farm and mountain panorama

I went exploring this past Saturday and ended-up a bit south and west of the Salt Lake Valley…found myself in the farm country near a development called, “Eagle Mountain.”  This is actually in Utah County, directly west of Lehi…which is just west of the greater Provo/Orem area.  The notion of vast wheat fields nestled up against snow-covered mountains is one that is still new to me…but I find that it provides a very compelling image, too.

Eagle Mountain farm and mountain panorama

36 responses

  1. That really conveys a sense of the wide, open space you have there–and the loneliness of the farm.

    April 1, 2013 at 9:39 am

    • There is a feeling of wide, open spaces out there, Gary…although, one can also sense the envelopment of the mountains…that tucked-in kind of feeling. And loneliness…? I don’t know, there is a sense of solitude, yes, but those mountains are companions, too…. 😉

      April 5, 2013 at 6:57 am

  2. The tractor in the foreground really gives a sense of scale. These mountains are big!

    April 1, 2013 at 10:47 am

    • They are big, Allen…and I was hoping the tractor would offer the needed perspective for a shot like this.

      April 5, 2013 at 6:58 am

  3. I love seeing all that open space against the background of the mountains. I agree with krikitarts, that farm does look lonely out there!

    April 1, 2013 at 11:58 am

    • Susan, I lived in that valley for more than a few years. It wasn’t at all lonely…. it was gorgeous and very peaceful (except when the national guard helicopters would buzz our house at night). The valley is surrounded by those snow-capped mountains nearly 360°. Summer lightning storms were one of the best shows on earth.

      April 1, 2013 at 12:13 pm

      • Don’t know how I would time it, Gunta, but I’d love to see some of those lightning storms…seems they would be spectacular out there…..

        April 5, 2013 at 7:01 am

        • You might just have to move out there….? 😀
          I think there’s some sort of software that tracks storm cells. I’ve heard it mentioned, but haven’t really paid much attention.

          April 5, 2013 at 1:12 pm

    • I’m with you on the space and the mountains, Susan…but do hold that there is truly a sense of “company” with the mountains being so close there…I don’t feel lonely out there…the mountains somehow provide a companionable presence.

      April 5, 2013 at 7:00 am

  4. Thanks so much for this gorgeous shot. I spent quite a few years looking at that very same mountain. From what I’ve heard about Eagle Mountain spreading, I’m surprised there are any wheat fields left out there.

    April 1, 2013 at 12:09 pm

    • You’re very welcome, Gunta…and there are still fields a-plenty out there. 🙂

      April 5, 2013 at 7:02 am

  5. Superb image Scott! 🙂

    April 1, 2013 at 12:23 pm

    • Thank you, Adrian. 🙂

      April 5, 2013 at 7:02 am

  6. WOW! Spectacular shot, Scott!

    April 1, 2013 at 7:39 pm

    • Thank you, Melanie…the pano feature on the camera worked rather well…or maybe I just happened to use it properly this time. 😉

      April 5, 2013 at 7:04 am

  7. i wish I could see this on a wall – BIG! I agree, that farm really shows how big the mountains are. This can’t have been an easy shot to do.

    April 1, 2013 at 7:41 pm

    • What an idea, Lynn…how exciting to think of it huge and on a wall! And yes, the big mountains…wonderfully so. The panorama feature on my camera really helped with this one, so it wasn’t too difficult…don’t have the skills for stitching photos together yet…maybe someday.

      April 5, 2013 at 7:08 am

  8. That’s a striking photo!

    April 1, 2013 at 9:29 pm

    • Thank you, Terry…just a bit south of SLC and maybe ten or so miles west of the freeway that you’ve traveled on your journeys south….

      April 5, 2013 at 7:10 am

  9. I regret that we don’t see more of the wheat fields. But I can well imagine the picture.

    April 1, 2013 at 10:00 pm

    • I haven’t seen them very many times in my life…would be nice to return and get some photos of them when they’re full.

      April 8, 2013 at 6:37 am

  10. I love the breathtaking vastness of your mountains and you capture it well.

    April 1, 2013 at 11:11 pm

    • Thank you, Charlie.

      April 8, 2013 at 6:37 am

  11. L’immensité au pied la montagne. Un endroit que j’aimerai bien.

    April 2, 2013 at 4:07 am

    • C’est un endroit magnifique, Val … très difficile de ne pas aimer.

      April 8, 2013 at 6:40 am

  12. Impressive panorama. I don’t think I could live at the foot of such a mountain. It’s plenty intimidating. 🙂

    April 2, 2013 at 10:05 pm

    • Thank you, George…I’ve found that they come to be rather comforting…while being so awe-inspiring.

      April 8, 2013 at 6:41 am

  13. The tractor wins it for me here, Scott. What a find!

    April 2, 2013 at 10:06 pm

    • I’m glad you like it, George…and yes, what a find…thank you.

      April 8, 2013 at 6:41 am

  14. Great shot, but I too find the looming mountains a bit intimidating…..how strange……..as a child, wide open beaches made me nervous….perhaps it’s agoraphobia….though you seem to be sure that its Eagle Mountain…… 🙂

    April 3, 2013 at 4:33 pm

    • Maybe you’d come to love them…like you have the open beaches….. And these mountains are the Oquirrhs…with the town or neighborhood of Eagle Mountain just south and east a bit…. 🙂

      April 8, 2013 at 6:43 am

      • I’m certain that you are right about loving the mountains…but the photo isolates an aspect that feels intimidating. From whence cometh the name Oquirrhs, Scott, was it part of an Indian homeland?

        April 8, 2013 at 10:54 am

        • Hello, John…they are very stirring, really…they have come to be something that I look for, that I miss when I’m not around them…and something that can be nearly mesmerizing…and the name Oquirrh comes from the Goshute word meaning “wooded mountain.” There is a rich history of the Native Americans in this area…as one might imagine.

          April 10, 2013 at 8:29 am

          • I’m so happy that you have found that special place to be and to live. It must bring a deep contentment and be a powerful draw when you are around those magnificent mountains. Thanks, Scott for the sharing.

            April 10, 2013 at 10:26 am

  15. I don’t know how I missed this one, Scott…..! Looking at the profile of “Eagle Mtn.” and the low rising hills in the foreground (not covered w/snow)…looks a lot like my little oil. Now I’m off to see which of my “chosen” Hudson River artists…may have been in the area. No small feat…
    Thank you!!!!!!

    April 16, 2013 at 7:13 am

    • I wish you luck in your endeavor! 🙂

      April 16, 2013 at 7:53 am

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

