Image

waiting in line

irrigation equipment with mountain background

20 responses

  1. You have no idea the memories your “farmland” snaps evoke. My soul is smiling……..

    April 24, 2013 at 6:59 am

    • How nice that your soul is smiling…that always makes for a good day. 🙂

      April 29, 2013 at 8:30 am

  2. There is something so, so familiar in the image, traveling across this country those sprinkler systems (believe that is what that is) common in farmland America. Lovely shot with snow capped peaks in the background. Have a sweet day!

    April 24, 2013 at 8:21 am

    • I love seeing the fields, Kai…something peaceful about them…reassuring, too, somehow……. Hope your day is sweet, too…thank you. 🙂

      April 29, 2013 at 8:41 am

  3. Fascinating picture Scott. I like it very much! 🙂

    April 24, 2013 at 11:58 am

    • Thank you, Adrian…I’m glad you do. 🙂

      April 29, 2013 at 8:42 am

  4. Now that is an irrigation system!

    April 24, 2013 at 5:21 pm

    • Yes, it certainly is, Allen. 🙂

      April 29, 2013 at 8:51 am

  5. victoriaaphotography

    I’ve never seen anything quite like those ‘sprinklers’ (if that’s what they are).

    April 24, 2013 at 5:56 pm

    • In effect, yes, that is exactly what they are, Victoria…I’ve seen them used in Utah, Colorado, California…and even in Arizona…and they’re likely used in many other places across the country.

      April 29, 2013 at 8:52 am

  6. I love the contrasts!

    April 24, 2013 at 9:58 pm

  7. What a perfect shot! Assuming this IS an irrigation system, it reminds me of a conversation I had last week with a farm manger for a large turf company that grows grass in fields near here. I was walking the edge and he drove by to inspect some work. We started talking. Water is so plentiful, they just draw it up from nearby sources, and they use those big old wheels – he called it a line system. I remarked how much I liked the look of it – for photography – and he grumbled that it’s a pain to operate, hard to maneuver. I bet he’d love this system! He does have a similarly nice view though – the Cascades rise not far away and are beautiful from the fields. Not quite as tall as these mountains! Again, what a gorgeous photo, Scott.
    Here’s a photo from the turf farm showing their old system – http://www.flickr.com/photos/33541799@N00/

    April 24, 2013 at 10:23 pm

    • Hello, Lynn – yes, this is an irrigation system…and one that’s a little more advanced in technology than the one from your photo. I encountered another one of these a bit further down the road that was actually watering the fields, and it was slowly moving every other minute or so…motors clicked on and the wheel turned about 1/4 of a rotation and then turned off again. I’m sure the manager of that turf farm would love these…seems that they would be a bit more convenient…but at least he had a beautiful view to grumble to as he was working out there. 🙂 Thank you for the nice words, Lynn….

      May 1, 2013 at 6:48 am

  8. I love the visual symmetry

    April 25, 2013 at 1:53 am

    • I was hoping to capture some of that, Dreams and Zeros…thank you. 🙂

      May 1, 2013 at 6:48 am

  9. Fascinating – vibrant – image. Another that I can reach out and almost touch.

    April 25, 2013 at 12:25 pm

    • Thank you, Meanderer…I’m glad it turned-out well. 🙂

      May 1, 2013 at 6:49 am

  10. I remember hubby going out to move them monsters (though I think these might be newer versions… not sure). Was this out at the turf farms?

    April 25, 2013 at 12:47 pm

    • I’m sure it would be quite a chore to wrestle those things around a field…and yes, these are likely advanced in technology and newer, but I still see plenty of the less automated ones out there…so maybe just different. And no, this was taken quite a bit down the road…near Mosida, I believe…wheat fields?

      May 1, 2013 at 6:57 am

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

