Antelope Island in September

You might remember my earlier posts, Field Trip to Antelope Island and Antelope Island – Part II, from February and March of this year.  I had planned on returning to the island sometime during the greener part of the year, as I wanted to capture some images of spring-rich rolling hills and vibrant Sunflowers.  Well…we didn’t make it back during the greener time of the year, but the Sunflowers were still thriving, despite the golden brown hills that spoke of a very dry summer out on the island.

My second son and his son….

Beautiful Sunflowers with the Wasatch Mountains in silhouette in the background….

If you’re not familiar with Antelope Island, it is the largest of several islands out in The Great Salt Lake, Utah, USA.

My daughter (in-law), wife of my son mentioned above….

You might remember this tree stump from a couple of earlier posts….

The Pronghorn Antelope from which the island gets its name….

Grandson and my little one (on the right)….

This last shot was actually taken out on the seven-mile-long causeway that leads from the mainland out to Antelope Island….

More to follow….

28 responses

  1. Victoria

    Lovely images (yet again).
    Thanks for sharing.

    September 28, 2012 at 7:22 am

    • Thank you, Victoria…and it’s always a pleasure.

      September 30, 2012 at 8:07 pm

  2. Great pictures.

    September 28, 2012 at 7:26 am

    • Thank you, Ginny. 🙂

      September 30, 2012 at 8:08 pm

  3. What a place to live! Great captures.

    September 28, 2012 at 9:04 am

    • Thank you, Pattu…and it is a great place to live. 🙂

      September 30, 2012 at 8:08 pm

  4. Some really nice pictures there Scott. It looks like a very special place!

    September 28, 2012 at 9:44 am

    • It is a special place, Chillbrook…and thank you. 🙂

      September 30, 2012 at 8:09 pm

  5. It looks like it might be a very hot place.

    September 28, 2012 at 10:27 am

    • Well…I’ve been there in Feb/Mar and now in September…and it was definitely warm this last time. I imagine that it could be rather hot in the middle of Summer…not much for shade…nothing nearby, anyway.

      September 30, 2012 at 8:10 pm

  6. What a beautiful place to relax – you’ve really captured the atmosphere of this place and the figures look very natural. Well done

    September 28, 2012 at 2:11 pm

    • Thank you, Andy…my family members were having a nice time and were simply being themselves…and yes, a beautiful place to relax…even with the bugs flying about…. 🙂

      September 30, 2012 at 8:13 pm

  7. Some great shots here. I always meant to go out there, but somehow never got around to it. That last shot could almost be one of my beaches, if you could just add a wave or two. Any idea what the long-legged birds are? Looks like it might have been a fun outing for all.

    September 28, 2012 at 3:44 pm

    • Thank you, Gunta…we made it twice in less than a year and my older son is wanting to go out again and rent some paddle boats….. I thought the last shot did look rather beach-like, too…seems like a low-tide moment. I’m not sure about the birds…there are supposed to be around 250 kinds of birds that migrate through, stopping at the island/lake on their way to wherever. And yes, we all had a good time…skipping stones…admiring the buffalo-patties scattered about…and waiting for Someone to get done taking pictures…. 😉 Everyone was very kind…and patient….

      September 30, 2012 at 8:18 pm

  8. The water and shoreline here looks like another planet to me. It always does. A very odd place, I think. It’s lovely, but sort of barren kind of beauty. Minimalist? 🙂 The photographs are much more interesting with your family in them. Really nice!

    September 28, 2012 at 9:50 pm

    • You summed it up well, George…there is a sort of stark and barren beauty to the place, with it’s odd sand/shoreline and diminished water level. I think the haze plays a part in the atmosphere, as well. I’m glad you enjoyed the photos with my family in them…they were a big part of the visit out there.

      September 30, 2012 at 8:24 pm

  9. Wow! Beautiful images, Scott. I love the large format. I feel like I can get lost in them.

    September 29, 2012 at 6:17 am

    • Thank you, Melanie…I’ve wondered if the photos are too large sometimes…. I’m glad you enjoy them like that. 🙂

      September 29, 2012 at 6:41 am

  10. Your photos make me want to get in the car and drive 2,000 miles. I follow several photographers (partly as a way of traveling vicariously) and they’re all good. But your photos always seem to imply more powerfully how wonderful it would be to actually be there. Thanks for that. Particularly enjoyed the wild flowers in the foreground and the ones with children and grandchildren.

    September 30, 2012 at 7:29 am

    • What a wonderful comment, Tori…thank you. I’m glad the photos manage to do that…it’s always my hope that they are demonstrating the richness of the place…the natural beauty that stirs my heart. Thank you again. 🙂

      September 30, 2012 at 8:30 pm

  11. Interesting to see, Scott!

    September 30, 2012 at 11:01 pm

    • Kind of an odd feeling going out there for the first time…but then very fascinating, too.

      October 1, 2012 at 6:35 am

  12. Great shots! I especially like the photo of the sunflowers. Glad you were able to return to the island.

    October 2, 2012 at 5:31 pm

    • Thank you, Fergiemoto…and I shall be returning yet again…and again. I remember that you were the one who suggested that I go there in the first place…so my extra thanks to you for sharing such a treasure! 🙂

      October 5, 2012 at 6:48 am

  13. Such serenity here. Beautiful.

    October 3, 2012 at 8:50 am

    • Thank you, Karen…it evokes a peaceful stirring of what we might call the soul…that deepest place….

      October 5, 2012 at 6:50 am

  14. What a fabulous spot. Thanks for sharing these.

    October 3, 2012 at 8:56 am

    • Indeed it is, Bob…you’re most welcome…thank you for visiting.

      October 5, 2012 at 6:51 am

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

