of the legs. Believe it or not, that’s one of the minute distinctions in identifying gulls. Did I say that’s one fantastic closeup? (and thanks for the plug, too!)

    July 12, 2012 at 2:23 pm

    • Hola, Miss Gunta – you are most welcome for all of it…I’m glad you enjoyed the close-up…and the plug. 🙂

      I think I have another shot of this guy…I was trying to catch him as he was walking away…right before he went poop, fluffed his feathers magnificently, and then took flight!

      July 12, 2012 at 3:27 pm

      • One very helpful feature in identifying all the many various gulls is the color of the legs… usually either pink or yellow. I found several with the red circle around the eye. Thank goodness for close-ups because identifying features are so minute and then they go and change according to season or maturity. I don’t always enjoy the ‘calling cards’ the birds leave on the car and other places, but otherwise they are terrific fun to watch. Your Salt Lake gulls are one reason that true birders have quit calling them ‘sea’-gulls. 😉 I’m still very much enchanted with the close-up, detailed shot you managed.

        July 12, 2012 at 3:49 pm

        • My little one and I have gone to Liberty Park to feed the ducks and gulls and have had quite a bit of fun tossing pieces of bread to them in the air and watching their acrobatics in the attempt to snag the bread. While I’m nothing near a birder, true or otherwise, I have found that it feels odd to refer to them as “Sea” Gulls, as well…rather distant from any sea…. I’m glad you liked the close-up. 🙂

          July 13, 2012 at 10:16 pm

  7. I swear the seagull knows it’s the State bird, protected, and therefore full of privilege and entitlements. 🙂 I grew up in Provo and witnessed seagulls ruling the parking lots. I can’t view a gull flying at or above me without ducking because those Utah birds taught me what happens when you don’t! Your bird is beautiful, though.

    July 12, 2012 at 4:08 pm

    • I have thought the same thing, Dezra…seems rather entitled…like it knows! I’m glad you liked the picture…thank you. 🙂

      July 12, 2012 at 8:59 pm

  8. We have them here that follow the Connecticut river inland from the sea. I didn’t know that the salt lake had anything living in it that they could eat, but it must.

    July 12, 2012 at 4:43 pm

    • I’ve read that the only things the Great Salt Lake has in it that are alive is brine shrimp and some type of plant that blooms and dies and creates an awful stink once a year…or so. 🙂 Maybe that’s enough to keep the gulls here…but doesn’t explain why they’re here to begin with…hundreds of miles inland…must have been one hell of a wind and storm to blow them this far. 😉

      July 12, 2012 at 9:41 pm

  9. Now that’s a CLOSE shot! Very cool!

    July 17, 2012 at 10:23 pm

    • Yes, it was, Fergiemoto…thank you. 🙂

      July 17, 2012 at 10:53 pm

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

