Image

I looked for you today….

Work window reflection

31 responses

  1. Wrong office . . . I was one over.

    January 12, 2013 at 12:05 pm

  2. A very interesting picture Scott. I’ve been trying to work out where you were standing when you took the picture.. Still haven’t figured it out given the reflection suggest the office isn’t ground level..

    January 12, 2013 at 1:47 pm

    • Capturing all of the dimensions present wasn’t my initial goal, Adrian…was just trying to capture the somber mountains off to the right. This is actually looking out of the second-story window that is to the right of my desk and the image is what I see when looking south and east…the white columned building is a residential drug treatment facility and the next building to the right houses the Utah State Bar….

      January 17, 2013 at 7:23 am

  3. OK. I’m intrigued. obviously there’s a reflection, but is it also double exposed? great shot!

    January 12, 2013 at 1:52 pm

    • Well, I’m glad you’re intrigued, Lois… πŸ™‚ And no, there is not a double-exposure, simply the reflection of my desk area in the window as I’m looking out into the relatively gloomy day…. Thank you.

      January 17, 2013 at 7:25 am

  4. I think I see one of them misbegotten cubicles walls in there and those horrible rectangles of fluorescent lights….. but there is a glimpse of the mountains and the sky and I just bet you stare at them with longing more than once during the day….

    Could have been titled TGIF? I’m with Adrian, trying to figure out the angles and where you might be hiding?

    January 12, 2013 at 2:22 pm

    • Yes, those misbegotten cubicles and damned rectangles of lights…and I do spend a bit of time gazing out there, too, Gunta. I’m to the far left of the window looking toward the right…had to crop the left side of the photo, as I couldn’t help but capture a bit of my hand and the camera…. And yes, again…TGIF would have worked, as well. πŸ™‚

      January 17, 2013 at 7:27 am

  5. elmediat

    Intriguing image. The title and image creates an effective mood of longing, loss, uncertainty. Very well done composition.

    January 12, 2013 at 3:47 pm

    • That’s what I was hoping for, Elmediat…thank you…very much.

      January 17, 2013 at 7:28 am

  6. This one suggests a narrative…..?

    January 12, 2013 at 4:00 pm

    • It does, John, and I almost started…but I so enjoyed the thought of leaving it open for possibilities, instead of limiting it to the one I might have presented….

      January 17, 2013 at 7:30 am

  7. victoriaaphotography

    Love this shot.

    Reminds me of the shot I took in my hospital room in 2011 so I imagine I know how ended up with the resulting image above. I captured the whole room in the reflection while I was trying to actually take a photo of the scene outside on the street.

    January 12, 2013 at 4:33 pm

    • Thank you, Victoria…reflections are wonderful…the double worlds they capture….

      January 17, 2013 at 7:31 am

  8. You won’t find me there. I hope!

    January 12, 2013 at 5:19 pm

    • It’s much different being upstairs in the offices than it is being downstairs in the clinic where one receives the shots and pills…so you’d be ok if you were up there looking out the window with me, Allen…you wouldn’t be there as a patient. πŸ˜‰

      January 17, 2013 at 7:34 am

  9. tells a story; interesting composition…

    January 13, 2013 at 12:34 am

    • Thank you, Shimon…I had hoped that it would.

      January 17, 2013 at 7:34 am

  10. The office, a cocoon of comfort and familiarity . . . or should have been. I avoided looking at the empty chair, but could not help smell . . . or maybe imagine the smell, her lingering perfume.

    I focused, instead, on the distant mountains. They called for me, but today their pull could not overcome the shadow in my heart. Did she even know how she affected me so? Did she even know my name? The occasional “hello” or “good morning” were like bright sunrises waking my spirit from the dark torpor . . . did she know?

    Of course not; I never told her, and probably never would. My focus shifted from the distant mountains to the glass in front of me . . . I could see the outline of her empty chair reflected on the pane, and my mood darkened further.

    I turned, coffee in hand, and made my way back to my desk. My phone rang just as I sat.

    “Hello. How are you this morning? My car broke down, and I’m running late; I’ll be in shortly.” The world brightened considerably.

    January 13, 2013 at 9:10 am

    • Dang . . . I should proof-read . . . still, here you go; flash fiction inspired by the photo.

      January 13, 2013 at 9:34 am

      • That’s great, Emilio…thank you! Captured possibilities. πŸ™‚

        January 17, 2013 at 7:35 am

  11. I love this. There is something nostalgic about it. The colours on the left of the image – including the colours of, and surrounding, the woman – look as if they are from another era – the sixties or seventies. It’s almost as if she is a superimposed image on top of another more modern image. She looks as if she has a faraway look in her eyes as well as – perhaps – the viewer. It has a lovely atmosphere.

    January 13, 2013 at 12:43 pm

    • Thank you very much, Meanderer…what an eye you have for the details, and then words for rendering what you’ve seen…what a nice complement to the image…thank you for that, as well….

      January 17, 2013 at 7:39 am

  12. Excellent shot, Scott! Very intriguing. Wonderful composition.

    January 13, 2013 at 1:28 pm

    • Thank you very much, Melanie. πŸ™‚

      January 17, 2013 at 7:40 am

  13. The view from your window? Or were you levitating ;). Your title gives this a slightly sad, wistful feeling that works well.

    January 16, 2013 at 2:31 am

    • Yes, from my window at work…where I do look toward the mountains, wistfully longing to be out there again. Thank you, Rachael….

      January 17, 2013 at 7:41 am

  14. settleandchase

    As previous comments, very storytelling this, something kind of Wim Wenders about it..

    January 17, 2013 at 2:50 am

    • Thank you, Cath…and the only Wim Wenders work that I’m familiar with is his Wings of Desire movie, which happens to be the foundation for the American film, City of Angels…. I like the comparison…. πŸ™‚

      January 17, 2013 at 7:48 am

  15. I love this type of shot – the complexity, and the playing with space/spacial assumptions.

    January 31, 2013 at 2:01 pm

    • Thank you, Lynn.

      February 2, 2013 at 12:44 pm

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

