Sunday in Alta

I love to hike (understatement)…I love the rain (another understatement)…I really like when it starts to rain when I’m out hiking…but I’m not a huge fan of going out to hike when it’s already raining and is expected to rain all day……can’t really explain that last part, but that’s the way it is with me. ย  So…instead of venturing out for a rain-soaked hike to Red Pine Lake as we had planned…my hiking son and I drove to the end of Little Cottonwood Canyon, past the cozy ski-town/village of Alta, and stopped for a few minutes in the parking-lot at the trail-head for Cecret Lake (yes, “Cecret”) in the Albion Basin. ย I rather like the effect of the raindrops of the windscreen of the truck…and I rather enjoy the effect of the clouds on the mountains, too.

sunday in alta

28 responses

  1. Beautiful view of the mountains.

    September 8, 2013 at 3:55 pm

    • Thank you, Colline.

      September 17, 2013 at 6:56 am

  2. Absolutely breathtaking; I too, like to hike in the rain.

    September 8, 2013 at 4:00 pm

    • It was quite a wonderful sight, Charlie…and I would imagine that you have many opportunities to hike in the rain up there. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      September 17, 2013 at 6:57 am

  3. Thank you for the walk down memory lane. Many years ago I lived about 30 minutes from Alta for a year. That and Little Cottonwood Canyon in Autumn with the golden aspens is etched in my memory. Very lovely, evocative photo!

    September 8, 2013 at 4:27 pm

    • You’re welcome for the walk down memory lane, Babsje…those canyons are incredible in the fall, aren’t they? Thank you for the nice words. ๐Ÿ™‚

      September 17, 2013 at 6:58 am

      • You’re welcome. ๐Ÿ™‚

        September 17, 2013 at 9:24 am

  4. Those cloudy days, with changeable weather – so pretty in the mountains. This is a landscape you can just gaze & gaze upon.

    September 8, 2013 at 4:35 pm

    • I like watching that dynamic changing quality of the cloudy sky/landscape…it almost seems alive.

      September 17, 2013 at 6:59 am

  5. I like the different grays.

    September 8, 2013 at 6:05 pm

    • They appeal to me, too, Allen.

      September 17, 2013 at 6:59 am

  6. LOVE the misty shot, but the question is whether you went for the hike, or not?

    September 8, 2013 at 10:33 pm

    • You do rather love the misty shots, Gunta…thank you. And no, we/I didn’t actually go hiking on this occasion. It looked like it was going to be a soaker, so my son and I just drove slowly up and down the canyon, talking and enjoying the rain…made it home early and had an enjoyable day watching the rain for hours and hours with the windows and doors open.

      September 18, 2013 at 6:50 am

  7. Love it, Scott. And I love to hike in the rain as well!

    September 9, 2013 at 7:41 am

    • Thanks, Erica…it makes for a beautiful and soggy day!

      September 18, 2013 at 6:51 am

  8. Oodles of atmosphere! It has been that kind of day here today – non stop rain and very cold. I am afraid my friend, Karen and I chickened out of our planned photowalk in a lavender farm.

    September 9, 2013 at 10:13 am

    • Yep, tons of atmosphere with this one. I hope you and your friend make it back out to the lavender farm…I can imagine the beautiful photos you’d make out there….what a wonderful idea.

      September 18, 2013 at 6:52 am

      • I think we’ll have to wait until next year now.

        September 18, 2013 at 12:53 pm

  9. The landscape closes in when it rains, doesn’t it: creating a much flatter perspective. I don’t mind being out in the rain so long as I stay reasonable dry. The trouble in summer in goretex gear is that the condensation inside the goretex can make you just as wet as if you were wearing a less effective waterproof! Sometimes you can’t win. Nice image – almost monochromatic.

    September 9, 2013 at 10:44 am

    • Thank you, Andy…and yes, the rain and low clouds certainly close-in the landscape…no broad expanses on days like this one. That non-breathing wet-gear is part of what I was considering when I chose not to hike that day, it was going to be very warm with the exertion of hiking and the rain jacket would just cause me to get wetter, and much hotter, than a typical hike. It was a beautiful day, at any rate.

      September 18, 2013 at 6:56 am

  10. Hiking in the rain is surely an extraordinary experience. It must be done to be appreciated. Appropriate preparations are essential, especially if one is photographically inclined, but once they have been taken, the results can be so rewarding!

    September 9, 2013 at 9:39 pm

    • It hasn’t happened often to/with me, but I enjoy being out there when it does rain…tucked under a nice tree with the camera out. ๐Ÿ™‚

      September 18, 2013 at 6:57 am

  11. Nothing more beautiful than rain in the mountains!

    September 12, 2013 at 9:31 pm

    • It is incredible in the rain, Terry. ๐Ÿ™‚

      September 18, 2013 at 6:58 am

  12. Beautiful

    September 15, 2013 at 12:26 pm

    • Thank you, Yvonne.

      September 18, 2013 at 6:58 am

  13. I can see why the rain appeals Scott, this picture has a surreal quality that beats anything Photoshop can do!

    And as Gary said above, as long as appropriate rain-proofing precautons are taken it’s a very rewarding experience.

    September 16, 2013 at 1:52 pm

    • It was wonderful being out there, Finn…even if we weren’t actually out on the trail this time….but yes, it was very rewarding with the images I was able to capture.

      September 18, 2013 at 7:00 am

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

