Aspen

22 responses

  1. The knots always remind me of eyes. Have been meaning to do a series on them.

    August 2, 2012 at 7:28 am

    • They do have the appearance of eyes, Emilio…imagine all of them watching us when we’re out there…. I think that would be an interesting series….

      August 3, 2012 at 8:20 am

  2. Nut Balls

    One couldn’t tell if this picture were shot in black and white, or color. Very cool πŸ™‚

    August 2, 2012 at 8:43 am

    • It does look nice in color, too, Nathan…has a kind of aquamarine hue to the background when the light is just right…have been wanting to do the B&W shot for a while. I’m glad you like it…thank you. πŸ™‚

      August 3, 2012 at 8:21 am

  3. Smashing image Scott. I really like this tree but there’s a lot of negative folklore attached to it in the UK apparently.

    August 2, 2012 at 8:50 am

    • Thank you, Chillbrook…does that negative folklore have anything to do with the knots looking like eyes, as Emilio mentioned above?

      August 3, 2012 at 8:23 am

      • I think it’s more that the leaves rustle in the wind, appearing to whisper and shake. The reason the trees shake is because they are cursed, it was wood from the aspen tree that was used to make Christ’s cross apparently. That’s what I read anyway.

        August 3, 2012 at 8:41 am

        • That’s an interesting story, Chillbrook…. Thank you. πŸ™‚

          August 3, 2012 at 8:48 am

  4. I was there in June for the writer’s conference, but alas, did not see much of the area. Beautiful image.

    August 2, 2012 at 8:57 am

    • Thank you, CJ…need to get out there on the trails. πŸ™‚

      August 3, 2012 at 8:23 am

  5. I’ve always loved the quakies. Thanks for this image. We don’t have any out here (though I recently saw a birch being sold at a nursery.)

    August 2, 2012 at 1:48 pm

    • You’re welcome, Miss Gunta…they’ve always reminded me of birch trees from my childhood…

      August 3, 2012 at 8:27 am

  6. a poplar tree with rounded, long-stalked, and typically coarsely-toothed leaves that tremble in even a slight breeze. β€’ Genus Populus, family Salicaceae: several species, in particular the North American quaking aspen ( P. tremuloides) and bigtooth aspen ( P. grandidentata) and the European P. tremula.

    Well, now I know what an aspen is, its a poplar. Here the silver birch has a similar light trunk. You live and learn. It seems to grow very straight and tall, and how attractive they look in your picture. Thanks Scott, its an education visiting here………. as well as some great photography.

    August 2, 2012 at 4:12 pm

    • That is what they are, John…and I’ve thought they looked like birch trees, as well…remind me of rows of them along country roads in Germany when I was a child…they are incredibly beautiful in the fall, as well…bright yellow and orange. They are usually very tall and straight in their growth patterns, but they can become quite twisted and malformed after they’ve been squashed in an avalanche…but they are resilient, as well…as you can see in this earlier post of mine… https://seekraz.wordpress.com/2011/07/28/twisted-in-the-drive-to-live/ …wonderful and amazing, me thinks. Thank you…. πŸ™‚

      August 3, 2012 at 8:33 am

  7. Victoria

    Nice shot Scott.
    (what lens and aperture do you use to get so many tree trunks in focus?).

    August 2, 2012 at 5:52 pm

    • Thank you, Victoria…and I’m still using a point-and-shoot for making all of my photos…I think I remember the RAW thumbnail data saying that this was f4.4 with 9.8mm aperture…if I answered that correctly. πŸ™‚

      August 3, 2012 at 8:37 am

  8. Reminds me of a grove of birch trees near here that I drive by regularly. I always like seeing trees groves-they lift the spirit.

    August 2, 2012 at 6:11 pm

    • Very similar, Allen…and I love being in those groves, as well…peaceful. πŸ™‚

      August 3, 2012 at 8:38 am

  9. Beautiful picture – Patty

    August 3, 2012 at 10:51 am

    • Thank you, Patty. πŸ™‚

      August 3, 2012 at 11:41 am

  10. I recently posted a photo of aspens that I took back in 2009 while visiting friends in Utah. Until I left Utah, I never knew how beautiful Aspens are. I do miss them. I miss their shimmering leaves during the spring and summer and beautiful golden leaves in the fall. The Midwest has nothing comparable. Nothing. Thanks for the beautiful reminder of my heritage.

    August 4, 2012 at 11:44 am

    • It’s interesting how that happens…we don’t know how much we enjoy something, really value it…something that we might see everyday, until we leave it behind. I’m glad you enjoyed the photo, Dezra…and you’re most welcome for the beautiful reminder of your heritage…. πŸ™‚

      August 4, 2012 at 6:48 pm

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

