Antelope Island in September, too….

I was surprised at how low The Great Salt Lake was during this visit…as it was significantly higher in February when when we made our first trip to the island.

Hmm…no, my son’s not dancing, there on the left…maybe celebrating because of a well-thrown skipping-stone….

Looks like a little island of reeds out there…and the water is a long way away….

One of the 500-600 American Bison, or Buffalo, that live on the island….

My little one brought his binoculars and a notepad and pen along for the trip…it was fun watching him take notes of his observations….

Small group of Pronghorn Antelope…the male has the larger horns and the black, cheek markings….

Whole bunch of Sunflowers….

Daughter carrying her pre-Christmas baby….

Hopefully we’ll have some wonderful snow this winter…and green, rolling hills out on the island in the spring….

26 responses

  1. Tourism Oxford

    Beautiful!

    October 15, 2012 at 7:15 am

    • Thank you, T.O…. I appreciate the visit and comment. 🙂

      October 16, 2012 at 7:04 am

  2. Wonderful, peaceful images, Scott. Thank you for sharing these.

    October 15, 2012 at 7:39 am

    • Thank you, Melanie…and you’re welcome. 🙂

      October 16, 2012 at 7:05 am

  3. These are really fabulous images Scott. I love the pictures of the antelopes and the bison. I also really like the second image that you’ve taken against the light, creating partial silhouettes of your family enjoying a day out. Really nice.

    October 15, 2012 at 9:38 am

    • Thank you, Chillbrook…I have a couple of images like that second one…was rather pleased to have captured them that way…quite by accident! 🙂

      October 16, 2012 at 7:06 am

  4. What a beautiful place, Scott – thanks for sharing with us.

    October 15, 2012 at 10:48 am

    • Thank you, James…and you’re welcome.

      October 16, 2012 at 7:06 am

  5. I can remember having agoraphobia on a wide empty beach as a child………..and looking at your lovely photos I can feel my legs turing to jelly…..how strange, I had forgotten all about it………..thanks Scott….. 🙂

    October 15, 2012 at 1:03 pm

    • Sorry for the frightening flashback, John…but I’m glad you were able to enjoy the photos in spite of them…. 😉

      October 16, 2012 at 7:07 am

  6. Quite amazing what evaporation can do. Very nice critter shots and looks like a good time was had by all.

    October 15, 2012 at 3:00 pm

    • It is quite amazing, Gunta…and I’m glad you enjoyed the images by all of the critters…even the ones obviously having a good time. 😉

      October 16, 2012 at 7:10 am

  7. A wonderful set, they give a sense of gentleness and hope.

    October 15, 2012 at 3:30 pm

    • Thank you very much, Karen…gentleness and hope…I like your perspective…. 🙂

      October 19, 2012 at 6:49 am

  8. fascinating picures, my sincere compliments!

    October 15, 2012 at 3:42 pm

    • Thank you, Ed. 🙂

      October 16, 2012 at 7:11 am

  9. That island must be huge if it can support all those animals. Your son taking notes reminds me of myself taking notes as a boy. If he suddenly becomes interested in Latin it won’t be long before he’s telling you the scientific names of all of the plants and animals.

    October 15, 2012 at 5:03 pm

    • The state-park literature describes the island as being 15 miles long and 4.5 miles at its widest point…so it’s probably huge enough! I’ll pay attention to my little one and his leanings toward learning Latin…seems like he’d be in good company. 🙂

      October 16, 2012 at 7:13 am

  10. Once again Scott, your images and the narration , inspires me to, look forward to more of this. Thanks for sharing your experiences with us, making us a part of this landscape. great visuals.

    October 16, 2012 at 1:31 am

    • I’m glad you enjoyed making the little journey with us, Pattu…and it’s always a pleasure….

      October 16, 2012 at 7:15 am

  11. I can’t get over the pronghorns out there!

    October 16, 2012 at 7:27 pm

    • That’s the closest I’ve seen so many of them, Terry…pretty impressive.

      October 17, 2012 at 6:41 am

  12. What a beautiful place, Scott! Thanks for sharing.

    October 17, 2012 at 7:52 am

    • You’re very welcome, Ruth. I’m glad you enjoyed it. Thank You, too. 🙂

      October 18, 2012 at 7:58 am

  13. Very nice! I especially like the sunflower shot.
    I see that you are hooked on Antelope Island!
    When I went to the bird refuge recently, I was surprised by how little water there was compared to earlier in the spring. Some areas were completely dry where they weren’t before. It was sad, but I know they were also diverting water into priority areas. We still saw a lot of birds, though.

    October 17, 2012 at 10:18 am

    • Thank you, Fergiemoto…and yes, I’m rather enjoying our little family trips out there. I wasn’t aware that the water was being diverted to other areas, instead of flowing into the Lake, but that makes sense. I hope we have a wonderful winter to help restore some of what was/is lacking out there….

      October 18, 2012 at 8:02 am

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

