City Paint 12.2 – 2020…Perfect Vision – Mural Complete

Wow….I guess it’s been a while since I posted the beginning of this mural in City Paint 12.1 – 2020…Perfect Vision.  I had stopped-by and taken photos of the progress on another four occasions, but had not managed to get it all together in posts to show the work…so here we are, ten months later (Really?!) and I’m just now sharing the end result…and as chance/fate would have it, this mural has already been covered and work is being done on a new one.  Stay tuned….

2020 Mural left panel

The panorama shots that I made didn’t turn-out real well…and my stitching capabilities are nil…so we’re left with three images that I hope you can imagine as an entire mural…looking from the left in the above image…to the middle in the photo below…

2020 Mural center panel

…and to the far right in the next image below…three panels depicting a perfect vision for the future…maybe…hoping that we can see as clearly….?

2020 Mural right panel

I’ve also provided a handful of close-up images to demonstrate the detail…to show the brush-strokes of the spray-painted mural.

2020 Mural focus one

I do know that parts of the mural were, indeed, spray-painted, as I’ve shared in the first post…but, I am not sure if the individual artists who contributed to the greater image used brushes or not.  If you remember the western mural that I shared in City Paint 6.5, you might also recall the images of the artist using an actual brush.

2020 Mural focus two

When sharing other artists’ work in these and other images, I attempt to give credit where it is due.  I do not know all of the artists’ names who participated in creating this huge mural, but I do know that Kier Defstar played a significant role, as I was so informed by the Korner Market staff when I inquired about the 2012 mural in City Paint 3.

2020 Mural focus three

If you look closely at the various images, you will be able to see other names, as well….  I have heard about some of these other artists and have only seen the names of still others of them…but here they are: Brute, Amer, Mark’s Ark, Aloha Family, Marlee, Lost Art, and Sily.  If there are other artists who worked on the mural, I apologize for not naming them…I simply don’t know who they are right now.  With any luck (?), some of the other artists might happen across the images on my blog and let me know that they, too, contributed to the masterpiece…….it’s happened before……

2020 Mural focus four

2020 Mural focus five

I have offered that the Aloha Family is a group of artists, simply because it appears in the below photo that they are…possibly the individual artists’ names are here, too?

2020 Mural focus six

And maybe this is another artist’s signature?

2020 Mural focus seven Samoa

Is the space-ship preparing to kidnap a large cat in the image below?  I’m not sure…but I do love the detail on the woman’s portrait….

2020 Mural focus eight

This is crazy beautiful as you stand next to it on the street and look at it face to face……

2020 Mural focus nine

And finally, what I understand to be the centerpiece of the mural, the exotic woman looking into and maybe even divining the future…she appears to be a mixture of the various phenotypes of our human species…intelligent, strong, beautiful……

2020 Mural woman portrait

Thank you, as always, for visiting…for spending your time with me.  I hope you’ve enjoyed viewing the finished product of the 2020 Perfect Vision mural.  If you’d like to see the other City Paint images of street art and graffiti from around Salt Lake City, Utah, USA, you can scroll to the bottom of the page and click on the “Street Art – Graffiti” category to see all of them.

22 responses

  1. I get the feeling that people inside the building must be able to feel the intensity of what’s happening on the wall. One of these days maybe you’ll get the whole thing into one frame, and meanwhile, examining the details is rewarding.

    April 27, 2013 at 11:44 am

    • When I spoke with the folks who work in the market, they seemed very excited for the whole process…like they look forward to the work being performed, the party atmosphere on the street while it’s being done…and the community involvement that helps with the theme selection and financing for the paint and supplies…… It seemed to be a very positive event.

      May 1, 2013 at 5:36 pm

  2. Wow, Pretty amazing Scott.

    April 27, 2013 at 12:13 pm

    • My thoughts exactly. 🙂

      May 1, 2013 at 5:36 pm

  3. A masterpiece indeed! That’s amazing Scott, how big is it?

    April 27, 2013 at 2:01 pm

    • I’m not sure of the size, Finn…but it is very comparable to a jungle mural that I’ll be sharing soon that has been measured at over 125 feet in length…so I’m guessing it’s pretty close to that….

      May 1, 2013 at 5:38 pm

  4. Remarkable for its size and coherence considering the artists would have to cross the street to get a view of the whole thing.

    April 27, 2013 at 4:09 pm

    • Excellent point, John…I find it all rather astounding….

      May 1, 2013 at 5:40 pm

  5. Astonishing mural, Scott. What a shame it’s already been over-painted.

    April 27, 2013 at 4:15 pm

    • It is a shame, Andy, but it seems to be something that the neighborhood really enjoys…participating in the whole event of selecting another topic and then watching the artists perform…while eating fresh-grilled burgers and sausages and drinking some ice-cold suds….I’m happy that I was able to capture some images of it while it was there. I went past the location again the other day on my way to work and they haven’t done any more work on the new one, probably due to the wet weekend weather…but it looks like it will be a sports theme…or maybe displaying significant personalities from the Hispanic culture…I’m not sure…but we’ll see pretty soon. 😉

      May 1, 2013 at 5:44 pm

  6. The use of both color and detail is truly amazing.

    April 28, 2013 at 1:07 am

  7. This is amazing on many levels, but what i find most amazing is that it’s being covered up so they can do another one! i have to ask myself how I’d feel if i were one of the artists that had put so much time and creative energy into this. i wonder if I’d want to work on the next one, which might also be covered over.

    April 28, 2013 at 6:48 am

    • It seems like they’re all going to be covered over, Allen…that’s part of the nature of the event…sharing a social message or theme while showcasing their work…again and again…. The Korner Market folks said they do it every year…and the one that is now beginning to cover this mural will be the third mural in my almost three years here in SLC…so it looks like they’re right on schedule.

      May 1, 2013 at 5:49 pm

  8. Liana

    dreamy 🙂

    April 29, 2013 at 1:52 pm

    • There is some of that, too, Liana. 🙂

      May 1, 2013 at 5:50 pm

  9. The detail is utterly amazing…. all in all it’s an exquisite piece of art. It does seem a shame to cover it all up, but I can understand that urge to move on to the next thing. Thank you so much for providing us this look at work that really deserves more recognition.

    April 29, 2013 at 2:33 pm

    • I’m glad you’ve enjoyed it, Gunta…and yes, it is utterly amazing…. You’re most welcome for sharing the work, too. 🙂

      May 1, 2013 at 6:34 pm

  10. Wow, what amazing work! Reminds me of that movie “Exit Through the Gift Shop” only these artists seem like they are on steroids! 🙂
    Wonderfully captured Scott!

    May 1, 2013 at 6:21 pm

    • I’d say there is some similarity between the two…the same mind-set of expression and gifted art. Glad you enjoyed it, Susan. 🙂

      May 1, 2013 at 6:46 pm

  11. Compositions of compositions. This post is a lovely whirlwind of colour and movement.

    May 2, 2013 at 1:54 pm

    • Very much so, Karen, stuff on stuff. How nice that you enjoyed the whirlwind! 🙂

      May 7, 2013 at 9:20 pm

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

