Also found in Yorkshire, England…?

I was visiting one of my favorite bloggers from the United Kingdom, James at Walking with a smacked Pentax, and noticed some very familiar flowers in one of his photos…one of his photos taken in Yorkshire…in northern England.  Take a look at the flowers in the third photo of this post and tell me if they don’t look just like the ones pictured below….

Dr Seuss Flowers at Bells Canyon Upper Reservoir

I don’t know the proper name of the little guys, as I’ve had no luck finding them in my wildflower resources yet, but I refer to them as “Dr Seuss flowers” because they remind me of the flowers in the movie, Horton Hears a Who!  I realize they’re not the same color as the flowers in the movie, but seeing a huge field of them quickly brought the movie to my mind.

Dr Seuss Flowers again at Bells Canyon Upper Reservoir

Anyway…it appears that James’ flowers from Yorkshire are the same (or at least incredibly similar) as the ones I have found along the shore of Bells Canyon Upper Reservoir here in the Wasatch Mountains of Utah, USA…at approximately 9,400 feet in elevation…where they spend the winters buried beneath 6-10 feet of snow, if not more.  In the below photo, the flowers are the bits of brown that are scattered among the green, just beneath and to the right of the two large, two-toned tree stumps toward the left of the image.

Bells Canyon Upper Reservoir August 2013

.

30 responses

  1. Isn’t it amazing when we can find a little bit of home in places half way across the world.

    August 31, 2013 at 9:53 am

    • It really is, Charlie. 🙂

      September 2, 2013 at 7:25 am

  2. It’s a small world after all…

    August 31, 2013 at 12:24 pm

    • It’s crazy how that can happen, but yes, it certainly is.

      September 2, 2013 at 7:26 am

  3. Certainly look like the ones in my photos…I have just spent a frustrating hour trying to find them in Google and a couple of books I have, but no luck so far. If I do discover what they are I’ll certainly tell you.

    August 31, 2013 at 1:52 pm

    • I will watch for your report, James. 🙂

      September 2, 2013 at 7:27 am

  4. I don’t know this, but me guess is they are either flowers that flowered a little while ago and are now whithered, or, they are some kind of grass flowers?

    August 31, 2013 at 3:39 pm

    • I really don’t know either, Bente…but I’d go with the grass flowers, also. I think all of the grass is in the mature and seeded stage now, given the lateness of the season, so it would make sense. I did check the wild grasses, too, when I was trying to identify them as flowers…still didn’t find anything.

      September 2, 2013 at 7:29 am

  5. If they are brown they are most likely seed heads, but it’s not uncommon to find the same flowers in England that we have here. They certainly picked a beautiful place to grow,

    August 31, 2013 at 5:36 pm

    • It makes, sense, Allen…and they certainly did pick a beautiful place. 🙂

      September 2, 2013 at 7:30 am

  6. They’re too tall to be the prickly grass heads that we have here, but they look like them. Ours are painful to step on and get stuck in the dogs’ coat all the time. Whatever these are, they are pretty growing against such a background!

    August 31, 2013 at 6:01 pm

    • I usually catch the prickly seed heads on my socks when walking through them in other areas, but didn’t have any problem with them here, George. And yes, they are very pretty growing here, way up in the mountains. 🙂

      September 2, 2013 at 7:32 am

  7. I’d tend to agree with previous comments and add that at this time of year it seems pretty likely that they’re seed heads of some sort. Couldn’t get a really good close look at them even after clicking to enlarge. But they still make for a very lovely scene.

    August 31, 2013 at 11:22 pm

    • I’ve only been up to the reservoir in August, so it seems to follow that they would have been there each time…and in the same condition, too. I could go back and look in my files, but I don’t think I have any closer shots of them…. And yes, they do make for a very lovely scene, don’t they? 🙂

      September 2, 2013 at 7:36 am

  8. If I’d invaded Utah from Yorkshire I reckon that’s just the kind of spot I’d choose to settle in. It’s lovely, looks like a film set!

    September 1, 2013 at 2:08 am

    • It is a wonderful spot for an invasion, Finn. 😉

      September 2, 2013 at 7:37 am

  9. A beautiful place Scott. We do share some of the same fauna and flora of course. Some species are unique to certain areas but by no means all. 🙂

    September 1, 2013 at 6:24 am

    • Incredibly beautiful, Adrian…and yes, I have seen other examples of how we share some similar plant and animal life…..I still find it fascinating…how they each managed to travel the miles to get where they are today…..

      September 2, 2013 at 7:39 am

  10. I can certainly see the similarity. And it’s a beautiful place for them to be growing. Apart from them apparently having all gone to seed, it doesn’t look too fallish there yet, but I’m thinking that you’re getting some pretty clear signs that it’s on its way…

    September 1, 2013 at 3:39 pm

    • The first and third shots were from August 4th of this year, and the second one was from the middle of August last year, Gary…so, no, Fall hadn’t really begun yet, not even at that elevation. But things have begun to change a little bit since then…we’ve got some oranges and reds popping up on the upper mountain areas……

      September 2, 2013 at 7:44 am

  11. This looks to me like a member of the Rush or Sedge or grass family. Was it growing in marshy ground!?

    September 2, 2013 at 3:35 pm

    • I think you’re right, Andy…I just Googled images of Sedge and found Bebb’s Sedge grass…the image is very close (but different) to the one in this link for a seed company here in Utah – http://stevensonintermountainseed.com/devsiseed/?product=carex-bebbii#tab-description ….and yes, the ground near the lake was a bit marshy…rather squishy in places, as it is wet with the drainage from the surrounding mountain as the water is coming down into the lake. Good call, Andy…thank you. 🙂

      September 2, 2013 at 6:12 pm

      • we’re getting closer! The marshy ground is the biggest clue to what we are looking at.

        September 3, 2013 at 2:18 am

        • Much closer…have a better direction for searching now….thank you again, Andy.

          September 3, 2013 at 6:47 am

  12. poppytump

    Love that top photo perspective with the little flowers speckling into the distance Scott … I think we have some similar along our verges here too .
    What a beautiful place .

    September 3, 2013 at 12:44 am

    • That view was crying for a photo, Poppy…I was happy to oblige! And that is such a beautiful place, too…one of my favorite hiking destinations in our mountains here. How nice that you like it, too. 🙂

      September 3, 2013 at 6:52 am

  13. Whatever you have growing there, it is very photogenic! That first image is especially gorgeous. Beautiful images, Scott. Happy September! : )

    September 3, 2013 at 9:45 am

    • I’d say that it was begging to be photographed, Karen, but that might be taking it a bit too far…thank you for your nice words…and “Happy September” to you, too!

      September 12, 2013 at 8:30 pm

  14. Scott, “sedges have edges and rushes are round” is a little botany mantra. Looks like a sedge. (They’re often around water, too.) In the grass family, and I bet you could ID them if you go back and confirm first whether they’re round (the stem) or have edges, and then get photos close up of the seed heads. But you might have to get a book on grasses, which isn’t so easy. Anyway they look very cool! A whole field of them! And yes, many plants grow here & in England, a few naturally and many because of our activities, like seeds catching rides on freight, etc.

    September 3, 2013 at 11:17 pm

    • I like the little botany mantra, Lynn…and I do have plans of getting back up there before the end of the season….or rather, before the snow-shoe season. It’s between a four and six hour hike UP to the reservoir without the snow, depending on the shape of one’s hiking companion and how much they like to hike UP…so if/when I do get back up there in the next month or so, I will have it firmly in my noggin to notice the edginess or roundness of the stems and will intentionally take some macro shots of the seed heads….

      September 12, 2013 at 8:37 pm

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

