Patience in Millcreek Canyon

My older son and I were hiking in Millcreek Canyon the other day, marveling in the winter wonderland and giving our new snow-shoes a test-drive.

Snowy Millcreek Canyon Stream 1

After taking the above photo, a man on cross-country skis came up the trail behind us and entered into the area that I had used to frame the photo….

Snowy Millcreek Canyon Stream 2

I had noticed the little opening in the canopy of trees up the trail and was hoping to capture an image that had eluded me a couple of months earlier when hiking on a beautifully golden, Fall trail in another canyon.

Snowy Millcreek Canyon Stream 3

Ever since I had seen Andy Hooker’s photograph of a woman passing an open garden gate, I had been looking for an opportunity to capture a similar image….

Snowy Millcreek Canyon Stream 4

…and here it is, below…my rendition of the woman silhouetted against the opening of the garden gate…the man on cross-country skis passing through the snowy canopy of trees along Millcreek Canyon’s stream….

Snowy Millcreek Canyon Stream 5

Thank you, Andy….

34 responses

  1. Great capture, Scott! A wonderful set!

    January 4, 2013 at 9:19 am

    • Thank you, Melanie…I hesitated at including all of them, but I thought the progression was fitting to demonstrate what I was being patient for…..

      January 7, 2013 at 8:12 pm

  2. Very nice. It is wonderful to ski with such fresh snow in the nature.

    January 4, 2013 at 10:57 am

    • Thank you, Bente…and while it’s been years and years since I was on skis, I do know that it’s wonderful to be out in that fresh snow. πŸ™‚

      January 7, 2013 at 8:13 pm

  3. Beautiful!

    January 4, 2013 at 11:06 am

    • Thank you, Lilly!

      January 7, 2013 at 8:13 pm

  4. Great work, well captured Scott.

    January 4, 2013 at 11:20 am

    • Thanks, Adrian…I appreciate that. πŸ™‚

      January 7, 2013 at 8:14 pm

  5. In the last shot It looks like there is a fork in the trail and the woman took the right fork. If there is indeed a left fork that follows the stream I would have bet all my crackers that she would go that way. Probably because I would go that way. It’s a beautiful place.

    January 4, 2013 at 12:30 pm

    • There’s no fork in the trail there, Allen…all of this “trail” is actually a snow-covered asphalt road that is gated against vehicle traffic and left unplowed for the winter so that we might enjoy it as a nice four mile track on which to cross-country ski and snow-shoe…. What looks like another trail area to the left of the person is simply a wide spot of ground, maybe even a pull-out, between the roadway and the stream…. And yes, such a beautiful place…and this is what it looks like in the summer: https://seekraz.wordpress.com/2012/07/11/millcreek-canyon-in-green/ The last two images show the road that has been covered with snow….

      January 7, 2013 at 8:23 pm

  6. Excellent photos and well done on getting the capture you wanted. It’s great when you imagine a photo and then manage to capture it. So beautiful. I envy you your snow Scott. πŸ™‚

    January 4, 2013 at 12:39 pm

    • Thank you very much, Adrian…and yes, that is a wonderful feeling to get the shot. There’s plenty here…I will gladly share it with you. πŸ™‚

      January 7, 2013 at 8:26 pm

  7. What stunning images…. thank you for bringing me back to this sort of beauty (without having to indure living in it!!! πŸ˜‰ )

    January 4, 2013 at 2:59 pm

    • I’m glad you still enjoy looking at it, Gunta…thank you. πŸ™‚

      January 7, 2013 at 8:26 pm

  8. What magic when a long-cherished dream comes true, without having to set it up! I think my photo angel, Frances, may well have a cousin who watches over you, too. Love it when this happens!

    January 4, 2013 at 3:13 pm

    • Yes, Gary…I think Frances and Company have been busy again…much to my pleasure…thank you…. πŸ™‚

      January 7, 2013 at 8:29 pm

  9. Love it!

    January 4, 2013 at 4:25 pm

    • I’m glad you do!

      January 7, 2013 at 8:30 pm

  10. Great images Scott! You sure have been getting some snow!

    January 4, 2013 at 4:32 pm

    • Thank you, Terry…and yes we certainly have…with maybe a bit more on the way this week….

      January 7, 2013 at 9:05 pm

  11. victoriaaphotography

    Just beautiful. Love the scene, love the snow and love that you were able to get that figure in that patch of light.

    (I could do with a little snow in Melbourne, Aust. right now – LOL).

    January 4, 2013 at 5:32 pm

    • Thank you, Victoria…I felt very fortunate to get him in there…and yes, I’m sure you could use a bit of snow down there!

      January 7, 2013 at 9:06 pm

  12. Really well captured, Scott. The figure looks great silhouetted against the patch of light. Actually, I really like the lighter patches of light in contrast with the blue-white shadier parts, generally. Very nice.

    January 5, 2013 at 7:53 am

    • Thank you very much, Meanderer…I still think it’s fascinating how the white can be so blue in the photographs….

      January 7, 2013 at 9:08 pm

  13. beautiful

    January 5, 2013 at 10:55 am

    • Thank you, Shimon.

      January 7, 2013 at 9:08 pm

  14. Hi Scott, somehow I missed this wonderful post. It validates why we look at other peoples blogs…..other photography….and how we gain from looking. It also shows categorically the benefits of taking lots of pictures in one location as we see something evolving. The final picture is perfectly cropped and composed…. a real cracker.

    January 8, 2013 at 9:29 am

    • Hello John, I’m glad you came back to it…you know I appreciate your feedback, like the visiting other photographers’ blogs as you mentioned…it’s part of my education here. Thank you for your kind words about the images.

      January 10, 2013 at 9:09 am

      • All very much deserved….and you are most welcome.

        January 10, 2013 at 9:24 am

        • Precious friend….

          January 10, 2013 at 9:26 am

  15. I’ve finally caught up with this one! Thanks for the mention by the way. You got him! Spot on in the last frame. Great shot, and a great feeling of satisfactions I’m sure.

    January 8, 2013 at 11:08 am

    • You’re very welcome, Andy…and thank you again for the inspiration. And yes, it was very satisfying to get the shot…thank you. πŸ™‚

      January 10, 2013 at 9:10 am

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

