Moose in Cardiff Fork

I had only seen one person on the trail so far…and that was a couple of miles back, give or take…continuing upward on a new trail…looking around…so much to see…so much that was new…lots of mining history in the area…looking for tailing piles and boarded up mines…looking and listening…entered bear-country a couple of weekends ago and was mildly concerned at the thick trees and shadows…wide open spaces with nothing but…me and all of that wild…what a beautiful place…and then I heard a snort from nearby…nearby being relative, of course, as everything was essentially near, and if I heard it, it must be a bit closer than just somewhere out there in the canyon…as I was looking around, a dark spot moved on the hillside and snorted again….

I am aware of the less-than-pleasant disposition that moose are reported to have, so I stopped and watched and looked around for more, and seeing no others, proceeded to get my camera prepared for quick shots before the creature disappeared into the woods.Β  Aside from an occasional snort and glance in my direction, this guy kept grazing up the hillside…while I slowly crept further up the trail that was parallel to the direction he was moving…trying to gain a better angle for theΒ shot.Β  I don’t carry a tripod with me when out in the woods, so the bit of blur is a result of the length of zoom and not-quite settled heart-beat after ascending the trail….

Standing behind a couple of pine or fir trees, shooting through an opening…waiting for him to turn and look in my direction again….

Wonderful….

24 responses

  1. A gorgeous animal. I liked the third and fourth shots especially.

    August 1, 2012 at 7:17 am

    • He is gorgeous, Shimon, and thank you. I prefer those shots, as well.

      August 3, 2012 at 7:01 am

  2. Nice shots! I can imagine how hard it was to calm down and stay steady with such a large creature nearby. New Hampshire is full of moose, but I’ve never seen one. Lately I’ve seen plenty of bears but I’d rather see the moose. Have you ever tried a monopod? I just got one and I like it because it’s so easy to carry. Not as good as a tripod but better than hand held.

    August 1, 2012 at 7:48 am

    • Thank you, Allen…and it is rather difficult to physically calm down quickly in moments like these. I had no idea that you had moose in NH…or bears, for that matter. And no, I’ve not tried a monopod either…sounds like a good idea, though.

      August 3, 2012 at 7:03 am

  3. I like mooses πŸ™‚ I guess the collective is just moose but hey, I’m sticking with mooses. Like Shimon, I like the third and fourth shots especially. Well captured Scott. πŸ™‚

    August 1, 2012 at 7:58 am

    • I’m glad you like the mooses, Chillbrook…and thank you. πŸ™‚

      August 3, 2012 at 7:04 am

  4. Nut Balls

    How crazy…lucky enough to get several clear shots, but not too close that he does anything to “shoo” you off πŸ™‚ Great pictures, Dad!

    August 1, 2012 at 8:48 am

    • I don’t think he was really that close, as we can see in that first shot…it’s amazing what a zoom lens will do for making photos like these. I’ve been much closer, accidentally…I rounded a curve in the trail and there was a cow standing in the middle of the trail about 40 feet ahead of me…just standing there looking at me on a quiet Sunday morning. πŸ™‚

      Thank you, Nathan.

      August 3, 2012 at 7:09 am

  5. Wow – incredible… and it was all in the “snort” that prepared you for this wonderful photo opportunity! That last shot is just gorgeous Scott ~ the way he is staring straight at you! Beautiful creature this moose is πŸ™‚ ~R

    August 1, 2012 at 9:15 am

    • Yes, Robyn…it was a wonderful and very fortunate snort. I rather enjoy that last shot, too…like that full-on, eye to eye look. πŸ™‚ Thank you….

      August 3, 2012 at 7:10 am

  6. These ARE beautiful shots, Scott. I love the last one too.

    August 1, 2012 at 10:44 am

    • Thank you, George. πŸ™‚

      August 3, 2012 at 7:10 am

  7. Oh, such a fantastic series of shots. Totally amazing. I bet it took awhile to slow the heartbeat! That last shot looks like he posed for you.

    August 1, 2012 at 1:17 pm

    • Thank you, Gunta…and yes, it was a little bit before the heartbeat slowed. πŸ™‚ My fortune has usually been capturing the backside of creatures walking away from me out there, so it was very nice to capture that final shot….

      August 3, 2012 at 7:12 am

  8. They are magnificent creatures! πŸ™‚

    August 1, 2012 at 2:15 pm

    • They are, indeed, Karen…thank you.

      August 3, 2012 at 7:13 am

  9. That’s a wild land out there. A loose moose can do some damage. The nearest heart stopping moment here was when I nearly fell off my bike when a pheasant shot up out of the verge making a racket big-time, otherwise the cows and sheep don’t lurk threateningly. What excitement. News of your weekend hikes are highly anticipated.

    August 1, 2012 at 3:00 pm

    • Thank you, John. I’ve not been out on a bike on the trail, but have had some larger birds flush from the thick vegetation nearby and give me a good start…and in those moments my heart is hoping and hoping that it’s just a bird! πŸ™‚

      August 3, 2012 at 7:17 am

  10. Moose are sort of like tornados for me . . . I really hope to see one in the wild some day, but from a safe distance!

    August 1, 2012 at 8:32 pm

    • That’s a great comparison, Gary…I’d rather like to see a tornado from a distance, too…and hope that my future encounters with these guys are as safe as they have been thus far. πŸ™‚

      August 3, 2012 at 7:18 am

  11. Moose seem like very strange animals, I have never seen one and have no idea what they are like.

    August 2, 2012 at 5:52 am

    • They strike me as being somewhere between a cow and a horse, Leanne…and they can be very aggressive…especially during mating season and when their little ones are around…..

      August 3, 2012 at 7:20 am

  12. You got some good shots of that guy! I’ve only seen one this year and had no chance for a photo.

    August 4, 2012 at 8:55 pm

    • Thank you, Terry…I felt rather fortunate to get the shots that I did. I had seen a pair earlier in the year, but they were laying down and then walked away into very thick brush…hard to do much with that….

      August 4, 2012 at 9:46 pm

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

