“…the view from up there…”

If you remember this post, living anyway, you might remember reading in the comments that Allen mentioned that he’d like to see the view from up there.  Well, these photos are not from exactly up there, but they’re from a location that’s pretty close to being up there….

View from Days Fork Cardiff Fork Ridge 1

You’ll notice that the pictures in first to fourth order go from left to right in the landscape…and you’ll notice that it’s a little brown and bleak…but the photos were taken in November after an earlier light winter and dry summer….

View from Days Fork Cardiff Ridge 2

The photos were taken on the ridge between Days Fork and Cardiff Fork, looking west and down into Cardiff Fork.  The road was used for mining efforts over the years…which have been finished for about four decades.

View from Days Fork Cardiff Ridge 3

I have photos of the mining artifacts from earlier in the summer…just haven’t gotten around to making a post yet….  If you’ll look closely (or click on the photo to magnify it) in the second photo, at the largest patch of snow closest to the bottom right-hand corner of the image, you can see a small rectangle…that’s the foundation remaining from the miners’ bunk house…you can also see it in the third photograph…but you might have to hunt for it a little bit…in the lower quarter of the image and toward the left side….

View from Days Fork Cardiff Ridge 4

33 responses

  1. Scott these shots are incredibly stunning
    when i magnified the second one looking for that patch of foundation of miners bunk
    i travelled through the woods and on the ice
    it was such a beautiful journey
    it spoke to me and was so alive
    wow

    March 19, 2013 at 7:11 am

    • Thank you very much, Soma…I’m so glad you could go there with me…and happy that you found it to be so alive. 🙂

      March 23, 2013 at 9:20 am

  2. What a wonderful view! Will you combine them into a full panorama?

    March 19, 2013 at 9:10 am

    • Good morning, Gary…and that was quite a view…it was nearly breathtaking…and an incredible surprise, truly, to come to the top of the ridge and then look in that direction…almost beyond words. And no, I don’t think I’ll combine them for a full panorama image…seems that it might work for the first three, but I changed the zoom or aspect somewhat for the fourth photo, so the perspective would be off…but maybe I could play with them a bit….

      March 23, 2013 at 9:24 am

  3. Wonderful pictures of an amazing view Scott. That road looks like it’d be exciting to drive along.

    March 19, 2013 at 12:16 pm

    • Thank you, Adrian…and yes, that road would be fun to drive. It’s actually posted as a private road, though, and no motorized vehicles are allowed in the area…but I will definitely be heading in that direction come summer…I want to take it to where it ends in the cirque area of that first photo…and actually go exploring around the bunk-house, as well. I had seen pictures of it in one of my books, but didn’t know where to locate it when I was in the area visiting the abandoned mine last year. It will likely be another few months before I get out there, as I want the snow to be essentially gone…but stay-tuned for an update. 😉

      March 23, 2013 at 9:29 am

  4. I love high places, and it looks like a very nice hike.

    March 19, 2013 at 12:40 pm

    • It was a great hike, Emilio…I’m sure you’d enjoy it.

      March 23, 2013 at 9:29 am

  5. You get an amazing amount of detail. These are beautiful. Completely captures that western “bigness”.

    March 19, 2013 at 12:51 pm

    • Thank you, Lynn…and it’s all just down the road a bit, tucked away down the canyons a few miles…and yes…so big. 🙂

      March 23, 2013 at 9:31 am

  6. As others have noted, beautiful detail and a real sense of vastness, and there’s a strong 3D quality to those layered ridges.

    March 19, 2013 at 2:49 pm

    • Thank you, John…if I didn’t have to be concerned for darkness on the hike back to the truck, I’d love to just sit there for hours…and hours, soaking it all in…….sooooo maybe…maybe an over-nighter is in order. I’ve not camped out there before, but that would be a great way to get some sunset shots from up there….. Hmm….

      March 23, 2013 at 9:38 am

  7. Wow, thanks for showing us the view Scott. I thought it would be beautiful and it is. I like looking back at the other picture too-it gives you a better sense of where (how high) these were taken from.

    March 19, 2013 at 2:57 pm

    • You’re very welcome, Allen…I had the pictures, obviously, but thank you for the idea. When I get back out there this summer, I’ll see if I can safely make it to the top of that rock in the image that started all of this…and then if I can still breathe, I’ll get another set of images…maybe some real panorama shots.

      March 23, 2013 at 9:44 am

  8. I think you are Ansel Adams reincarnated! Amazing views!

    March 19, 2013 at 5:43 pm

    • And I think you’re waaay too kind…but thank you, Susan!

      March 23, 2013 at 9:46 am

  9. These are SO beautiful!!

    March 19, 2013 at 5:59 pm

    • Thank you, Suzanne!

      March 23, 2013 at 10:17 am

  10. such a different landscape to my own experience here in the UK gorgeous

    March 19, 2013 at 6:11 pm

    • Yes, I think our terrain is a bit different, Scott…glad you enjoyed them…thank you.

      March 23, 2013 at 10:18 am

  11. That’s magnificent country up there!

    March 19, 2013 at 9:25 pm

    • It certainly is, Terry. 🙂

      March 23, 2013 at 10:18 am

  12. Hiking in places like that have such an amazing feel to them.

    March 19, 2013 at 9:30 pm

    • It is a wonderful experience, Charlie….

      March 23, 2013 at 10:19 am

  13. Such rugged beauty! Well captured!

    March 20, 2013 at 2:56 am

    • Thanks, Laura. 🙂

      March 21, 2013 at 6:45 am

  14. I will join the chorus, amazingly beautiful!

    March 20, 2013 at 5:53 am

    • And such sweet music to my ears, Bonnie…thank you!

      March 23, 2013 at 10:19 am

  15. settleandchase

    Stunning detail Scott, I can smell the air from here!!

    March 21, 2013 at 11:30 am

    • Thank you, Cath…and oh, it is so clean and clear and wonderful up there!

      March 23, 2013 at 10:20 am

  16. These are breath-taking. Amazing detail. Looking forward to the photos of the mining artifacts. (I used to go rock-hunting in the spoil piles of old mines in the mountains in western North Carolina when we lived there.)

    March 24, 2013 at 8:16 am

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

