…is still a rose….

A rose…by any other name….

pink rose close-up

21 responses

  1. The black and white version was interesting Scott but I much prefer to see the colour! πŸ™‚

    July 9, 2013 at 7:50 am

    • That seems to be the consensus, Adrian…I thought the black and white was interesting, too…compelling, maybe…

      July 19, 2013 at 6:41 am

  2. I like Scott that you are shooting far away mountains the close-up roses – and behind it all……silence…..enjoy!

    July 9, 2013 at 8:32 am

    • Silence is good, Kai….as you know. πŸ™‚

      July 19, 2013 at 6:42 am

  3. I prefer the color version, too. Nicely done. Shades of red are the hardest for me to get right – I blame it on digital; hope it will someday match Kodachrome.

    July 9, 2013 at 8:47 am

    • Thank you for the comment, Dave…Kodachrome was before my time with photography…I’m having fun playing with the possibilities offered through digital photo making…I like that we can tweak things on the screen so that they match what we saw with our eyes…or our minds, anyway. πŸ˜‰

      July 19, 2013 at 6:45 am

      • I like that side of digital, too. There were times in the darkroom that I would make a dozen or more prionts trying to dodge this or burn that. So much gtreater precision now.

        July 19, 2013 at 8:04 am

  4. so beautiful! πŸ™‚

    July 9, 2013 at 9:11 am

    • Thank you, Angie. πŸ™‚

      July 19, 2013 at 6:45 am

  5. I agree with you. I like the monochrome. The details are so interesting in b/w. This is pretty, but I really LIKE the BW version too.

    July 9, 2013 at 10:07 am

    • Well, thank you very much, George….the details of the black and white were what struck me.

      July 19, 2013 at 6:46 am

  6. Nice macro.

    July 9, 2013 at 10:30 am

  7. So glad that poor rose got some color! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜‰ Very nice macro, by the way.

    July 9, 2013 at 12:50 pm

    • Thank you, Gunta…had to touch it up a bit. πŸ˜‰

      July 19, 2013 at 6:47 am

  8. Rather than saying I like one or the other better, I’ll just say that I admire the radically different feelings you conveyed by processing the image differently.

    July 9, 2013 at 1:11 pm

    • Very nice words, Lynn…the different finishes did seem to evoke different feelings, didn’t they?

      July 19, 2013 at 6:48 am

  9. Have to say that I much prefer the color version. Though the color does not try to emulate the true colors of nature. There is something artificial about the color. But that too is allowed. The image on the paper or the screen can hint at a certain reality without trying to copy it. In any case, I find the color version livelier.

    July 9, 2013 at 2:51 pm

    • Thank you for the explanation, Shimon…and no, the color isn’t exactly natural…but in contrast to the earlier image, it declares boldly what IS a rose.

      July 19, 2013 at 6:53 am

  10. What a blaze of colour that is!

    July 10, 2013 at 2:40 pm

    • It rather jumps out there. πŸ™‚

      July 19, 2013 at 6:54 am

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

