City Paint 5.1 – Ironclad Tattoo Re-do

It’s been several weeks since I posted anything in the City Paint series on street art and graffiti that I’ve discovered while driving about Salt Lake City, so here’s a new one that I thought was just too good not to share.  I was surprised the other morning to have noticed that Ironclad Electric Tattooing has a new mural.  If you’re interested, you can check-out the earlier work in this previous post, City Paint 5 – Ironclad Tattoo.  And, of course, if you’d like to revisit any of the other street art or graffiti posts, just scroll down to the bottom of this page and click on the Street-art/Graffiti category.

The first shot is of the entire mural as it appears on the building and the remaining photos are close-ups of the various parts.

I haven’t had the opportunity to learn about who the artist might be, although there is a partial email address of the likely artist(s) in the bottom right-hand corner of the first photo.

32 responses

  1. Wow!Super colorful and fascinating.

    September 8, 2012 at 7:22 am

    • I thought so, too, Angel…thank you for visiting. 🙂

      September 9, 2012 at 7:03 am

      • It’s my pleasure to drop by. I fine your posts wonderful as well.

        September 9, 2012 at 7:21 am

        • You’re very kind…thank you. 🙂

          September 9, 2012 at 7:22 am

          • You too, I believe. By the way, where did you get all your inspirations? I’m a bit curious.

            September 9, 2012 at 7:24 am

          • I suppose natural beauty and other people’s artistic creations inspire me…but sometimes it’s sadness and the darker part of life…I suppose it just depends on what I’m doing. Thank you for asking. 🙂

            September 9, 2012 at 9:54 am

          • I see, I guess where almost the same. But your work is really beautiful so I wonder what really inspires you. ^^ Thank you for the answer dear.

            September 9, 2012 at 4:58 pm

  2. t.i.n.a.

    That is so cool! Love the vibrant colours!

    September 8, 2012 at 8:06 am

    • So vibrant, Tina…thanks. 🙂

      September 9, 2012 at 7:04 am

  3. Syeda Maham

    Modern Picasso.Great find Scott.

    September 8, 2012 at 8:30 am

    • Thank you, Syeda…and thanks for visiting, too. 🙂

      September 9, 2012 at 7:04 am

  4. Great selection of street art well captured. I hadn’t noticed the well concealed door until I took a closer look at number 4.

    September 8, 2012 at 8:39 am

    • Yep, I took a shot specifically of the door for a later posting. Thanks, Adrian.

      September 9, 2012 at 7:05 am

  5. Nicely captured Scott. It’s when you see these close-ups you really get a full appreciation of the artists skill.

    September 8, 2012 at 10:19 am

    • Thank you, Chillbrook…I enjoy those closer shots, as well…such fine detail.

      September 9, 2012 at 7:06 am

  6. Wow! Amazing artwork. Not quite my taste, but the work is fascinating. Thanks for sharing, Scott.

    September 8, 2012 at 12:45 pm

    • No, I wouldn’t necessarily enjoy the work on the side of my house, either, Erica…but it is fascinating and nice to see out there. And you’re welcome, too. 🙂

      September 9, 2012 at 7:07 am

  7. Awesome seems appropriate somehow, though it’s generally so overused I tend to avoid it! 😉 I think what I like most about this unique art form is its enthusiasm. Wouldn’t necessarily want to live with it on my interior walls, but outdoors it seems fantastic. Thanks for giving us a chance to enjoy these, too.

    September 8, 2012 at 1:49 pm

    • Yeah, I agree that “awesome” has been over-used, but I also agree that it could be used here appropriately…and yes, the enthusiasm that the artists display with this type of work is wonderful…so youthful. You’re welcome, Miss Gunta…and thank you, too. 🙂

      September 9, 2012 at 7:09 am

  8. I think this is the best one yet. Reminds me of the album art we saw in the 60s and 70s.

    September 8, 2012 at 3:43 pm

    • Nice connection, Allen…it does have a similar style and imagery.

      September 9, 2012 at 7:10 am

      • See “In the Court of the Crimson King,” 1969, by King Crimson. It would fit right into this mural.

        September 9, 2012 at 5:06 pm

  9. Terrific art Scott and I like the detail shots. It gives a very dystopian impression of what may be inside.

    September 9, 2012 at 1:53 am

    • I’m glad you enjoyed the photos, Finn…and yes, there does seem to be more than a hint of darkness lurking about….

      September 9, 2012 at 7:14 am

  10. HI Scott: Impressive images. There is a certain beauty to them that draws me in yet repulses me at the same time….I would hate to be there alone in the dark of night, especially on Halloween. Very trippy.

    September 9, 2012 at 11:02 am

    • Thank you, Nancy…and yes, that would probably be a very scary time to be there…finger-tips tapping your shoulder on a moonless night…with only the light of passing cars to guide your way down dark and lonely sidewalks…with such images in your mind….

      September 10, 2012 at 10:29 pm

  11. Both fierce and gentle!

    September 10, 2012 at 12:57 pm

    • Strikingly so, Karen…thank you.

      September 10, 2012 at 10:30 pm

  12. There’s a lot squeezed into a tight space in this mural. I struggle to make the connection between the elements but it’s colourful and dramatic

    September 11, 2012 at 2:34 pm

    • There is quite a bit in there, Andy, and I can’t make much connection either, but I do like all of those colors. It’s very nice in-person, too…quite large and impressive detail, whatever it means. 🙂

      September 12, 2012 at 7:08 am

  13. This was painted by myself and chew. Thanks for posting. If your interested in seeing our latest checkout 100s and 615w, we just completed a 2 week long mural ( 127ft long ). I’m sure you’ll enjoy it!

    April 11, 2013 at 12:50 pm

    • Now that I know how you are, I can tell that it’s your name in the bottom right corner of the mural…didn’t see a name in front of the “@fiftyk.net.” It’s great work, as has been all of the art that I’ve shared here…glad you found my site with your work on it…and I will definitely be visiting your new mural…and likely posting photos of it here.

      April 11, 2013 at 6:56 pm

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

