On the wall – prequel

The earlier two posts, On the wall, and On the wall, too, were taken 13 months after this picture.  This one is from July, 2011…after a winter/spring with record snowfall in our Wasatch Mountains…and the two earlier photographs were from August, 2012…after a winter/spring with much less snow.

Just for fun, I found this website that maintains snowfall records for Alta, Utah (at the end of Little Cottonwood Canyon, at 8,530 ft elevation)…which is just over the ridge and up the road a couple of miles from where this picture was taken at Lake Lillian, at approximately 8,900 feet elevation, in Big Cottonwood Canyon.  The snow season of November, 2010 to April, 2011 had 723.5 inches of the white stuff and the snow season of November, 2011 to April, 2012 had 390.5 inches.  I guess that explains why there was still so much snow on the mountains in July, 2011, as opposed to no snow at the same location this year.

The wall-walker in this photo is Son #2…it was Son #3 in the two earlier posts.

28 responses

  1. I think I would enjoy hiking there for no other reason than the wall.

    . . . and where you a fan of Charlie Chan?

    August 20, 2012 at 7:05 am

    • It is a beautiful wall, Emilio; it’s actually the top of a dam on the third of three mountain lakes in this area. I will have a post or two in a bit to share more of the photos.

      …and no, I wasn’t a fan of Charlie Chan….

      August 21, 2012 at 6:44 am

      • Just wondered . . . He too named his sons Number One Son, Number Two Son, etc.

        August 21, 2012 at 6:48 am

        • Oh…didn’t know that…it seemed to be a convenient way to name/address them here, as very few readers would know their names….

          August 21, 2012 at 6:50 am

          • Another of my attempts at humor fall flat because of your limited Television Watching Experience . . . tsk, tsk.

            August 21, 2012 at 6:53 am

          • Yeah, I considered that…and I wondered if I was going to be excommunicated from your collective if I answered honestly…and thinking that I would never be able to glean enough information from Google in a cursory search, I figured I’d just take the chance and confess my ignorance…thought you might see through the facade anyway…. 🙂

            August 21, 2012 at 7:03 am

          • Nah . . . Charlie Chan was not one of my favorites; it holds no sway in assessing human worth.

            The progeny numbering fired up old neurons that dug deep and came up with the tidbit that made me smile. I have a tendency to assume others might make the same connections I do, but that would imply twisted minds (as in odd bastard, not as in sick bastard) to be more common then they are.

            August 21, 2012 at 7:32 am

          • That’s a comfort, knowing that one’s affinity for Charlie Chan doesn’t mess with the balances in determining human worth…what a relief…hmmm….

            August 22, 2012 at 6:38 am

          • Relief? I don’t know . . . there are so few metrics left; losing even one makes finding worth in people a difficult task. And people themselves are not helping much, what with their constant effort to devalue integrity, honesty, honor . . . but take heart. There’s many TV shows left, and even a few movies.

            August 22, 2012 at 7:06 am

          • Still, what a metric for determining worth…TV shows and movies…maybe I’ll be worth more in a recycle-bin somewhere…. 🙂

            August 22, 2012 at 7:11 am

          • Well, there are other metrics, not just TV shows and movies.

            For instance, if you post a photo of a beautiful mountain lake, and someone says it looks like crap and an awful place to visit, you have to wonder about what kind of person they are. Maybe even assume there is no common ground for establishing any kind of relationship.

            Same for movies, books, TV shows, art, activities, etc. Likes and dislikes are small windows into the mind and make-up of people.

            For instance, someone who gets all excited and looks forward to a weekend of playing video games, or watching a Twilight marathon, or thinks highly of the movie Armageddon, is not likely to find much common ground with me. While I would respect and maybe even be amused at their enthusiasm for those things, they would not fall in the category of people I would be interested in conversing with, listening to, or interact with beyond a brief glance and nod . . . unless, of course, they like Firefly.

            So, when I speak of human worth, it’s not referring to their worth as individuals (something nearly impossible to assess), but more whether it’s worth my time to interact with them. With nearly 7 billion people on the planet, and a few up on the ISS, one has to ration out the amount of time allocated to others.

            August 22, 2012 at 7:31 am

  2. Fabulous picture Scott. 🙂

    August 20, 2012 at 8:01 am

    • Thank you, Chillbrook. 🙂

      August 21, 2012 at 6:44 am

  3. Nut Balls

    What a difference! And, who knows, maybe this year we’ll have record snowfall again. Weird winters, I tell you…

    August 20, 2012 at 8:51 am

    • Yes, Nathan…quite a difference. I’m anxious to see about our snowfalls…as I have a new set of snow-shoes to try out. 🙂

      August 21, 2012 at 6:46 am

  4. A beautiful shot Scott!

    August 20, 2012 at 11:47 am

    • Thank you, Madhu; it’s a beautiful place…. 🙂

      August 21, 2012 at 6:46 am

  5. ….and this summer you’ve had record temperatures….. at least it will have been cooler in the mountains,,,,,,,,, another great viewpoint in this photo Scott.

    August 20, 2012 at 12:50 pm

    • Yes, John…we have had some pretty dramatic temperatures, as well…and it was always cooler in the mountains, especially on those morning hikes before the sun reached over the mountain ridges. Thank you for your nice words, John….

      August 21, 2012 at 6:48 am

  6. What a fascinating image – reminds me of Narnia; walking from a Summer-like day to a Winter’s day – the wall separating the two!

    August 20, 2012 at 12:51 pm

    • Wow…I hadn’t thought of that, Meanderer, but it does look very much like a Narnia picture…thank you. 🙂

      August 21, 2012 at 6:50 am

  7. I was wondering if there was any water in Lake Lillian in the recent shots, but, alas, the angle doesn’t reveal that to us. I believe snow pack is where much of your water comes from. Don’t know if the SL Valley does it, but I can remember a contest to guess the day when the snow melted at a particular spot on Mt Timpanogas – usually some time in August, if memory serves. Seeing snow still hanging on in mid-summer was one of my favorite sights when living in that area.

    August 20, 2012 at 1:58 pm

    • Yes, there was still a nice bit of water in all of the lakes up there, Gunta…will be showing more photos soon. There was much more last year, of course, given that snowfall, but still plenty enough to provide for some beautiful photos…. And you’re right, much of the water for the cities’ use does come from the mountain snows. I haven’t heard of a snow-melt contest here in the SL Valley, but that does sound interesting. All of our snow is gone from the front of the mountains, but I have stumbled across some that is/was tucked-away in some of the deeper draws up in the mountains while out on my hikes. I remember when I came up here in Jun/Jul/Aug of 2010 and there was still significant snow on the mountains…I thought it was incredible, too…and so foreign to my desert-dwelling (at the time) self…. 🙂

      August 21, 2012 at 6:58 am

  8. This angle is much more interesting, I think.

    August 21, 2012 at 6:51 am

    • Thank you, Allen it does have an interesting angle. 🙂

      August 21, 2012 at 6:59 am

  9. What a stunning place to hike! And a beautiful photograph!

    August 21, 2012 at 8:12 am

    • Thank you, Melanie…and yes, it is stunning out there, almost beyond words.

      August 22, 2012 at 6:33 am

  10. settleandchase

    I am envious of your space!

    August 30, 2012 at 1:24 pm

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

