Addendum to – “Mineral Fork in June…part one….”

In reference to my mentioning (in this earlier post) the map above my desk at work with variously colored pins denoting the number of times I’ve hiked particular trails, Yvonne asked “…where is the photo of the map with all the pins?”

Well here it is, Yvonne…with a second photo of a close-up.  If you can zoom-in close enough to see the names, you’ll notice Millcreek Canyon is the one toward the left, Big Cottonwood Canyon in the middle heading toward the yellow and pink pins closer toward the top of the map, and then Little Cottonwood Canyon towards the right.  The more open area at the far right of the map, near the glare and the single pink and yellow pins, is American Fork Canyon…which is in Utah County, south of the Salt Lake Valley proper.

Map of Wasatch Mountain hiking trails

You can see the new purple pin for Mineral Fork…indicating three or more hikes to that location.  The pin should actually be placed at about the fourth to last dash in that black dotted line, as that is approximately where the cirque is located…with only a tiny portion of a very faint trail remaining up to the top of the ridge…which happens to actually come down into the next drainage by the Sister Lakes of Blanche, Florence, and Lillian, where you see the next purple pin….  With the map right there at my desk, it’s hard to concentrate on work sometimes…planning my next hike….

close-up of map with pins

22 responses

  1. Wow . . .impressive.

    July 7, 2013 at 2:35 pm

    • From what you’ve mentioned over the months, I’m sure you’d enjoy yourself out there, Emilio….

      July 7, 2013 at 8:25 pm

  2. What a gorgeous topographical map of your mountains. I don’t think I’d get anything done either for staring at it. I’ve always been fascinated by maps, but this one is a work of art. Once upon a time I wanted to do maps, but I got side-tracked into details of structures and plumbing fixtures… 😦 Thanks so much for including this and to Yvonne for requesting it.

    July 7, 2013 at 2:55 pm

    • I rather enjoy the map, too, Gunta…and left to my own devices at work, I could get lost in there without too much effort. I’ve loved maps since I was a kid, so I understand the desire to work with them…and yeah, how we get side-tracked sometimes. 🙂

      You’re welcome for the images…and my thanks, too, go to Yvonne.

      July 7, 2013 at 8:22 pm

  3. Where is the starting point for a hike in these mountains! It seems to me that all of the canyons are remote. I love this map! It’s a beauty itself. I also like the idea that you keep a visual record on it of your hikes. 🙂

    July 7, 2013 at 3:45 pm

    • Hello, George – if you’ll look closely at the second photo, you’ll notice some black foot/shoe prints next to white lettering in black boxes…and with that lettering, you’ll notice a “TH.” This means “trail-head,” or the start of the trail. And yes, the end point or destination of all the trails usually is pretty remote…anywhere from two to five miles into the mountains…and depending on the day of week and time of year, one could hike to the end and back and not see another person…and then on other times, there can be several people out there, coming and going…and then it’s not remote enough. You might know that I love the map, too…and love looking at the places I’ve been…while planning where I’m going to be going soon…..

      July 7, 2013 at 8:20 pm

  4. That’s a great map!

    July 7, 2013 at 5:01 pm

    • I agree, Allen. 🙂

      July 7, 2013 at 8:24 pm

  5. Vicki (from Victoria A Photography)

    Gosh, Scott, with a map like that tempting you every day, I don’t know how you get any work done.
    It’s almost like sitting next to a window with a picturesque view outside.

    July 7, 2013 at 7:27 pm

    • It is very much like a window, Vicki…so easy to daydream and escape for a few minutes while looking at it.

      July 7, 2013 at 8:24 pm

  6. Oh I can imagine it’s hard to resist spending considerable time plotting the next map pin! : )

    July 7, 2013 at 10:09 pm

    • Yep…and then the phone rings…… 🙂

      July 12, 2013 at 8:17 pm

  7. A fascinating overview, Scott. I have tried to find your trails by looking at satellite views. It’s an impressive landscape….and now I know where you are….I can better understand where the mountains are in your wonderful photos. Thanks Scott.

    July 8, 2013 at 2:22 am

    • You’re most welcome, John…it’s always a pleasure to share my corner of the globe with you…I’m glad it’s easier to visualize now.

      July 12, 2013 at 8:18 pm

  8. That’s a really cool map Scott. I will be referring back to this map as I follow future posts! 😉

    July 8, 2013 at 11:39 am

    • I rather like it, too, Adrian…and I’m thinking about having a standard photo of it that I’ll use for posts and then closer shots of the particular area that I’m highlighting in the post…thinking I’ll do it…but no guarantees. 🙂

      July 12, 2013 at 8:33 pm

  9. I love the map!

    July 8, 2013 at 8:47 pm

    • It’s easy to get lost in there, Terry….

      July 12, 2013 at 8:34 pm

  10. That looks like fantastic hiking territory. One question for you – do you have to watch out for Bears?

    July 10, 2013 at 11:25 am

    • Hi Andy…it is fantastic hiking territory…and so far, I have only seen posted warnings about bears in two places throughout the mountains…and have seen what I believe was bear scat twice, as well. From what I’ve read of the area, our earlier settlers nearly killed them into extinction in the Wasatch Mountains….but I am always, watching…yes…they’d make a great subject for some photos on my blog…… 😉

      July 12, 2013 at 8:38 pm

  11. That’s a cool map. You have covered a lot of ground. Lucky you!

    July 31, 2013 at 10:00 pm

  12. ‘Tis a gift to come down where you want to be–and you certainly have. Lucky you indeed, Scott!

    September 8, 2013 at 12:10 pm

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

