Rocky Mountain Bee Plant

Yet another fishing trip with my Little One that didn’t bring home any fish…didn’t bring home any tales of fish caught, or tales of fish that got away….

Rocky Mountain Bee Plant

But we did find this Rocky Mountain Bee Plant, something that I had never seen before…the name seems like something that a passing traveler would have made-up on a whim…but there it is…and you can Google it.

Rocky Mountain Bee Plant close-up

Wikipedia says that it can be found in western North America, up into British Columbia, east into Minnesota and Illinois, and down into New Mexico and on to northern California. Β I happened to find this little patch of Cleome serrulataΒ along Utah State Highway 96 as it travels past Scofield State Park…about 100 miles south and east of the Salt Lake Valley.

Rocky Mountain Bee Plant at Scofield Reservoir

In addition to finding the little treasure of the Rocky Mountain Bee Plant, my Little One and I also spotted some pelicans, a Western Grebe, and a pair of Sandhill Cranes with their young…which I might share in another post.

28 responses

  1. Isabella Rose Photography

    I love these macro shots, Scott. The depth of field is perfect and the colours are gorgeous πŸ™‚

    August 5, 2013 at 7:10 am

    • Like Nature’s flower shop…. Thank you, Isabella. πŸ™‚

      August 5, 2013 at 8:10 am

  2. Awesome catch. What an explosion of pinks – so pretty!!

    August 5, 2013 at 7:15 am

    • Thank you, Laura…right there along the road….

      August 5, 2013 at 8:09 am

  3. And you found some really beautiful pictures. When we go fishing, we don’t know what we’ll catch. Looks like a pretty good trip to me.

    August 5, 2013 at 10:06 am

    • I like your perspective, Shimon…we did bring home a good catch, after-all. And yes, it was a pretty good trip.

      August 8, 2013 at 7:47 am

  4. Those are beautiful flowers-I relly like the color, which is close to the color of swamp milkweed, I think. I’ve never heard of them though. I learned from my father when I was a boy that it isn’t really about catching fish. It’s about spending time together outside in natural surroundings with gurgling brooks and birdsongs for background music. That’s what you remember more than the fish.

    August 5, 2013 at 10:53 am

    • I agree with you wholeheartedly, Allen…we go fishing to be out there…but my little one would still like to catch a fish, would still like to have that experience…so on we go….we’ll be back out there, him with his fishing pole and me with my camera. πŸ™‚

      August 8, 2013 at 7:48 am

  5. Beautiful images, Scott. Such lovely color.

    August 5, 2013 at 1:11 pm

    • Thank you, Melanie…and yes, such lovely color. πŸ™‚

      August 8, 2013 at 7:49 am

  6. As ever – sublime!

    August 5, 2013 at 2:39 pm

  7. Very good photos of this unknown beauty, Scott. Elegant photos.

    August 5, 2013 at 2:50 pm

    • Thank you very much, Bente. πŸ™‚

      August 8, 2013 at 7:50 am

  8. What a beautiful plant! I’ve never seen that one before!

    August 5, 2013 at 9:20 pm

    • It sure is…and right there alongside the road, too.

      August 8, 2013 at 7:50 am

  9. Lovely macro shots. Looks like you’re doing some exploring further afield. I remember Skyline Drive in that same area as being worth a trip. Can’t wait to see the Sandhill Cranes (and other birds, but especially the cranes!)

    August 5, 2013 at 10:31 pm

    • Thank you, Gunta…a co-worker suggested the drive to Scofield Reservoir…said she catches over a dozen fish every time she goes out there. I thought it would be great for my little one. I guess we needed to find a better spot. πŸ˜‰

      I’ve got the images of the cranes and other birds ready for a post……

      August 8, 2013 at 7:53 am

  10. I bet the bees love it! Smashing pictures Scott!

    August 6, 2013 at 12:36 am

    • The bees did love it, Adrian…and the Ladybugs, too. πŸ™‚

      August 8, 2013 at 7:53 am

  11. I’m pleased you captured a pretty flower instead πŸ™‚

    August 6, 2013 at 12:48 am

    • Yep, nobody got hurt, Meanderer…all the fishies are safe. πŸ™‚

      August 8, 2013 at 7:54 am

  12. Just beautiful….and they look like they should have a strong scent.

    August 6, 2013 at 2:49 pm

    • It was a humid day, John, so all of the smells were there and ready…the flowers, the earth, and the water nearby….

      August 8, 2013 at 8:11 am

  13. The Cleome is gorgeous, especially the first photo. And wow, pelicans and then a Sandhill crane! I’m very jealous!! I spotted a pair once near the side of a back road in Florida. They’re magnificent birds. And I think it must be cool to see pelicans so far inland. It just feels strange.

    August 6, 2013 at 11:00 pm

    • The birds were definitely a surprise, Lynn. I’ve read that Utah is a great place to find the migratory birds during their seasons of travel…and I’m rather enjoying the experience of finding them in such unusual (to me) places. Your comment reminds me of being here in my first couple of months and walking through the park at lunchtime, in downtown Salt Lake City, and having gulls flying and talking overhead…it seemed like they just did not belong here in the middle of the mountain west….but they must, somehow, or they wouldn’t be. πŸ™‚

      August 8, 2013 at 8:15 am

  14. What a beautiful flower and terrific photos from them.

    August 7, 2013 at 4:20 am

    • Thank you. πŸ™‚

      August 8, 2013 at 8:45 am

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

