Over Alta

I went for a hike this past Sunday and serendipitously found myself on the ridge over Alta, Utah.  When I started at the trail-head several miles north, I had no idea that the essentially new-to-me trail would take me all the way over here.  I’m glad I followed the footsteps in the snow…..

For those of you interested, the ski village of Alta is located about 9.5 miles up, and at the near-terminus of Little Cottonwood Canyon, one of the three major canyons (the furthest south) that stretch east into the Wasatch Mountains, which form the natural, eastern geographic boundary for the Salt Lake Valley in Utah, USA.  To make the photo, I was standing on the ridge at about 9,800 feet in elevation and looking down onto Alta, which is right around 8,600 ft.

My hike started in Days Fork, which is actually in Big Cottonowood Canyon, the next major canyon north of Little Cottonwood.  I took the side trail toward Silver Fork Pass, went around the bowl at the terminus of Silver Fork, and found myself along the ridge that provides the northern wall of Little Cottonwood Canyon, and as you can see below, looking down into Alta.

above Alta Utah

31 responses

  1. Just enough snow to make a beautiful picture.

    October 1, 2013 at 8:32 am

    • Yes, indeed, Shimon…and I think it is probably already melted with the warmer and sunny days that we’ve had since then.

      October 2, 2013 at 8:38 am

  2. WOW! What an amazing capture…and what an amazing place too! Wish I was there…I REALLY wish I was there!

    October 1, 2013 at 2:50 pm

    • I thought it was a rather incredible view, James…couldn’t believe I had stumbled onto it like that. It’s quite beautiful up there…..and it’ll be here waiting for you if you make it into this corner of the world. 😉

      October 2, 2013 at 8:39 am

  3. Gorgeous! The snow is an excellent touch … and it looks like the skiing should begin soon?

    Did you use a tripod? The composition is perfect, sometimes to get that I need to mount the camera on a ‘pod and do some experimenting and pondering.

    October 1, 2013 at 2:57 pm

    • Hello, Forrest…that snow certainly adds something, doesn’t it? And no…no skiiing soon…this was only a couple of inches and I understand that they need much, much more before they open the slopes out there at the resorts. I don’t use a tripod, no…as most of my images are made when I’m out hiking like this, making them from the side of the mountain trail, etc.

      October 2, 2013 at 8:44 am

  4. It’s not nice to look down on other people . . .

    October 1, 2013 at 4:04 pm

    • . . . but in this case . . . nice!

      October 1, 2013 at 4:04 pm

      • Well….sometimes it can’t be helped…… and thank you, Emilio.

        October 2, 2013 at 8:44 am

  5. That is a really beautiful photo!

    October 1, 2013 at 5:04 pm

    • Thank you, Allen…it was almost mind-blowing up there on the ridge…..so pretty.

      October 2, 2013 at 8:46 am

  6. Hi Scott, great viewpoint……is the snow earlier than usual this year?

    October 2, 2013 at 3:37 am

    • Hello, John…it was quite a viewpoint, indeed…and yes, this is the earliest snow that I’ve seen in what will be my four snow-seasons here in Utah. The snow didn’t reach the valley…and only 2-3 inches fell in the mountains…most, of which, has melted already…..

      October 2, 2013 at 8:49 am

  7. I’m surprised to see snow this early in the Autumn, but maybe that is common where you live. It certainly has a magical effect on the landscape. The trees stand out individually so well against that light covering of snow. Beautiful shot, Scott

    October 2, 2013 at 1:57 pm

    • This is only my fourth winter in the area, Andy, but this is the earliest snow in the time I’ve been here. Thank you for the nice words….

      October 11, 2013 at 9:00 am

  8. Great scene! Never know, do you!

    October 2, 2013 at 6:29 pm

    • Nope…we never know! What a wonderful surprise.

      October 11, 2013 at 9:00 am

  9. It really is a fantastic view from where you were standing. What are the lines on the mountain across from you? Trails, I assume. I’m thinking it would be hard to hide when the mountain is covered in snow! 🙂

    October 2, 2013 at 10:03 pm

    • The lines are actually dirt roads that provide access to the ski lifts that are tucked behind some of the peaks up there….and yes, it would be hard to hide in the middle of all the whiteness…but I suppose it might not be too difficult if one could situate one’s self among the trees…… And yes, George, it truly was a fantastic view.

      October 11, 2013 at 9:02 am

  10. Smashing image Scott. Beautiful!

    October 3, 2013 at 12:21 am

    • Thank you very much, Adrian. 🙂

      October 11, 2013 at 9:03 am

  11. That snow does make it utterly beautiful! Thanks for bringing back this gorgeous shot! That’s about as close as I want to get to the white stuff, but I did get to drive in it again…. just barely beginning October.

    October 4, 2013 at 12:11 am

    • I like the “utterly beautiful” nature of snow…it strikes me that way. You’re welcome for the image, Gunta…close enough, but far enough away, also. I’m catching-up on comments and posts, so maybe I’ll find some snow pictures at your place….. 😉

      October 11, 2013 at 9:05 am

  12. Amazing view and mountains!

    October 4, 2013 at 12:04 pm

    • SO amazing, Yvonne!

      October 11, 2013 at 9:05 am

  13. That time of year already? I have to say the snow looks beautiful even though I’m not really ready for it yet.
    All those cascading networks of trails – a mountain of lace.

    October 5, 2013 at 6:18 pm

    • Yes, already, Karen…and I’m not ready for it either…but will still enjoy it. 🙂

      October 11, 2013 at 9:06 am

  14. Snow?! Incredible place, incredible image!

    October 8, 2013 at 6:56 pm

    • Yes, snow, Susan….already. 😉

      October 11, 2013 at 9:07 am

  15. amazed at the height you are at – wonderful terrain.

    October 22, 2013 at 12:17 pm

    • It’s hard to find words that describe the feeling of being there, Scott….amazing is a good place to start, though.

      October 24, 2013 at 7:00 am

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

