Dwarf Waterleaf in Millcreek Canyon

As I was going through my back-log of blog posts this morning, I came across John M. Smith’s post, Bluebells and Beech, and remembered that I was going to do a similar post on some Utah wildflowers that I had noticed after viewing Andy Hooker’s post, Bluebells 2013.

Dwarf Waterleaf along Pipeline Trail in Millcreek Canyon, Utah

My older son and I were on the way to one of our Sunday morning hiking destinations, walking the Pipeline Trail in Millcreek Canyon, just east of Salt Lake City proper.  While I have walked this trail more than a dozen times over the past few years, I have never noticed the profusion of a single type of wildflower like I did on this particular morning….and it was too good to resist…taking a break in the early part of the hike to kneel in the wild grass and flowers for a few minutes to take a few (?) pictures…..

Blanket of Dwarf Waterleaf, Millcreek Canyon, Utah

USWildflowers.com identifies these little beauties as being Dwarf Waterleaf, Bullhead Waterleaf…or Cat’s Breeches…with the scientific name of Hydrophyllum capitatum, for those of you interested in such things.  I’m sorry I can’t name the trees…but here you are anyway with the blanket of spring wildflowers on a beautiful Spring morning….as my son and I were heading to our own version of Sunday services……

Dwarf Waterleaf close-up, Millcreek Canyon, Utah

40 responses

  1. Wow, Scott, isn’t nature so spectacular, though I haven’t come across those lovely flowers with such a subtle lilac colour before. The wide framing of these shots is very effective. I have also noticed in my own photography how that beautiful rich green seen in the background of photo 3 is enhanced when it’s out of focus……great work Scott.

    June 10, 2013 at 10:06 am

    • Nature is quite spectacular, John…it amazes me sometimes…most times. Thank you for the kind words about the photos….

      June 17, 2013 at 9:18 am

  2. This is beautiful. I can’t think of a more pleasant place to walk through. It isn’t often that you see the same kind of plant growing in such profusion-at least, not around here.

    June 10, 2013 at 10:40 am

    • It was a new experience for me in this location, Allen…..a wonderful one, too. Glad you enjoyed, it…thank you.

      June 17, 2013 at 9:18 am

  3. A veritable fairyland, especially the first one. Wonderful!

    June 10, 2013 at 12:53 pm

    • Very much so, Gary…thank you.

      June 17, 2013 at 9:19 am

  4. Love your version of Sunday services… can’t think of anything better.

    June 10, 2013 at 1:26 pm

    • I rather enjoy it, too, Gunta….and can’t imagine any alternative, either. 🙂

      June 17, 2013 at 9:19 am

  5. How beautiful! The best kind of Sunday service in my opinion!

    June 10, 2013 at 4:01 pm

    • Oh? I’m in good company then, Susan…thank you. 🙂

      June 17, 2013 at 9:20 am

  6. It must be magical to see a flowering forest like this.

    June 10, 2013 at 4:55 pm

    • Magical is a good word for this, Bente…thank you.

      June 17, 2013 at 9:20 am

  7. Very beautiful, Scott. Do they have a strong scent?

    June 11, 2013 at 1:47 am

    • Thanks, Meanderer…and I didn’t notice a scent, not even with the mass of flowers that was present, so I’m going to say no….

      June 17, 2013 at 9:21 am

  8. victoriaaphotographyictoria

    What an amazing sight. Such profusion of blooms…..captured perfectly in your images.

    June 11, 2013 at 3:24 am

  9. beautiful flowers; beautiful pictures too

    June 11, 2013 at 9:11 am

  10. Beautiful!

    June 11, 2013 at 11:13 am

    • T’is a beautiful place, Yvonne.

      June 22, 2013 at 7:09 pm

  11. First – thanks so much for the mention in this post. I love the subtle colours of the wild flowers, they go so well with the muted green tones of the trees. This plant is very much like Wild Garlick (or Ramsoms) that in a wood near us grows in and among the Bluebells

    June 11, 2013 at 3:23 pm

    • Most welcome for the mention, Andy….and yes, those flowers do rather resemble wild garlic. I Googled the image and found some in a blanket in a wood also…very similar…and very pretty, too.

      June 22, 2013 at 7:25 pm

  12. That’s an amazing display of flowers, and so pretty! There is a species of waterleaf that grows here, but in all of my wanderings I’ve seen only one.

    June 11, 2013 at 10:47 pm

    • Quite amazing, Terry…I remember seeing the flowers in little groups last year, but don’t recall this covering of the wood’s floor like it is here.

      June 22, 2013 at 7:27 pm

  13. Gorgeous, and it reminds me of a similar looking spot I saw long ago in a forest in the Appalachians in western NC. The carpet of spring flowers had the same billowy, soft look, on a slope, with the repeated shapes of tree trunks rising out of the flowery mist. It was, and this is, enchanting. These are beautiful! (And thanks for the Latin name – I always like to know them, though I mostly forget them soon afterward!)

    June 11, 2013 at 11:08 pm

    • You’ve described another beautiful spot, Lynn…..and you’re welcome for the Latin name. 🙂

      June 22, 2013 at 7:28 pm

  14. A carpet of flowers, how beautiful.

    June 13, 2013 at 8:06 am

  15. Amazing! That trail looks like a wonderful place and the profusion of wildflowers is incredible!!

    June 14, 2013 at 5:57 am

    • The area around the trail doesn’t look like this for very long, Laura….I rather stumbled across this beautiful mess of flowers at the right time. 🙂

      June 22, 2013 at 7:30 pm

  16. what a surreal scene…lovely…thanks for bringing it to us

    June 14, 2013 at 3:27 pm

    • Most welcome, Liana…..

      June 22, 2013 at 7:31 pm

  17. Very beautiful images , it is really wonderful .

    June 19, 2013 at 2:52 pm

    • Thank you, Daoud…and thank you for visiting, too……

      June 22, 2013 at 7:31 pm

  18. I don’t think I ever saw these flowers. I love them though. Wonder if you could grow them at home in a bed among other stuff. My neighbor sowed that little pink Texas wildflower, whose name I forget, all over her lawn. They were really pretty, but you have to wait until they seed to mow the lawn. I noticed that she didn’t wait that long… 🙂 These are gorgeous pictures, Scott, as always.

    June 24, 2013 at 12:46 pm

    • I don’t know if we could do that, George…don’t know where we might find the seeds, but maybe…. I’m glad you enjoyed the pictures, too….as always. 🙂

      July 1, 2013 at 6:24 pm

  19. Gorgeous photos!! May I ask the time frame when those flowers were in full bloom like that? Was is April, May, June?

    March 16, 2016 at 9:54 pm

    • Hello, Valerie….I made these photos on May 26, 2013….at 9:22 in the morning…along the Pipeline Trail. I hope you are able to find them in a similar state…

      March 17, 2016 at 7:21 am

      • Thank you!!! That was super helpful for me. I am wanting a place exactly like you photographed and just needed to know timing for those flowers. It might work…..which end of the Pipeline Trail did you start at? Do you remember?

        March 17, 2016 at 9:22 am

        • You’re very welcome…I started at the trail-head just across the road from the parking lot for Porter Fork…and then headed further into the canyon from there. Good luck!

          March 18, 2016 at 10:22 pm

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

