the return….

bones 1

.

bones 2

bones 3

bones 4

bones 5

bones 6

bones 7

16 responses

  1. An excellent study in natural recycling. Nothing goes to waste.

    March 8, 2013 at 9:05 am

    • Yes, it is, Gary…thank you.

      March 9, 2013 at 3:30 pm

  2. Love the colours and textures in these Scott! Excellent. πŸ™‚

    March 8, 2013 at 10:56 am

    • Thank you, Adrian..some of my favorite colors…. πŸ™‚

      March 9, 2013 at 3:30 pm

  3. Intense + Beautiful. Fantastic job, as usual.

    March 8, 2013 at 11:42 am

  4. Dust to dust. It so fitting buried in the fallen leaves which are also returning to the earth. Great capture.
    Have a good weekend!

    March 8, 2013 at 1:23 pm

    • A most natural place to be interred…. And thank you, Gunta…wishing you a wonderful weekend, too. πŸ™‚

      March 9, 2013 at 3:31 pm

  5. Funny, I was just going to write what Gunta wrote! Such interesting images, makes me wonder what animal they come from. Do you know? Have a wonderful weekend!

    March 8, 2013 at 6:08 pm

    • Hello, Susan…based upon what I do know about the mammals that can be found in our canyons and mountains here, I’m going to guess that these are the remains of a deer…or possibly a smaller moose. I believe they are too large to be either coyote or mountain lion…and probably not a goat either, given where I found them. And thank you for the well-wishes for the weekend…I hope you get enough sun to melt a bit of your new snow…. πŸ˜‰

      March 9, 2013 at 3:38 pm

  6. Raw and beautiful. Some of those forms look like fungus.

    March 9, 2013 at 8:59 am

    • The essence of life and its passing…thank you, Karen…and yes, the middle surfaces of the vertebrae do have a rather fungus-like appearance, don’t they?

      March 9, 2013 at 3:39 pm

  7. Liana

    I like them…I do…even though they’re creeping me out a bit…I like them πŸ™‚

    March 10, 2013 at 7:58 am

    • Well, I’m glad you do, Liana, even if they creep you out a bit…thank you. πŸ™‚

      March 11, 2013 at 6:21 pm

  8. I do so like the way you really get down to it…..literally on your hands and knees….and yet the crime scene is undisturbed…..very forensic…..and just lovely images.

    March 14, 2013 at 6:00 pm

    • Thank you very much, John…I’m glad you enjoyed the images.

      March 14, 2013 at 7:53 pm

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

